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STATE OF UTAH 
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE (APRN) or 
APRN-CRNA WITHOUT PRESCRIPTIVE PRACTICE 

 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 

 
General Statement:  The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) 
desires to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure.  To facilitate the 
application process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting 
documents and fees.  Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary 
information will delay processing and may result in denial of licensure.  The fees are for processing 
your application and will not be refunded.  Please read all instructions carefully. 
 
Address of Record:  The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. 
All correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address.  You are responsible to directly notify 
DOPL of any change to your address of record.  Do not rely on a forwarding order. 
 
Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record under the 
Utah Government Records Access and Management Act.  It is used by DOPL as an individual 
identifier.  It is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is 
mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 
666(a)(13).  If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 
 
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES: 
 
If you are applying for licensure as an APRN, complete the following in addition to 
submitting a completed application: 
 
1. Submit completed application with fingerprints.  See “Additional Important Information” 

for instructions on how to obtain fingerprints. 
 
2. Submit official transcripts documenting at least a master’s degree in nursing which must 

also document the completion of coursework in advanced health assessment, diagnosis and 
treatment, and pharmacotherapeutics.  If transcripts are not sent directly from the school to 
DOPL, they must be in an envelope sealed by the school. 

 
3. Submit official documentation of passing an approved certification examination as listed in 

subsection R156-31b-302c (1)(b) of the Utah Nurse Practice Act Rules – unless you are 
applying for an intern license. 

  
4. If you are applying by endorsement (currently licensed in another state), use the “Request 

for Verification of License” form (attached to this application) to obtain verification of 
licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed as a nurse.  Request that the 
verifying state complete the form and mail or fax it directly to DOPL. Verification of both 
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your RN and APRN licenses is required. 
 

5. Submit a $140.00 non-refundable application processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.” 
This fee includes a $100.00 application fee for an APRN license, a $20.00 surcharge for a 
BCI fingerprint file search, and a $20.00 surcharge for a FBI fingerprint file search.  
 

6. If you are also applying for an APRN Intern license, complete and submit the following in 
addition to the requirements listed above: 

 

 an “APRN Intern License Request” form (attached to this application) 
 

 If you are applying as an APRN Intern specializing in psychiatric mental health nursing, 
also submit a completed “Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse: Post-Master’s Clinical Plan” 
(attached to this application). 

 

NOTE:  Once you have completed your supervised hours, you must submit a completed 
“Verification of Supervised Experience” form (attached to this application) to DOPL. 

 

 A $35.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.”  The 
total fees for an APRN license and an APRN Intern license are $175.00.) 

 
7. If you are also applying for a Utah Controlled Substance license, complete and submit the 

following in addition to the requirements listed above:  
 

 a completed take-home “Utah Controlled Substances Law and Rules Examination” 
(pages 13 and 14 of this application) 

 
 a $100.00 non-refundable application processing fee for a Controlled Substance license. 

The total fees for an APRN license and a Utah Controlled Substance license are 
$240.00.  The total fees for an APRN license and an APRN Intern license and a Utah 
controlled substance license are $275.00. 

 
NOTE:  You cannot prescribe controlled substances as an intern. Therefore, if you are 
applying for an APRN Intern license and a Controlled Substance license, your controlled 
substance license will not be issued until full APRN licensure is granted. 

 
If you are applying for licensure as an APRN-CRNA without Prescriptive Practice, complete 
the following in addition to submitting a completed application: 
 
1. Submit completed application with fingerprints.  See “Additional Important Information” 

for instructions on how to obtain fingerprints. 
 
2. Submit official transcripts or a certificate of completion from an accredited nurse anesthetist 

program.  If transcripts are not sent directly from the school to DOPL, they must be in an 
envelope sealed by the school. 

 
3. Submit official documentation of passing the examination of the Council of Nurse 

Anesthetists. 
 
4. If you are applying by endorsement (currently licensed in another state), using the “Request 

for Verification of License” form (attached to this application), obtain verification of 
licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed as a nurse. Request that the 
verifying state complete the form and mail or fax it directly to DOPL. Verification of both 
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your RN and CRNA licenses is required. 
 
