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State of Utah 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
Telephone (801) 530-6628 

www.dopl.utah.gov  

  PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT ($180.00 Non Refundable Application Fee) 

  CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE ($100.00 Non Refundable Application Fee) 
  PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT TEMPORARY ($50.00 Non Refundable Application Fee) 

 

(Note: Microsoft Word users can fill in the blanks, print the form and save it for their records) 
 
 

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.*** 
 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Social Security Number:       -      -       Maiden Name:        

I certify under penalty of perjury that: 

  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  
 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach 
a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a legal citizen of the United States.   

 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. 
License/State ID Number:                                   State:    

 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US Drivers License or US State ID. 
Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 

 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

Mailing Address:        

City:        State:     ZIP:        

 Male 
 Female Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in any profession.  (Use 
additional sheets if necessary.) 
Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    
 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

 
 

 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

License/Certificate Number:                     

Date License/Certificate Approved/Denied: ___/___/____ by ___________________________________________________________ 

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:             

                

                

Bureau Manager Review: QQ Yes answers  or   Education  or  Exam         Approve          Deny 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



DOPL-AP-078 Rev 2012-08-22 2

 
 
 

 
 

AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION FOR APPLICANT 
 

1. I certify that am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this application. 
2. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting document(s) is free of 

fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts 
regarding the applicant; and that I will update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application. 

3. I authorize all persons, institutions, organization, schools, governmental agencies, employers, references, or any others not 
specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to 
the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably 
required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my qualifications for 
licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 

4. I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, and apply the requirements 
contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for which you are applying, and that failure to do so 
may result in civil, administrative, or criminal sanctions. 

5. I understand that as holder of a Utah Controlled Substance licensee that I must comply with Utah Code Annotated §58-37f-
401(3). This statute requires me to register with the Controlled Substance Database in order to hold a Utah Controlled Substance 
License. 

Name: _______________________ Position:_______________________ Signature:  __________________________   Date:  _________ 
 
 

 
 
 
 

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT SCHOOL (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

Name of School:       Dates Attended:       To:       

Location:       Date of Graduation:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Name of School:       Dates Attended:       To:       

Location:       Date of Graduation:       
Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Name of School:       Dates Attended:       To:       

Location:       Date of Graduation:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        
 

PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT 

NCCPA, Date(s) Taken:       

 
RECORD OF PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE  
Account for all time periods since graduation from PA school.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

Employer:       Supervisor:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Phone:       Employed From:       To:       

Practice Type and Specialty:       

Employer:       Supervisor:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Phone:       Employed From:       To:       

Practice Type and Specialty:       

Employer:       Supervisor:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Phone:       Employed From:       To:       

Practice Type and Specialty:       

Employer:       Supervisor:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Phone:       Employed From:       To:       

Practice Type and Specialty:       
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IF PRACTICING AS A PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT IN UTAH 
Complete the following for each of your practice sites. (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

Supervising Physician’s Name:             

Supervising Physician’s Utah License Number:           

Specialty:               

Number of PAs supervised (including the applicant): Number of FTE PAs:         

Practice Site(s):               

Type of Practice:               

Percent of Direct Supervision:             

Substitute Supervising Physician’s Name:            

Specialty:          

 

AFFIDAVIT: 

   
I declare under penalty of perjury as follows: 
 
I will be practicing as a physician assistant in Utah.  I have completed a “Delegation of Services Agreement” with my supervising 
physician and have reviewed the agreement with each of my substitute supervising physicians.   
 
A copy of the agreement is on file at each of my Utah practice sites and is available to DOPL upon request.   
 
The agreement defines the working relationship and delegation of duties between me and my supervising physician and includes 
all of the following:  the prescribing of controlled substances; the degree and means of supervision; the frequency and mechanism 
of chart review; procedures addressing situations outside my scope of practice; and procedures for providing backup for me in 
emergency situations. The written criteria were jointly developed by me and my supervising physician and by me and any 
substitute supervising physicians.  The agreement permits me to work under the direction or review of my supervising physician(s) 
to assist in the management of illnesses and injuries common to the physician’s scope of practice. 
 
Signature of Physician Assistant Applicant:      Date: ____/____/____ 
 
Signature of Supervising Physician:       Date: ____/____/____ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
IF NOT PRACTICING AS A PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT IN UTAH 
 
I declare under penalty of perjury as follows: 
 
I will not be practicing as a Physician Assistant in Utah at this time.   
 
