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STATE OF UTAH 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT 

REINSTATEMENT 

 

 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 

 
General Statement:  The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) 

desires to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure.  To facilitate the 

application process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting 

documents and fees.  Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary 

information will delay processing and may result in denial of licensure.  The fees are for 

processing your application and will not be refunded.  Please read all instructions carefully. 

 

Address of Record:  The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. 

All correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address.  You are responsible to directly 

notify DOPL of any change to your address of record.  Do not rely on a forwarding order. 

 

Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record under the 

Utah Government Records Access and Management Act.  It is used by DOPL as an individual 

identifier.  It is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and 

is mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 

666(a)(13).  If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 

 

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES: 

 

If you have held an active CPA license in another state since the time your Utah CPA license 

expired, and if this CPA license is currently active in that state, complete the following in 

addition to submitting a completed application: 

 

1. Using the “Request for Verification of License” form (attached to this application), obtain 

verification of licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed as a CPA. 

 

Request that the verifying state(s) complete the form(s) and mail or fax them directly to 

DOPL or return them to you for submission with your application. 

 

2. Submit documentation that you have completed a minimum of 80 hours of CPE for each 
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two-year CPE reporting period since the expiration of your Utah license. 

3. Submit a $113.00 reinstatement fee ($50.00 reinstatement fee plus $63.00 license renewal fee), 

made payable to “DOPL.” 

 

 

If you have not continuously held an active CPA license in another state since the time your Utah 

CPA license expired, complete the following in addition to submitting a completed application: 

 

1. Submit official documentation of your passing scores on the Uniform CPA Examination, 

if not previously reported to DOPL. 

 

2. Submit documentation of your passing the AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs 

Examination within the past year. 

 

3. Submit an original letter from DOPL’s approved examination provider verifying your 

passing score on the Utah Law and Rules Examination within the past year.  For 

examinations taken prior to January 1, 2008, the approved provider was Thomson 

Prometric; for examinations taken after that date the provider is PSI Examination 

Services 

 

4. Submit certification of completion of 80 hours of continuing professional education 

within the past year, which includes 16 hours in auditing and accounting courses. 

 

 The examinations and CPA requirements may be waived if all of the following conditions 

are met:  

 

A. The applicant failed to timely renew because of inadvertent failure to pay the 

renewal fees, to sign renewal application documents, or to meet similar technical 

renewal requirements. 

 

B. The application for reinstatement is filed with DOPL within 24 months after 

expiration date of the license. 

 

C. At the time of application for reinstatement, the applicant demonstrates by proof 

of attendance at acceptable CPE courses that at all times the applicant was in full 

compliance with the CPE requirements. 

 

5. Submit the appropriate non-refundable fees as follows, made payable to “DOPL”: 

 

A.  - It has been less than two years since your license expired. 

 - Submit $113.00 ($50.00 reinstatement fee plus $63.00 license renewal fee). 

 

 B. - It has been more than two years since expiration. 

  - You have not engaged in unlicensed practice while your license was expired 

  - Submit $85.00 application fee. 
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 C. - It has been more than two years since expiration. 

  - You have been engaged in unlicensed practice as a CPA in Utah. 

  - Submit $50 reinstatement fee. 

  and 

  - Submit a $63.00 license renewal fee multiplied by the number of renewal 

periods for which your renewal fee has not been paid since the expiration of 

your license. 

 

ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION:   
 

1. Law and Rules Exam: All applicants for licensure must pass the Utah Law and Rules 

Examination within one year of making reinstatement application.  Applicants must apply 

directly to PSI Examination Services at www.psiexams.com or 1-800-733-9267 to 

register for the law examination. 
 

The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at www.dopl.utah.gov: 
 

� Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing Act 

� General Rules of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

� Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act 

� Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act Rules 

 

2. Current Documents:  Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed.  

Go to www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents. 

 

3. Uniform CPA Examination:  Applicants who have not passed the Uniform CPA 

Examination must apply directly to CPA Examination Services (CPAES) to take the 

examination.  The applicant must submit the CPAES application form, the applicable 

fees, and official transcripts demonstrating the applicant has met the education 

requirement:  CPA Examination Services, Utah Coordinator, PO Box 198469 or 150 4th 

Avenue N., Ste. 700, Nashville, TN  37219-8469.  Candidates can also email CPAES at 

cpaes-ut@nasba.org or call 1-800-CPA-EXAM (8 a.m. – 6 p.m. CDT). 

 

4. AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs Exam:  Applicants for the AICPA Professional 

Ethics for CPAs Exam can order this self-study course and examination directly from the 

Utah Association of Certified Public Accountants (UACPA), 220 East Morris Avenue, 

Suite 320, Salt Lake City, Utah 84115, (801) 466-8022.  This test must have been passed 

within one year prior to the reinstatement application.   