5. Submit the a completed take-home “Utah Controlled Substances Law and Rules 

Examination” (pages 13 and 14 of this application). 
 
6. Submit a $240.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.” 

This fee includes a $100.00 application fee for an APRN - CRNA license, a $100.00 
application fee for a controlled substance license, a $20.00 surcharge for a BCI fingerprint 
file search, and a $20.00 surcharge for a FBI fingerprint file search. 

 
 
ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION: 
 
1. Licensure Prerequisite:  Before applying for licensure as an APRN or APRN-CRNA you 

must have a current Utah Registered Nurse license in good standing or be qualified for a 
Utah Registered Nurse license. 

 
2. Controlled Substances Law and Rules Examination:  Enclosed with this application is 

the take-home Utah Controlled Substances Law and Rules Exam.  Return the completed 
examination with your application for licensure if you are applying for a controlled 
substance license in addition to your nursing license.  Do not submit it separately.  
 

3. Utah Controlled Substance License / DEA Registration:  You must hold a Utah 
Controlled Substance license and a DEA registration to administer, possess, or prescribe a 
controlled substance in your practice of nursing in Utah. For DEA registration information, 
contact the Drug Enforcement Administration, Salt Lake District Office, 348 East South 
Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84088.  Telephone (801) 524-4389. 

 

 NOTE 1:  An APRN may apply for a Utah controlled Substance License if they are going 
to prescribe controlled substances within their practice.  However, all APRN-CRNA 
licensees are required to also hold a Utah Controlled Substance license in order to 
administer and order controlled substances. 

 

 NOTE 2:  An APRN-CRNA may administer medications and write orders for the 
administration of medications by others within a health-care system.  The term “without 
prescriptive practice” means an APRN-CRNA cannot write a medication order on a 
prescription pad and give it to a patient to be filled at a pharmacy. 

 
4. Laws and Rules:  You are required to understand all Utah laws and rules pertaining to your 

practice as a nurse.  The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at 
www.dopl.utah.gov 

 

 Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act 
 General Rules of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
 Health Care Providers Immunity from Liability Act 
 Nurse Practice Act 
 Nurse Practice Act Rules 
 Utah Controlled Substance Act 
 Utah Controlled Substance Act Rules 

 
5. Current Documents:  Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed.  

Go to www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents. 
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6. Reinstatement of Utah License:  If you are reinstating your expired or inactive Utah 

nursing license, please contact DOPL. 
 
7. Fingerprint Information:  All applicants are required to undergo a criminal background 

check and fingerprint search through the files of the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) 
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).  

 
Electronic fingerprinting is offered to DOPL applicants, with no additional charge, at the 
DOPL office between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm, Mon-Friday, except holidays.  A current 
government issued picture ID is required (driver’s license, state ID, passport, etc.). If you 
are unable to obtain fingerprints at DOPL’s office, fingerprint services are available from 
most local law enforcement agencies.  You are required to submit two (2) blue “Applicant” 
cards (Form FD-258) with your application; these cards will be provided by the agency that 
rolls your prints.   
 
REVIEW OF YOUR FBI RECORD: If you wish to challenge the accuracy of the 
information in your FBI record, you should contact the agency that contributed the 
information in question. You may also direct the challenge to the FBI, Criminal Justice 
Information Services (CJIS) Division, Attn. SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, 
Clarksburg, WV 26306. The FBI will forward the challenge to the respective agency. 
 
WARNING: If information received from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification or the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation indicates that you have failed to accurately disclose your 
criminal history to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, any license 
issued to you will be immediately and automatically revoked. 

 
8. Licensure by Endorsement:  If you are applying for licensure by endorsement, you must 

have a current, active in good standing license in another jurisdiction. 
 
9. Intern License Information:  An intern license will only be issued to an APRN applicant 

who has never taken a certification examination and is eligible for an intern license.  An 
applicant for licensure as an APRN-CRNA is not eligible for an intern license. 