If at any future time I choose to practice in Utah, I agree to complete and submit to DOPL a “Notification of Change” form.  I 
understand that I must receive approval from DOPL before I begin practice with the proposed supervisor(s).  I also agree to 
complete a “Delegation of Services Agreement” consistent with Utah law before I begin my practice in Utah.  Said agreement(s) 
will be on file at my Utah practice site(s). 
 
Signature of Applicant:        Date: ____/____/____ 
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UTAH CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 
LAW AND RULES EXAMINATION 

 

This examination is not intended to be difficult.  The purpose of the exam is to bring to your attention specific practice issues you need to 
know in order to avoid violating Utah statute as well as Utah law and rule.  If you are uncertain about any of the questions listed below, 
please refer to the references listed in order to become familiar with Utah’s controlled substance prescribing practices. 

Utah Controlled Substances Act, 58-37 http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-37.pdf 
Utah Controlled Substances Act Rule, R156-37 http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-37.pdf 

 

Answer “True” or “False” for each statement.  Submit this completed examination with your application for licensure. 

 True    False 1. A prescription for a schedule II controlled substance may be filled in a quantity not to exceed a 30 day supply. 

 True    False 

2. A prescription for a schedule III or IV controlled substance may be refilled 5 times within a six month period 
from the issue date of the prescription.   

 True    False 

3. All prescription orders must be signed in ink or indelible pencil to prevent anyone from altering a legitimate 
prescription.   

 True    False 

4. Licensed prescribing practitioners must make their controlled substance stock and records available to DOPL 
personnel for inspection during regular business hours. 

 True    False 

5. All records of purchasing, prescribing, and administering controlled substances must be maintained by the 
licensed prescribing practitioner for at least five years.   

 True    False 

6. The name, address, and DEA registration number of the prescribing practitioner, and the name, address and 
age of the patient are required to be included on the prescription for a controlled substance.   

 True    False 
7. A controlled substance is taken according to the prescriber’s instructions.  A refill may be dispensed after 80% 

of the medication has been consumed.   

 True    False 
8. After the discovery of any theft or loss of a controlled substance, the prescribing practitioner is required to file 

the appropriate forms with the DEA, report the incidence to the local police, and send copies of the filed DEA 
forms to DOPL.   

 True    False 9. The maximum number of controlled substances that can be written on a single prescription form is one.   

 True    False 

10. An emergency verbal prescription order for a schedule II controlled substance requires that the patient be 
under the continuing care of the prescribing practitioner for a chronic disease, the amount of drug prescribed is 
limited to what is needed to adequately treat the patient for no more than 72 hours, and a written prescription 
shall be delivered to the filling pharmacy within 7 working days of the verbal order.   

 True    False 
11. Issuing a prescription for a schedule II or III controlled substance for yourself is considered unprofessional 

conduct and may result in disciplinary action.   

 True    False 

12. A prescribing practitioner is using a schedule IV controlled substance in the treatment of weight reduction for 
obesity.  The practitioner has completed a medical history of the patient, has performed a complete physical 
examination, has ruled out contra-indications, and has determined that the health benefits of treatment greatly 
out-weigh the risks.  An informed consent signed by the patient is also required prior to initiating treatment.   

 True    False 
13. The Division will immediately suspend the Utah controlled substance license if the DEA registration is 

denied, revoked, surrendered, or suspended. 

 True    False 
14. The Division may: refuse to issue a license, refuse to renew a license, or revoke, suspend, restrict, or place on 

probation the license of an individual who does not register with the controlled substance database and take 
the controlled substance tutorial and examination.   

 
 

 
 

QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE 
Read thoroughly, and answer the questions. Do not leave any question blank.   

(Note:  If you have formally expunged a criminal record you do not need to disclose that criminal history.) 
 

 Yes   No 
1. Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice in a regulated 

profession under any name other than the name listed on this application? 

 Yes   No 2. Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination? 

 Yes   No 
3. Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated profession denied, 

conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, reprimanded, or disciplined in any way?  

 Yes   No 
4. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice in a 

regulated profession while under investigation or while action was pending against you by any health care 
profession licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
5. Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you now by any licensing 

agency? 

