
www.dopl.utah.gov • Heber M. Wells Building • 160 East 300 South • P.O. Box 146741, SaltLake City, UT 84114-6741 
  telephone (801) 530-6628 •  toll-free in Utah (866) 275-3675 •  fax (801) 530-6511 •  investigations fax (801) 530-6301 

CPE Reporting and Renewal Certification Certified Public Accountant 
(For the reporting period January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2015) 

The CPE report and the renewal certification on the reverse must be completed and returned to DOPL by January 31, 
2016.  Please complete the entire form and sign the certification at the bottom of the page.  DOPL cannot guarantee the 
timely renewal of your license if the form is not received by January 31, 2016.  Information for payment of your 
renewal fees will be mailed by August 2016.  You may submit the information on your own form, provided it has all of 
the information requested, including the certification that you have completed the courses listed and you sign the form. 

Licensees are required to complete 80 hours of qualifying continuing professional education every two years. 

If you fail to complete the 80-hour requirement or if your hours do not qualify, Utah Administrative Code (2009) 
Section R156-26a-303b(8) provides the following: 

8) Other CPE requirements and failure to complete CPE requirements.
(a) Interim Licensure CPE requirements.  Those individuals who become licensed or certified between 

renewal periods shall be required to complete CPE based upon ten hours per calendar quarter for the 
remaining quarters of the reporting period. 

(b) Carry Forward Provision.  A licensee who completes more than 80 hours of CPE during the two year 
reporting period may carry forward up to 40 hours to the next succeeding reporting period. 

(c)  Failure to comply with CPE requirements. 
(i)  Failure to meet the 80 hour requirement.  An individual holding a current Utah license who fails to 

complete the required 80 hours of CPE by the reporting deadline will not be allowed to renew their license 
unless they complete and report to the division at least 30 days prior to their expiration date two times the 
number of CPE hours the license holder was short for the reporting period (penalty hours).  The penalty 
hours shall not be considered to satisfy in whole or part any of the CPE hours required for subsequent 
renewal of the license. 

(ii)  Non-Qualifying or Disqualified CPE hours.  An individual who reports non-qualifying hours or 
who has hours disqualified by the Utah Board of Accountancy shall not be allowed to renew their license 
unless they complete and report to the division, within 60 days of receiving notification by the division of 
their shortage and the relevant penalty hours requirement under R156-26-303b(8)(c)(i). 

(iii)  Waiver for Medical Reasons.  A licensee may request the board to waive the requirements 
or grant an extension for continuing professional education on the basis that the licensee was not 
able to complete the continuing professional education due to medical or related conditions 
confirmed by a qualified health care provider.  Such medical confirmation shall include the 
beginning and ending dates during which the medical condition would have prevented the licensee 
from completing the continuing professional education, the extent of the medical condition and the 
effect that the medical condition had upon the ability of the licensee to continue to engage in the 
practice of accountancy.  The board in determining whether the waiver is appropriate shall consider 
whether or not the licensee continued to be engaged in the practice of accountancy practice on a full 
or part time basis during the period specified by the medical confirmation.  Granting a waiver of 
meeting the minimum CPE hours shall not be construed as a waiver of a CPA being required to 
provide services in a competent manner with current knowledge, skill and ability.  When medical or 
other conditions prevent the CPA from providing services in a competent manner, the CPA shall 
refrain from providing such services. 

State of Utah 
Department of Commerce 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

GARY R. HERBERT   FRANCINE A. GIANI MARK B. STEINAGEL 
Governor Executive Director  Division Director



Licensee Name:  License Number: 

Please complete the following schedule documenting satisfactory completion of the continuing 
professional education requirements.  Type or print clearly; attach additional pages if necessary. 

DATE OF 
COURSE 

COURSE TITLE / DESCRIPTION SPONSOR 

APPROVED 
COURSE 
NUMBER 
(IF ANY) 

INDICATE: 
Participant = P 
Instructor = I 
Author = A 

CPE 
HOURS 

COURSES TAKEN JANUARY 1, 2014 – DECEMBER 31, 2015 

TOTAL HOURS FOR REPORTING PERIOD 

CARRY-OVER HOURS ALLOWED FROM PRIOR PERIOD (NOT TO EXCEED 40 HOURS) 

TOTAL HOURS 

HOURS AVAILABLE FOR CARRY-OVER TO FUTURE PERIOD (NOT TO EXCEED 40 HOURS) 

I hereby certify that the information I have documented on this form is correct and true to the best 
of my knowledge. 

SIGNED _____________________________________________________ DATE _______________ 