 

You may not apply only for an intern license.  Your application for licensure as an APRN 
must be submitted prior to or along with the submission of an “APRN Intern License 
Request” form.  The verified information contained in the APRN application will be the 
basis upon which a decision is made to issue the intern license. 

 

The normal processing time is approximately fifteen (15) working days from the date the 
request for an intern license and a complete application is received.  You may not work until 
the intern license is issued.  Do not make commitments to a potential employer to 
commence work prior to the time DOPL requires to process your intern license. 

 

An intern license is valid from the date of issuance until the earliest of the following dates: 
 1. Official notice of failure to pass the examination 
 2. Failure to take the first scheduled examination following issuance of 

the intern license 
 

Once you have received your certification examination results, you must forward a copy to 
DOPL to complete the APRN application process. 

 
10. Consultation and Referral Plan:  An APRN who chooses to prescribe Schedule II - III 
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Controlled Substances must have a completed “Consultation and Referral Plan” on file at 
the practice site.  The “Consultation and Referral Plan” (attached to this application) does 
not need to be submitted to DOPL. 

 
11. License Renewal:  All APRN and APRN-CRNA licenses expire January 31 of every even-

numbered year.  Additionally, your controlled substance license will expire at the same time 
as your primary license, and you will also be required to renew it at the same time. 

 

Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s 
date of initial licensure.  Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession expire 
as a group on the same day every two years.  Therefore, the length of a licensee’s first 
renewal cycle depends on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was 
obtained.  Each renewal cycle thereafter is for a full two years.   
 

Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing fee 
only.  It does not include a renewal fee.  Each licensee is responsible to renew licensure 
PRIOR to the expiration date shown on the current license.  Approximately two months 
prior to the expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is disseminated to 
each licensee’s last address of record, as provided to DOPL. 
 

12. License Issuance:  A license will be printed and mailed to you within three weeks of your 
receiving a passing score.  Do not call DOPL requesting your license number prior to 
receiving your printed license in the mail. 

 
13. Name Change:  If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please submit 

documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree). 
 
14. Updating Address Information:  It is your responsibility to maintain a current address 

with DOPL.  If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other 
correspondence.  Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov. 

 
15. Acceptable Forms of Payment:  Licensure fees can be paid by check or money order, 

made payable to “DOPL.”  Cash and debit/credit cards (American Express, MasterCard, 
and Visa) are also accepted in person at DOPL’s main office – but not over the telephone. 

  
16. Mail Complete Application to: 

 

By U.S. Mail 
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

By Delivery or Express Mail 
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, 1st Floor Lobby 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111 

 
17. Telephone Numbers:  (801) 530-6628 

(866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 
 
18. Fax Number:   (801) 530-6511 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
 

License(s) Applying For:  ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE  

 ADVANCED PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE INTERN 

 APRN-CRNA WITHOUT PRESCRIPTIVE PRACTICE 

 UTAH CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE LICENSE 

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.*** 
 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Social Security Number:       -      -       Maiden Name:        
I certify under penalty of perjury that: 

  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  
 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers 
License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a 
legal citizen of the United States.   

 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers 
License or US State ID. 
License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US 
Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document 
showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 

 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

Mailing Address:        

City:        State:     ZIP:        

 Male 
 Female 

Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held 
in any profession.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 
Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       
Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       
Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

 
 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

License/Certificate Number:           

Date License/Certificate Approved: ___/___/____ 

Approved By:             

Date License/Certificate Denied: ___/___/____ 

Denied By:             

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:          
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
 

 
1. I certify that am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this application. 
2. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its 

supporting document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is 
truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will 
update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.  

3. I authorize all persons, institutions, organization, schools, governmental agencies, employers, 
references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth 
directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably required for the 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my qualifications for 
licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 

4. I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, and 
apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for 
which you are applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, administrative, or criminal 
sanctions. 

 

Signature of Applicant:  ________________________________   Date of Signature:  ___ /___ /______ 
 

 

 

 
 

DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE:   
 

Primary State of Residence is the state of your declared fixed permanent and principal home for 
legal purposes; domicile. 
 
 

Upon issuance of a nursing license in Utah, my primary state of residence will be 
 

            . 
 