 Yes   No 
6. Have you ever had hospital or other health care facility privileges denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, 

suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
7. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender hospital or other health care facility privileges, while under 

investigation or while action was pending against you by any licensing agency, hospital or other health care 
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facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 8. Is any action related to your conduct or patient care pending against you now at any hospital or health care facility? 

 Yes   No 
9. Have you ever had rights to participate in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal health care payment 

reimbursement program denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
10. Have you ever been permitted to resign from Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal health care payment 

reimbursement program while under investigation or while action was pending against you by any licensing 
agency, hospital, or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
11.  Is any action pending against you now by Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state or federal health care payment 

reimbursement program? 

 Yes   No 
12.  Have you ever had a federal or state registration to sell, possess, prescribe, dispense, or administer controlled 

substances denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended or revoked in any way by either the federal 
Drug Enforcement Administration or any state drug enforcement agency? 

 Yes   No 
13.  Have you ever been permitted to surrender your registration to sell, possess, prescribe, dispense, or administer 

controlled substances while under investigation or while action was pending against you by any health care 
profession licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
14.  Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement Administration or any state drug 

enforcement agency? 
 Yes   No 15. Have you been named as a defendant in a malpractice suit? 

 Yes   No 
16. Have you ever had office monitoring, practice curtailments, individual surcharge assessments based upon specific 

claims history, or other limitations, restrictions or conditions imposed by any malpractice carrier? 

 Yes   No 
17. Have you ever had any malpractice insurance coverage denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, suspended, or 

revoked in any way? 

 Yes   No 
18.  If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you pose a direct threat to 

yourself, to your patients or clients, or to the public health, safety, or welfare because of any circumstance or 
condition? 

 Yes   No 
19. Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or 

disease and not restored? 

 Yes   No 
20. Have you been terminated, suspended, reprimanded, sanctioned, or asked to leave voluntarily from a position 

because of drug use or abuse within the past five (5) years? 

 Yes   No 
21. Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser in any incident of verbal, 

physical, mental, or sexual abuse?  

 Yes   No 
22. Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including recreational drugs) without a 

valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or 
other applicable state of federal law? 

 Yes   No 23. Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 

 Yes   No 
24. Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been convicted of a misdemeanor in any 

jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?  Motor vehicle offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated 
must be disclosed but minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need not be listed. 

 Yes   No 25. Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
26. Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any criminal charge that was later 

dismissed (i.e. plea-in-abeyance or deferred sentence)? 

 Yes   No 
27. Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county correctional facility or in any 

correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on probation/parole in any jurisdiction? 

 Yes   No 
28. Has any owner, officer, manager, pharmacist, pharmacy technician or medical practitioner associated with or 

employed by the applicant ever had a license, certificate, permit, registration to practice a regulated profession 
denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, reprimanded, or disciplined in any way? 

 If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete information with respect to all circumstances and 
the final result, if such has been reached.  If you answered “yes” to Questions 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 or 29 you must submit a complete 
narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction, plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also 
attach copies of all applicable police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s). 

 

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit documentation on official letterhead from the police 
department and/or court indicating that the information is no longer available. 

 

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal 
history.  Expungement orders must be sent to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the expungement to be completed 
and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 

 

A “Yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, DOPL may request additional documentation if the 
information submitted is insufficient. 
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UTAH PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
LAW AND RULES EXAMINATION 

 

The reference listed after each question is provided to assist you in selecting your response.  The examination is not intended to be 
difficult.  The purpose of the exam is to bring to your attention specific practice issues you need to know in order to avoid violating Utah 
law and rule.  If you are uncertain about any of the questions listed below, please refer to the reference listed in order to become familiar 
with your Utah physician assistant practice. 

Physician Assistant Act, 58-70a  - http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/58-70a.pdf 
Physician Assistant Practice Act Rules, R156-70a - http://dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-70a.pdf 

 

Answer “True” or “False” for each statement.  Submit this completed examination with your application for licensure. 

 True    False 1. A physician can supervise only 4 full time equivalent (FTE) Physician Assistants. 

 True    False 2. A physician assistant’s full time equivalent (FTE) is equal to 2080 hours of staff time for a one-year period. 

 True    False 

3. A supervising physician and his physician assistant have been working together for three months.  The 
supervising physician must review and cosign sufficient numbers of patient charts and medical records to 
ensure that the patient’s health, safety, and welfare will not be adversely compromised..   

