State of Utah
Admlmstratlve Rule Analysxs

* The agency 1dent1f’1cd below in box 1 prowdes notice of proposed rule change pursuant to Utah Code Sectlon 63(; 3-301.
* Please address questions regarding information on this notice to the agency.

* The full text of all rule filings is published in the Utah State Bulietin unless excluded because of space constraints.

* The full text of all rule filings may also be inspected at the Division of Administrative Rules,

. 'Section No.

B  _AgencyNo. - RuleNo.
Utah Admin. Code Ref (Rno): R 156 - 1% -
Changed to Admin. Code Ref. (Rno): R .

1. .‘Agency ' - Commerce/Dwts:on ofOccupdtlonal and Professmna] Llcensmg -
Duiaing: o rHebuM.WellsBulding

'-.:.__S_tre_etaddl‘ess?- e

City, state,zipn  SaltLakeCity UT84111-2316
:'Mai.l.iné.éddrgssl':_ D :':'130 Box ‘1_4_67’4._1 -

‘Mailing address 2: - o L

City, stajte,.z_i_p: _ _ | .Sait Lake City UT 84114—6.7.41 _

‘Contact person(s): S o | o _

E'--Dane Ishihara S ::_'f';i_soa 530 7632"'801 530 6511 dlshlhaia@utah gov

2 _..'1T|tle of rule or sectlon (catchlme) """"
:_iPharmdcy Practlce Act RuEe

3. ._.Type ofnotrce o o

New Amcndment XXX Repeal | Repeai and Reenact

4, 'Pu rpose ef the rule or reason for the change

TICE OF PROPOSED RU LE e e



.The Utah State Board of Pharmacy and Physicians Licensing Board reviewed the proposed rule amendments in their

" September 2016 meetings. The Boards agreed to the same language with one exception. The only difference was that
“‘the Utah State Board of Pharmacy preferred no requirement for pharmacists to report to the Division at the same time
they make their annual report to the physicians. After considering comments from both Boards, the Division
determined to require the same report that is sent to the physician to be sent to the Division and increased the reporting
time from 10 to 15 days to ease the impact of compliance. Since the report to the Division is no different than the
report to the physician, which both Boards agreed is satisfactory, and since the proposed amendments now provides 15
~days for reporting, the Division considered the impact of reporting to the Division to be minimal. H.B. 240, passed by
“the Legislature during the 2016 General Session made changes to the newly defined Opiate Overdose Response Act,
 Title 26, Chapter 55, and to the Pharmacy Practice Act, Title 58, Chapter 17b. These changes permit physicians to

- issue a standing order for the dispensing of an opiate antagonist by pharmacists, and require the Division to promulgate
rules to address the standing order and the requirements for dispensing. The Division is filing this rule to accomplish

NoXXX; Yes

‘Summary of the rule or change: L L o
* Section 502: This section establishes that failing to report as required in Section R156-17b-625 is unprofessional
‘conduct. Section 625: This new section defines the requirements for dispensing an opiate antagonist, including
“information that must be maintained and reported to the Division and physicians.

A)Statebudget:

No__; YesXXX
“This ﬂl'ing should have no impact to the state budget beyond a minimal cost of $75.00 o reprint and distribute the rule
“once proposed amendments may become effective. The Division also anticipates no additional costs should be
incurred by the Division to receive the required reports. e

‘Aggregate anticipated cost or _saving_é to:

Af_fectt_.at}.:. _

"'B) Local government: |
. Affected: - No XXXX; Yes __

“Local governments are unlik'el'y to be impacted by this rule unless a local health department chooses to participate in
_issuing a standing order for an opiate antagonist through their medical director. Even then the decision is optional by
<the local govermment,

'C) Small businesses ("smal} business” means a business employing fewer than 50 persons):
Affected: - No XXXX; Yes . o . -

“Physicians and pharmacists are not required to participate in the issuing of a standing order or the dispensing of an
“opiate antagonist. This rule creates no fiscal impact beyond those identified in the passage of H.B. 240. Those who

~ benefit from the lifesaving, overdose-reversing efforts of someone who previously could not obtain an opiate antagonist
~will receive the benefits of prolonged life. These costs or benefits are impossible to quantify. Pharmacies are not '
“:required to collect any information that they do not already collect.

D) Persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local government entities ("person” means any individual,
“ partnership, corporation, association, governmental entity, or public or private organization of any character other than
an agency):

Affgcted;” . IEE;NO XXXX, Yes'*_“: R

Physicians and pharmacists are not required to participate in the issuing of a standing order or the dispensing of an
‘opiate antagonist. This rule creates no fiscal impact beyond those identified in the passage of HB. 240. Those who
benefit from the lifesaving, overdose-reversing efforts of someone who previously could not obtain an opiate antagonist
will receive the benefits of prolonged life. These costs or benefits are impossible to quantify.