Note: You must provide DOPL with a Utah address within 30 days of arriving in the state. 
 

 
PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION REQUIREMENT:  (Please list most current first; use 
additional sheets if necessary.) 
 
Name of School:        Dates Attended:     to    

Location:        Specialty:       

Degree Received:       Date of Graduation:      

Name of School:        Dates Attended:     to    

Location:        Specialty:       

Degree Received:       Date of Graduation:      

 
 
 
 
 
COURSE WORK DOCUMENTATION – APRN Applicants Only: 



DOPL-AP-014 Rev 2012-10-12  9 

 
Advanced Health Assessment: 
 

Name of School:         Course Number:    
 
Date of Course Completion (Semester and Year):         

 
Diagnosis and Treatment: 
 

Name of School:         Course Number:    
 

Date of Course Completion (Semester and Year):         
 
Pharmacotherapeutics: 
 

Name of School:         Course Number:    
 

Date of Course Completion (Semester and Year):         
 
 
 
NATIONAL CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT: 
 
Certifying Body:             
 
Date Examination Taken:            
 
Specialty:              
 
Number:         Expiration: ___/___/____ 
 
Intern Applicants:  Document the examination you intend to take and the date scheduled. 
 
NOTE:  After successful completion of the examination, you must submit the results directly to 

DOPL so your license can be issued. 
 
Certifying Body:             
 
Specialty:         Date Examination is Scheduled: ___/___/____ 
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LICENSES: 
 

 I do not hold registrations, or certifications issued by any jurisdiction.. 
 

C  
H 
E 
C 
K  
  

A 
N 
D 
 

C 
O 
M 
P 
L 
E 
T 
E 
 

O 
N 
E 
 
 
 
 

 
 List all licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any jurisdiction which you 

now hold, have ever held, or have ever applied for in any health care profession.  (Use 
additional sheets if necessary.) 

 
Original RN License Number:        State:     
 
Original APRN / CRNA License Number:        State:    
 
 
Issuing State:             
 
 Profession:            
 
 License Number:           
 
 Effective Date: ___/___/____ 
 
 License Status:           
 
Issuing State:             
 
 Profession:            
 
 License Number:           
 
 Effective Date: ___/___/____ 
 
 License Status:           
 
Issuing State:             
 
 Profession:            
 
 License Number:           
 
 Effective Date: ___/___/____ 
 
 License Status:           
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UTAH CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 
LAW AND RULES EXAMINATION 

 

This examination is not intended to be difficult.  The purpose of the exam is to bring to your attention specific 
practice issues you need to know in order to avoid violating Utah statute as well as Utah law and rule.  If you 
are uncertain about any of the questions listed below, please refer to the references listed in order to become 
familiar with Utah’s controlled substance prescribing practices. 

Utah Controlled Substances Act, 58-37 http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-37.pdf 
Utah Controlled Substances Act Rule, R156-37 http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-37.pdf 

 

Answer “True” or “False” for each statement.  Submit this completed examination with your application for 
licensure. 

 True    False 

1. A prescription for a schedule II controlled substance may be filled in a quantity not 
to exceed a 30 day supply. 

 True    False 

2. A prescription for a schedule III or IV controlled substance may be refilled 5 times 
within a six month period from the issue date of the prescription.   

 True    False 

3. All prescription orders must be signed in ink or indelible pencil to prevent anyone 
from altering a legitimate prescription.   

 True    False 

4. Licensed prescribing practitioners must make their controlled substance stock and 
records available to DOPL personnel for inspection during regular business hours. 

 True    False 

5. All records of purchasing, prescribing, and administering controlled substances must 
be maintained by the licensed prescribing practitioner for at least five years.   

 True    False 

6. The name, address, and DEA registration number of the prescribing practitioner, and 
the name, address and age of the patient are required to be included on the 
prescription for a controlled substance.   

 True    False 
7. A controlled substance is taken according to the prescriber’s instructions.  A refill 

may be dispensed after 80% of the medication has been consumed.   