 True    False 

4. A physician assistant, while practicing, shall wear an identification badge indicating his/her license 
classification, and not represent his/herself as a physician to the patient. 

 True    False 

5. In accordance with a Delegation of Services Agreement, in order for a physician assistant to prescribe or 
administer a controlled substance, a physician assistant must: 
 hold a Utah controlled Substance license and a DEA registration. 
 prescribe or administer the controlled substance within the prescriptive practice of the supervising 

physician and also within the delegated prescribing delineation. 
 have the supervising physician cosign any medical record of a prescription of a Schedule II or III 

controlled substance. 
 sign the prescription in ink and include his own DEA number on the prescription form. 

 True    False 

6. Unlawful conduct includes engaging in practice as a physician assistant while not under the supervision of a 
supervising physician or substitute, supervising physician. 

 True    False 
7. Unprofessional conduct includes failing to maintain a Delegation of Services Agreement that accurately 

reflects current practices at the practice site. 

 True    False 
8. Unprofessional conduct includes providing sample medications to a patient that does NOT have a legitimate 

medical need for it. 

 True    False 
9. A physician assistant who violates the unlawful conduct provision may be found guilty of a third degree 

felony. 

 True    False 
10. A physician assistant who violates the unlawful conduct provision may be found guilty of a Class A 

misdemeanor. 

 True    False 

11. A physician assistant may provide medical services under the following conditions: 
 if the services fall within the physician assistant’s scope of  skill and competence 
 if the services are provided in the Delegation of Services agreement with the supervising physician 
 if the supervising physician provides the same services 

 True    False 
12. A physician assistant holding a temporary license may work only under the direct supervision of a supervising 

physician 

 True    False 
13. A temporary license may be granted to a physician assistant who has met all of the licensing requirements 

except for passing the examination component. 

 True    False 14. A physician assistant may NOT independently bill a patient for services rendered. 

 True    False 
15. Documentation of completed qualified continuing professional education may be provided by submitting to 

the Division copies of certificates from sponsoring agencies, transcripts of participation on applicable 
letterhead, or a copy of current national certification by NCCPA. 

 True    False 
16. As a condition for licensure renewal, each physician assistant must have completed 40 hours of continuing 

professional education during each two-year licensure cycle. 

 True    False 
17. The minimum length of time that records documenting completion of qualified continuing professional 

education must be kept after the two-year period to which the records pertain is 4 years. 

 True    False 18. A temporary license may only be issued for a maximum of 120 days. 

 True    False 19. A temporary license may not be renewed or extended. 

 True    False 20. The supervising physician cannot be an employee of the physician assistant that s/he supervises. 
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Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
P.O.  Box 146741 
Salt Lake City UT  84114-6741 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.) 

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT:  
Complete the first section of the form and submit it to a state in which you are currently licensed as a physician assistant.  Request 
that the verifying state complete the form and mail it directly to DOPL or return it to you for submission with your application. 

 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Maiden Name:        Social Security Number:       -      -       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Date of Birth:        E-Mail:        Date of Graduation:       

I am requesting licensure in the State of Utah as a Physician Assistant. 

I am/have been licensed in your state under the name:       License nr in your state is/was:       

I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of $       

Signature of Applicant: 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 
 

Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and mail it directly to DOPL, or place the completed form in a 
sealed envelope and provide it to the applicant in person or by mail.  The applicant will include the sealed verification of licensure with 
his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   
 
Name of Verifying State:               

Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):           

Classification of License Issued:              

License Number:         Current Status:         

Original Date of Licensure: ____/____/____  Expiration Date: ____/____/____ 

Continuously Licensed: 
 

 Yes    No, please explain:             
 

Licensed By: 

 Exam, Type:         Date: ___/___/_____ 

 Endorsement: from what state?             

Examination Scores:              

Education Required for Licensure:             

 
Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 

 No    Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 
 
Signature:            
 
Title:             
 
Agency:            
 
Date: ___/___/_____ 
 

 
 
 
 

(SEAL) 
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PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
TEMPORARY LICENSE REQUEST 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT:  

 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Maiden Name:        Social Security Number:       -      -       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Date of Birth:        Date Taking Certifying Exam:       Date Employment to Begin:       

Supervising Physician:       Phone:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Clinic Location:       Phone:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

I hereby certify that I will not practice until I have been granted a temporary license.  Once the temporary license has been issued, I will 
only practice under the direct supervision of my supervising physician or substitute supervising physician. 
 