 

5. Examination Fees:  There are separate fees for all examinations.  It is the responsibility 

of the applicant to submit the fees directly to the testing agency. 

 

6. License Renewal:  All CPA licenses expire September 30 of every even-numbered year. 
 

Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s 

date of initial licensure.  Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession 
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expire as a group on the same day every two years.  Therefore, the length of a licensee’s 

first renewal cycle depends on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was 

obtained.  Each renewal cycle thereafter is for a full two years.  Additionally, the fee paid 

with this application for licensure is an application-processing fee only.  It does not 

include a renewal fee.  Each licensee is responsible to renew licensure PRIOR to the 

expiration date shown on the current license.  Approximately two months prior to the 

expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is disseminated to each 

licensee’s last address of record, as provided to DOPL. 

 

7. Continuing Professional Education to Reinstate License: You must complete a total of 

80 hours of CPE approved by the board which shall include a minimum of 16 hours in 

accounting or audit or both.  The 80 hours must be completed within the 12 months 

preceding the submission of your application for reinstatement.  Successful completion of 

the two examinations outlined above will count as 8 hours toward the 80 hours required.  

CPE used to qualify for reinstatement of licensure cannot be used to meet the requirement 

for CPE after the license is granted. 

 

8. Continuing Professional Education during Licensure: CPA’s are required to complete 

80 hours of approved CPE in each two-year period ending with an odd-numbered year 

(2004-05, 2006-07, etc.).   

 

 In December of each odd-numbered year, CPE reporting forms will be mailed to the 

licensee for the purpose of reporting completion of qualified CPE courses as a condition 

of renewal of licensure.  The licensee must complete and return the CPE reporting form 

to DOPL no later than January 31 of each even-numbered year.  The licensee is 

responsible to obtain the form and to report their CPE by the January 31 deadline.  Failure 

to complete or report CPE will result in denial of renewal of the CPA license or action by 

DOPL to revoke the CPA license.  If the initial license term is less than the full two-year 

CPE reporting period, the CPA is required to complete 10 hours of CPE for each full 

quarter of licensure during the CPE reporting period. 

 

9. Registration as a Certified Public Accounting Firm:  Anyone engaged in the practice 

of public accountancy must be either registered as a firm or be employed with a properly 

registered firm.  If you are employed full time with a firm or other employer, but practice 

accountancy for your own account (“moonlighting”), you must apply for licensure with 

DOPL as a CPA firm.  If needed, you may obtain a “Certified Public Accountancy Firm” 

application from DOPL’s website:  www.dopl.utah.gov 

 

10. Peer Review: All firms, including sole proprietorships, engaged in the practice of public 

accountancy are required to comply with peer review requirements as found in the 

Certified Public Accountant Licensing Act Rules (R156-26a). 

 

11. Updating Address Information:  It is your responsibility to maintain a current address 

with DOPL.  If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other 

correspondence.  Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov. 
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12. Name Change:  If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please submit 

documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree). 

 

13. Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure:  After obtaining your license from DOPL, you can 

order a Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure, printed on parchment paper with original 

signatures and an embossed gold seal. Order forms can be obtained at www.dopl.utah.gov 

 

14. Mail Complete Application To: 

 

By U.S. Mail 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

 

By Delivery or Express Mail 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

160 East 300 South, 1st Floor Lobby 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111 

 

15. Telephone Numbers:  (801) 530-6628 

(866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 

 

16. Fax Number:   (801) 530-6511 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
 

CPA – REINSTATEMENT 
 

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.*** 
 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Social Security Number:       -      -       Maiden Name:        

I certify under penalty of perjury that: 
  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  

 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    
 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers License 

or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a legal 

citizen of the United States.   
 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers 

License or US State ID. 

License/State ID Number:                                   State:    
 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US 

Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document 

showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 
 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

Mailing Address:        

City:        State:     ZIP:        

 Male 

 Female 
Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in 

any profession.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

 
 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

License/Certificate Number:           

Date License/Certificate Approved: ___/___/____ 

Approved By:             

Date License/Certificate Denied: ___/___/____ 

Denied By:             

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:          
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
 

1. I certify under penalty of perjury that I am a United States citizen, a qualified alien as defined in 8 

U.S.C. Sec. 1641, or I am lawfully present in the United States.  

2. I certify that I am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this application. 

3. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its 

supporting document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is 

truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will 

update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.  

4. I authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers, 

references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set 

forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and 

Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably 

required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my 

qualifications for licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 

5. I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, 

and apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or 

profession for which I am applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, administrative, or 

criminal sanctions. 
 

Signature of Applicant:  ________________________________   Date of Signature:  ___ /___ /______ 
 

 

 

REASONS FOR EXPIRATION OF LICENSE AND ACTIVITY SINCE LICENSED 

 

1. Please explain the reasons and circumstances that led to the expiration of your license. 

 

               

 

              

 

              

 

              

 

2.  Provide a written description of professional responsibilities performed while not in the 

practice of public accountancy. 
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CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION (CPE) 

(Use additional sheets if necessary.) 
 