 True    False 
8. After the discovery of any theft or loss of a controlled substance, the prescribing 

practitioner is required to file the appropriate forms with the DEA, report the 
incidence to the local police, and send copies of the filed DEA forms to DOPL.   

 True    False 
9. The maximum number of controlled substances that can be written on a single 

prescription form is one.   

 True    False 

10. An emergency verbal prescription order for a schedule II controlled substance 
requires that the patient be under the continuing care of the prescribing practitioner 
for a chronic disease, the amount of drug prescribed is limited to what is needed to 
adequately treat the patient for no more than 72 hours, and a written prescription 
shall be delivered to the filling pharmacy within 7 working days of the verbal order.  

 True    False 
11. Issuing a prescription for a schedule II or III controlled substance for yourself is 

considered unprofessional conduct and may result in disciplinary action.   

 True    False 

12. A prescribing practitioner is using a schedule IV controlled substance in the 
treatment of weight reduction for obesity.  The practitioner has completed a medical 
history of the patient, has performed a complete physical examination, has ruled out 
contra-indications, and has determined that the health benefits of treatment greatly 
out-weigh the risks.  An informed consent signed by the patient is also required prior 
to initiating treatment.   

 True    False 
13. The Division will immediately suspend the Utah controlled substance license if the 

DEA registration is denied, revoked, surrendered, or suspended.      
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APRN and APRN-CRNA QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE  
Answer “yes” or “no” for each question.  Do not leave any question blank. 
 
1.             Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration 

to practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on 
this application? 

 
2.            Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?  
  
3.            Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a 

regulated profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, 
revoked, reprimanded, or disciplined in any way? 

 
4.             Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, 

permit, or registration to practice in a regulated profession while under 
investigation or while action was pending against you by any health care 
professional licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or 
administrative jurisdiction? 

 
5.             Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending 

against you now by any licensing or governmental agency? 
 
6.               Have you ever had hospital or other health care facility privileges denied, 

conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 
 
7.             Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender hospital or other health care 

facility privileges, while under investigation or while action was pending against 
you by any licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or 
administrative jurisdiction? 

 
8.             Is any action related to your conduct or patient care pending against you now at 

any hospital or health care facility? 
 
9.             Have you ever had rights to participate in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state 

or federal health care payment reimbursement program denied, conditioned, 
curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 
10.             Have you ever been permitted to resign from Medicaid, Medicare, or any other 

state or federal health care payment reimbursement program while under 
investigation or while action was pending against you by any licensing agency, 
hospital, or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 
11.             Is any action pending against you now by Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state 

or federal health care payment reimbursement program? 
 
12.             Have you ever had a federal or state registration to sell, possess, prescribe, 

dispense, or administer controlled substances denied, conditioned, curtailed, 
limited, restricted, suspended or revoked in any way by either the Federal Drug 
Enforcement Administration or any state drug enforcement agency?  

(Continued on the next page.) 
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13.             Have you ever been permitted to surrender your registration to sell, possess, 
prescribe, dispense, or administer controlled substances while under investigation 
or while action was pending against you by any health care profession licensing 
agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative 
jurisdiction? 

 
14.             Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration or any state drug enforcement agency? 
 
15.             Have you been named as a defendant in a malpractice suit? 
 
16.             Have you ever had office monitoring, practice curtailments, individual surcharge 

assessments based upon specific claims history, or other limitations, restrictions, 
or conditions imposed by any malpractice carrier?  

 
17.             Have you ever had any malpractice insurance coverage denied, conditioned, 

curtailed, limited, suspended, or revoked in any way? 
 
18.             If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, 

would you pose a direct threat to yourself, to your patients or clients, or to the 
public health, safety, or welfare because of any circumstance or condition? 

 
19.            Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent 

by reason of mental defect or disease and not restored? 
 
20. _____ Have you been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse within the 

past five (5) years? 
 
21. _____ Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser 

in any incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?  
 
22.             Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs 

(including recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or 
distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or 
other applicable state or federal law? 

 
23.             Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or 

distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or 
other applicable state or federal law, for which you have not successfully 
completed or are not now participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation 
program, or for which you have not otherwise been successfully rehabilitated? 