‘Compliance costs for affected persons:
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‘ Physicians and pharmacists are not required to participate in the issuing of a standing order or the dispensing of an
“opiate antagonist, This rule creates no fiscal impact beyond those identified in the passage of I1.B. 240. Those who
“benefit from the lifesaving, overdose-reversing efforts of someone who previously could not obtain an opiate antagonist
'will receive the benefits of prolonged life. These costs or benefits are impossible to quantify. Pharmacies are not
_5'_requ1red to collect any. mformatlon that they do not already collect

::Pharmacres are reqmrcd by the newly adcpted HB 240 to provuie a report to dny physwlan who issues a standmg
.‘prescription drug order of an opiate antagonist and to the Division of Occupational and Professienal Licensing. This
“rule implements the statutory provision. Pharmacies are not required to collect any information that they do not already
“icollect. They merely need to format information regarding dispensed opiate antagonists into the required report. The
‘report to the Division and to the physician contain the same information. The rule creates no fiscal impact beyond
:those 1dent1f‘ ed in HB 240 as bcmg the consequence. of the statule =tself

Francine A Glanz Executwe Dlrecter

This rule change is authorized or mandated by state Iaw, and lmplements or |nterprets the follewmg state and

federal laws.

State code or constltutlon c:tatlens (required) (e . Sect:on 63G 3 402 Subsectlon 63G-3- 602(3) Artlcle EV)

'Secuon 58- 17b 101 . _ _ Subsectiou 58-17b-601(1)
_Section 58- 37 . o SubseCtion 58-1-106(1)a)

j:-Subsectron 58 l 202(1)(&)

-_fiThls rule adds, updates, Or removes the followmg tltle of materlals mcorporated by references (a copy of
;_materlals mcorpnrated by reference must be submltted to the lesmn of Admlmstratwe Ru]es B8 none, lecrve b!ank)

* First Incorporatlon :Second Incorporation

Official Title of Materials:
Incorporated (from title page).:
: R s vk 'Pu'blis'her“f;.
" Date Issued}l:' ‘
lssue, or version "
ISBN Number (optional) .
ISSN Number (optional)
- Cost of Incorpﬂrated Reference _
Actlon Adds, updates, or removes T :
(lr" this rule :ncorporates more than two items by reference please attach additional pages)

The public may submit written or oral comments to the agency identified in box 1. {The public may also request a
hearing by submitting a written request to the agency. The agency is required to hold a hearing if it receives requests

“from ten interested persons or from an association having not fewer than ten members. Additionally, the request must
~be received by the agency not more than 15 days after the publication of this rule in the Utah State Builetin. See
: Sectlen 63G 3-302 and Rule R15- 1 for more mformatlon)

__A) Comments wrli be accepted untll 5:00 p n. on (mm/ddfyyyy) 1200 172016
'B) A publlc hearmg (optaonal) w1ll be held _ o '
‘On (mmvddryyyy): At (hh mm AM/PM) '_ ‘At (place)

11172016 L1100 AM 160 East 300 South, Hearing Room 403

. “(4th floor), Salt Lake City, Utah
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“nouns (e.g., "Medlcald“) may not include the name of the agency

15

“This rule change may become effect:ve on (mm/dd/yyyy) o '_ 12/08/2016

‘NOTE: The date above is ‘the date on Wthh thlS ruic MAY become effectlve It is NOT the effectwe date After the
~date designated in Box 12(A) above, the agency must submit a Notice of Effective Date to the Division of
?"Administrative Rules to make this rule effective. Fai!ure to submit a Notice of Effective Date wili result in this rule

Indexmg mformatlon - keywords (max1mum of four in lower case, except for acronyms (e.g., ”GRAMA") or proper

Cpharmecists licensing

:fpharmacws o o .
:'Attach an RTF document contmnmg the text of this ru]e change 'E R] 56-17b.pro
-(ﬁlename)

To the agency: Informatlon requested on thls form is requ1red by Sectlons 63G 3 301 302 303 and 402 Incomplete
‘forms will be returned to the agency for completion, possibly delaying publication in thel/fah State Bulletin, and delaying

'Agency head or _
designee, and ftitle:

{the first possible effective date.

AGENCY AUTHORIZATION

Date E
(mm/ddiyyyy)
YA

eRuIes V. 2 ?roposedRule doc 09/03/2009 (http:/www.rules.utah. gov/agencyresources/forms/ProposedRule doc)




R156. Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing.
R156~17b. Pharmacy Practice Act Rule.
R156-17b-502. Unprofessional Conduct.