Provide a chronological list and certificates of completion of continuing education programs 

participated in within the 12 months prior to application for reinstatement.  Please include 

“Certificates of Completion” for each course taken with this application.  Applications will not 

be reviewed without this documentation showing courses completed.  A minimum of 80 hours of 

CPE is required, which shall include a minimum of 16 hours in accounting and auditing courses 

approved by the board, to be completed within 12 months prior to reinstatement of the license.  

The CPE courses that qualify for reinstatement cannot be used to qualify for any CPE required 

for subsequent renewals.  

 

Course Title/Description:            

 

Location:          Date:  ____/____/____ 

 

Course Sponsor:         CPE Hours:     

 

Course Title/Description:            

 

Location:          Date: ____/____/____ 

 

Course Sponsor:         CPE Hours:     

 

Course Title/Description:            

 

Location:          Date:  ____/____/____ 

 

Course Sponsor:         CPE Hours:     

 

Course Title/Description:            

 

Location:          Date:  ____/____/____ 

 

Course Sponsor:         CPE Hours:     

 

Course Title/Description:            

 

Location:          Date:  ____/____/____ 

 

Course Sponsor:         CPE Hours:     
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BLANK PAGE 
 

(FOR TWO-SIDED PRINTING) 
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CPA QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE 
 

Answer “yes” or “no” for each question.  Do not leave any question blank. 

 

1.             Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration 

to practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on 

this application? 

 

2.            Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?  

  

3.            Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a 

regulated profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, 

revoked, reprimanded, or disciplined in any way? 

 

4.             Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, 

permit, or registration to practice in a regulated profession while under 

investigation or while action was pending against you by any professional 

licensing agency or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 

5.             Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against 

you now by any licensing agency or governmental agency? 

 

6.             Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration or any state drug enforcement agency? 

 

7.             If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would 

you pose a direct threat to yourself, to your clients, or to the public health, safety, 

or welfare because of any circumstance or condition? 

 

8.            Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent 

by reason of mental defect or disease and not restored? 

 

9. _____ Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser 

in any incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?  

 

10. _____ Have you been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse within the 

past five (5) years? 

 

11. _______    Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs 

(including recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or 

distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or 

other applicable state or federal law? 

 

 
(Continued on the next page.) 
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12.             Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or 

distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or 

other applicable state or federal law, for which you have not successfully 

completed or are not now participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation 

program, or for which you have not otherwise been successfully rehabilitated? 

 

13.  _____ Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 

 

14. _____ Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance  or been 

convicted of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?  

Motor vehicle offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be 

disclosed but minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need 

not be listed. 

 

15. _____ Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any 

jurisdiction? 

 

16. _____ Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to 

any criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred sentence)? 

 

17. _____  Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county 

correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on 

probation/parole in any jurisdiction? 

 

If you answered “yes” to questions 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 above, you must submit a 

complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY 

conviction, plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of 

all applicable police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s). 
 

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit 

documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court 

indicating that the information is no longer available. 
 

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed 

by a judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history.  Expungement orders 

must be sent to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the 

expungement to be completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 

               
 

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application 

complete information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been 

reached. 

 

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, the 

Division may request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 
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 Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

Fax:  (801) 530-6511 
 

 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
 

(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.) 

 

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT: 
 

Complete the first section of the form.  Request that the verifying state complete the form and 

mail it directly to DOPL or return it to you for submission with your application. 

 

Applicant’s Name:             

 

Street Address:             

 

City:       State:      Zip:      

 

I am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a:         

 

I am/have been licensed in your state under the name:         

 

My Social Security Number is:           

 

My Date of Birth is: ____/____/____ 

 

My license number in your state is/was:          

 

I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of:      

 

Signature of Qualifier:            

 

Date of Signature:  ____/____/____ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(Continued on the next page.) 
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TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 

 

Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and place the completed 

form in an envelope, seal the envelope and provide it to the applicant in person or by mail.  The 

qualifier will include the verification of licensure with his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   

 

Name of Verifying State:            

 

Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):         

 

Name of Qualifying Person:            

 

Classification of License Issued:           

 

License Number:         Current Status:     

 

Original Date of Licensure: ____/____/____ Expiration Date: ____/____/____ 

 

Continuously Licensed:   

� Yes    � No, please explain:           

 

Licensed By: 

�  Exam, Type:        Date: ____/____/____ 

�  Endorsement, From What State          

 

Examination Scores:             

 

Education Required For Licensure:           

 

Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 

� No     � Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 

 

Signature:         Title:        

 

Agency:              

 

Date of Signature:  ____/____/____ 
 

(SEAL) 

 

 