 
24.  _____ Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 
 
25. _____ Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been 

convicted of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?  
Motor vehicle offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed 
but minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need not be listed. 

(Continued on the next page.) 
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26. _____ Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any 
jurisdiction? 

 
27. _____ Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to 

any criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred sentence)? 

 
28. _____  Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county 

correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on 
probation/parole in any jurisdiction? 

 

 If you answered “yes” to questions 24, 25, 26, 27, or 28 above, you must submit a 
complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY 
conviction, plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of 
all applicable police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s). 
 

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit 
documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court 
indicating that the information is no longer available. 
 

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed 
by a judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history.  Expungement orders 
must be sent to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the 
expungement to be completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 

              
 

 If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application 
complete information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been 
reached. 
 
A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, 
DOPL may request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 
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 Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
FAX:  (801) 530-6511 
 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
 

(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.) 
 
 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT: 
 
Complete the first section of the form and submit it to the state that is verifying information for 
you.  Request that the verifying state complete the form and return it to you for submission with 
your application.  If a verifying state insists on submitting the verification directly to DOPL, 
indicate that fact in the appropriate section of the application.  
 
Applicant Name:             
 
Street Address:             
 
City:               
 
State:          Zip:      
 
I am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a         
 
I am/have been licensed in your state under the name        
 
My social security number is            
 
My date of birth is ___/___/____ 
 
My license number in your state is/was           
 
I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of $      
 
Signature of Applicant:            
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Continued on the next page.)
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TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 
 
Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and mail or fax it 
directly to DOPL or place the completed form in a sealed envelope, and provide it to the 
applicant in person or by mail.  The applicant will include the verification of licensure with 
his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   
 
Name of Verifying State:           
 
Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):      
  
 
Classification of License Issued:          
 
License Number:         Current Status:    
 
Original Date of Licensure: ___/___/____ Expiration Date: ___/___/____ 
  
Continuously Licensed: 

  Yes      No, please explain:         

 

Licensed By: 

 Exam, Type:         Date:     

    Endorsement, from what state?         

   Waiver:  

 
Examination Scores:           
 
Education Required For Licensure:         

 
Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 
 

 No     Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 
 
Signature:         Title:       
 
Agency:             
 
Date: ___/___/____ 
 
(SEAL) 
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
FAX:  (801) 530-6511 
 

APRN INTERN LICENSE REQUEST 
 
TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT:  
 
Name:           Telephone:       
 
Address:              
 
Name of Certifying Exam:          Date:     
 
Employing Facility:         Telephone:      
 
Address:              
 
Date Employment Begins: ___/___/____ 
 
I hereby certify that I will not practice until I have been granted an Intern license.  Once the 
Intern license has been issued, I will only practice under direct supervision of a supervising 
practitioner. 
 
Signature of Applicant:          Date: ___/___/____ 
 
 
TO BE COMPLETED BY SUPERVISING PRACTITIONER: 
 
Name:              
 
Address:          Telephone:     
 
Position or Title:         License Number:    
 
I hereby certify that I am a licensed practitioner in good standing and I will supervise the 
practice of the above named nurse.  I understand that I must provide direct supervision, and be 
on the same site as the applicant.  However, if I am supervising a psychiatric mental health nurse 
specialist, I must provide general and direct supervision to the applicant.   
 
Signature of Supervisor:          Date:    
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Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
Fax:  (801) 530-6511 
 

PSYCHIATRIC MENTAL HEALTH NURSE:  
POST-MASTER’S CLINICAL PLAN 

 
An applicant for an intern license to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse  - 
specializing as a psychiatric mental health nurse specialist, must submit the following 
information with the “APRN Intern License Request” form. 
 
Project the number of hours of psychotherapy you will accomplish in each area. 
 