"Unprofessional conduct" includes:

(1) wviolating any provision of the American Pharmaceutical
Association (APhA} Code of Ethics for Pharmacists, October 27,
1994, which is hereby incorporated by reference;

(2) failing to comply with the USP-NF Chapters 795 and 787
if such chapters are applicable to activities performed in the
pharmacy;

(3) failing to comply with the continuing education
requirements set forth in these rules;

(4) failing to provide the Division with a current mailing
address within a 10 business day period of time following any
change of address;

(5) defaulting on a student loan;

(6) failing to abide by all applicable federal and state
law regarding the practice of pharmacy;

(7) failing to comply with administrative ingpections;

(8) failing to return according to the deadline established
by the Division, or providing false information on a self-
inspection report;

(9) +violating the lawe and rules regulating operating
standards in a pharmacy discovered upon inspection by the
Division;

(10) =abandoning a pharmacy or leaving prescription drugs
accessible to the public;

(11) failing to identify licensure classification when
communicating by any means;

(12) practicing pharmacy with an inappropriate pharmacist
to pharmacy intern ratic established by Subsection R156-17b-

606 (1) (d) or pharmacist to pharmacy technician ratio as
established by Subsection R156-17b-601(3);

(13} allowing any unauthorized persons in the pharmacy;

(14) failing to offer to counsel any person receiving a
prescription medication;

(15} failing to pay an administrative fine that has been
assessed in the time designated by the Division;

(le) failing to comply with the PIC or DMPIC standards as
established in Section R156-17b-603;

(17) failing to adhere to institutiocnal pelicies and
procedures related to technician checking of medications when
technician checking is utilized;

(18) failing to take dppropriate steps to avoid or resolve
identified drug therapy management problems as referenced in
Subsection R156-17b-611(3);

(19) dispensing medication that has been discontinued by
the FDA4;

(20) failing to keep or report accurate records of training
hours;



(21) failing to provide PIC or DMPIC information to the
Division within 30 days of a change in PIC or DMPIC;

{22) reguiring a pharmacy, pharmacist, or DMP to operate
the pharmacy or allow operation of the pharmacy with a ratio of
supervising pharmacist or DMP to other pharmacy personnel in
circumstances that result in, or reasonably would be expected to
result in, an unreasonable risk of harm to public health, safety,
and welfare;

(23) failing to update the Division within seven calendar
days of any change in the email address designated for use in
self-audits or pharmacy alerts; [—and]

(24) failing to ensure, as a DMP or DMP clinic pharmacy,
that a DMP designee has completed a formal or on-the-job
dispensing training program that meets standards established in
Section R156-17b-622; and

(25} failing to make a timely report regarding dispensing
of an opiate antagonist to the division and to the physician who
iggsued the standing order as required in Section R156-17b-625.

R156-17b-625. Standards - Reporting and Maintaining Recoxrds on
the Dispensing of an Opiate Antagonist.

(1) In accordance with Subsections 26-55-105(2) (¢} and (d),
the pharmacist-in-charge or a responsible corporate officer of
each pharmacy licensee that dispensesg an opiate antagonist
pursuant to a valid standing pregcription drug order igsued by a
physician, shall affirm that the pharmacy licensee has complied
with the protocel for dispensing an opiate antagonist as set
forth in Section 26-55-105, and shall report, on an annual basis,
to the division and to the physician who issued the opiate
antagonist standing drug order, the following information:

(a) the total number of gingie doges of opiate antagonists
dispenged during the reporting period; and

(b} the name of each opiate antagonisgt digpensed, along
with the total number of single doses of that particular named
oplate_antagonist,

(2) Corporationg or organizaticons with multiple component
pharmacy licenses may submit one cumulative report for all its
component pharmacy licenseeg. Howevey, that report must contain
the informaticn described above for each of the component
pharmacy licensgees.

(3) Null reporting is not required. If a pharmacy licensee
does not dispense an opiate antagonigt during any vear, that
pharmacy licensee is not required to make an affirmation or
report to the division.

(4) The annual affirmation and report described above is
due to the division and to the physician who iggued the standing
drug order no later than 15 days following December 31 of each
calendar vear.

(5) In accordance with Subgection 26-55-105(2)(d), a
pharmacy licensee who dispenses an opiate antagonist pursuant to

'




a valid standing prescription order igsued by a physician, shall
maintain, subject to audit, the following information:

(a) the name of the individual to whom the opiate
antagonist is dispenged;

{b) the name of the opiate antagonist dispensed;

{c) the qgquantitv of the opiate antagonist dispensed;

(@) the strength of the opiate antagonist digpensed;

(e) the dosage guantity of the opiate antagonist digpensged;

(f) the full name of the drug outlet which dispensed the
oplate antagonist;

(¢q)  the date the opliate antagonist wag dispensed; and

(h} the name of phvsician igssuing the standing order to
dispense the opiate antagonist.

(6) The division approves the protoceol forxr the issuance of
a standing prescription drug order for opiate antagonists, which
ig set Fforth in Subsection 26-55-105(2) (a) through (d) along with
the requirements set forth in the foregoing provisiong, and the
reporting reguirements set forth in Sectiong R156-67-604 and
R1G56-68-604,

KEY: pharmacists, licensing, pharmacies

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [April—2%1;
12016

Notice of Continuation: January 5, 2015

Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 58-17b-101; 58-
17b-601(1); 58-37-1; 58-1-106(1) (a); 58-1-202(1) (a)