Individual Psychotherapy:  First Year     Second Year     
 

Group Psychotherapy:  First Year     Second Year       
 

Family Psychotherapy:  First Year     Second Year       
 

Other Modality (specify)     : First Year    Second Year    
 
NOTE: The rules of the Board of Nursing R156-31b-302(b) require an applicant for licensure as 
an advanced practice registered nurse - specializing as a psychiatric mental health nurse 
specialist to meet the following experience: 
 

4,000 hours of supervised clinical practice in psychiatric and mental health nursing 
including 1,000 of Mental Health Therapy and one hour of face-to-face supervision for 
every 20 hours of Mental Health Therapy services provided.  1,000 hours of the required 
4,000 hours may be credited by the completion of clinical experience in an approved 
education program in psychiatric mental health nursing. 

 
The practice of mental health therapy is defined in 58-60-102(7) as treatment or prevention of 
mental illness, including: 

(a) conducting a professional evaluation of an individual’s condition of mental 
health, mental illness, or emotional disorder consistent with standards 
generally recognized in the professions of mental health therapy; 

(b) establishing a diagnosis in accordance with established written standards generally 
recognized in the professions of mental health therapy; 

(c) prescribing a plan for the prevention or treatment of a condition of mental illness or 
emotional disorder; and 

(d) engaging in the conduct of professional intervention, including psychotherapy by the 
application of established methods and procedures generally recognized in the 
profession of mental health therapy. 
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Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
FAX: (801) 530-6511 
 

VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE 
(FOR PSYCHIATRIC MENTAL HEALTH NURSES) 

  
TO BE COMPLETED BY EACH SUPERVISOR OF THE REQUIRED SUPERVISED 
EXPERIENCE HOURS:   
 
NOTE: Only hours completed may be verified in this form.  Do not include any projected 
hours. 
 
Applicant Name:            

Supervisor’s Name:            

Supervisor’s License Issued: State     Profession      Year   

Facility Name:            

Facility Street Address:           

City:        State:      Zip:     

Inclusive Dates of Supervised Training: From   /   To           /      
 
________________ Total Hours of Supervised Experience in Mental Health Therapy 

(minimum 1,000 hours) 
 
________________  Total Hours of Face-to-Face Individual Supervision for Mental Health        

Therapy (minimum 50 hours) 
 
________________  Total Hours of Supervised Experience (minimum 3,000 hours) 
 
Hours of Face-to-Face Individual Supervision Per Week:      
 
Hours Worked Per Week:    
 
The hours worked and supervised are reported on the basis of:  

 Supervisor’s appointment calendars or records 

 Supervisor’s best recollection 

Nature of Applicant’s Duties:          
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I do certify that the applicant for licensure as a Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse:   
 
(Answer “yes” or “no.”) 
 
_____ has satisfactorily completed the reported supervised experience. 
 
If the applicant has not satisfactorily completed the supervised experience, please explain the 
nature of the problem and recommendations for remediation.  Use additional sheets if necessary. 
 
             
 
             
 
             
 
I certify that I am a licensed professional in good standing and I am a qualified supervisor in 
accordance with statute and rules.  I further certify that I am professionally responsible for the 
acts and practices of the applicant that are a part of the required supervised training. 
 
Signature of Supervisor:           
 
Date of Signature: ___/___/____ 
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Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

 

CONSULTATION AND REFERRAL PLAN 
 
Do not return this form to DOPL.  It must be kept on file at the practice site if prescribing 
Schedule II - III Controlled Substances. 
 
 
Name of Nurse:             
 

Specialty:             
 

APRN License Number:           
 

Controlled Substance License Number:         
 

Federal DEA Number:           
 

Address of Practice Site:           
 

Practice Site Phone Number:           
 

Age and Type of Clientele:           
 
 
Name of Consulting Physician:           
 

Specialty:             
 

Office Address:            
 

Office Phone Number:           
  

Physician/Surgeon License Number:       State:     
 

Controlled Substance License Number:      State:     
 

Federal DEA Number:           
  

 
 

(Continued on the next page.) 



DOPL-AP-014 Rev 2012-10-12  26 

Describe the process of consultation including how it will be documented.  Use additional sheets 
if necessary. 
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
 
How will referrals be made? 
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
 
Signature of Nurse:             
 
Date: ___/___/____   Print Name:            
 
 
Signature of Consulting Physician:           
 
Date: ___/___/____   Print Name:           