Signature of Applicant: Date of Signature 

 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN: 
 
Name:                 
 
Address:                
 
City:           State:        Zip:        
 
Telephone:           Utah License Number:      
 
Signature of Supervisor:            Date of Signature: ____/____/____ 
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PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
DELEGATION OF SERVICES AGREEMENT 

KEEP THIS ON SITE AT YOUR FACILITY 
 
 

A Delegation of Services Agreement is to be maintained at each practice site and is to be available to DOPL upon request.  It consists of written criteria jointly 
developed by a physician assistant’s supervising physician and any substitute supervising physicians and the physician assistant that permits a physician assistant, working 
under the direction or review of the supervising physicians, to assist in the management of illnesses and injuries common to the physician’s scope of practice.   

 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Utah License Number of Physician Assistant:       

Supervising Physician:       Utah License Number:       

Substitute Supervising Physician:       Utah License Number:       

Substitute Supervising Physician:       Utah License Number:       

Substitute Supervising Physician:       Utah License Number:       

Name of Facility:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Name of Facility:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        

Name of Facility:       

Mailing Address:        City:        State:     ZIP:        
 

YOU MUST SUBMIT A COMPLETED COPY OF THIS DELEGATION OF SERVICES AGREEMENT WITH YOUR APPLICATION.   
 

YOU DO NOT NEED TO SUBMIT AN UPDATED COPY OF THE DELEGATION OF SERVICES AGREEMENT WHEN YOU HAVE A CHANGE TO YOUR 
SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN 

 
DEGREE AND MEANS OF SUPERVISION:  

 
The supervising Physician shall provide supervision to the physician assistant to adequately serve the health care needs of the practice 
population and ensure that the patient’s health, safety, and welfare will not be adversely compromised.   A physician assistant holding a 
temporary license may work only under 100% direct supervision. 
List the method of immediate consultation whenever the physician assistant is not under the direct supervision of the supervising 
physician:        

List the process and degree of onsite supervision:       
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List the method of supervision when the supervising physician is on vacation:       

 
 

FREQUENCY AND MECHANISM OF CHART REVIEW: 
 
List the method for chart review and co-signatures of the supervising practitioner for supervision. Include the process for chart review and 
co-signatures required:       

 
PRESCRIBING OF CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES: 

 
A physician assistant may prescribe or administer an appropriate controlled substance if the physician assistant holds a current Utah 
controlled substance license covering the appropriate schedules of controlled substances and a current DEA registration covering the 
appropriate schedules of controlled substances; the prescription or administration of the controlled substance is within the prescriptive 
practice of the supervising practitioner and also within the delegated prescribing stated in the delegation of services agreement; and the 
supervising practitioner co-signs any medical chart record of a prescription of a Schedule 2 or Schedule 3 controlled substance made by 
the physician assistant. 
 
In order to prescribe controlled substances, the physician assistant must have obtained his or her own controlled substance license and 
DEA registration.  The physician assistant may not use his or her supervising physician’s controlled substance licenses or DEA 
registrations. 

Please define the process for the physician assistant prescribing controlled substances and expectations:       

 
 

SCOPE OF PRACTICE:  
 

Please define procedures addressing situations outside the physician assistant’s scope of practice:        
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EMERGENCY SITUATIONS: 
  

List procedures for providing backup support for the physician assistant in emergency situations:       
 

 
 

ADDITIONAL CONSIDERATIONS RELATING TO THE PRACTICE: 
 

List any additional items, procedures, and expectations pertinent to the physician assistant at your site:       

 
 
Signature of Physician Assistant:             

Signature Date: ____/____/____ 

 

Signature of Supervising Physician:            

Signature Date: ____/____/____ 

 
Signature of Substitute Supervising Physician:           

Signature Date: ____/____/____ 

NOTE: It is “unprofessional conduct” under the Physician Assistant Practice Act to fail to maintain at the practice site(s) a 
“Delegation of Services Agreement” that accurately reflects current practices; or to fail to make the “Delegation of 
Services Agreement” available to DOPL for review upon request. 
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NCCPA   Request and Authorization for 
     Release of Information 
 

Please type or print.  Duplicate as needed. 
 

Section 1: Identification 
Name:               
 
Address:              
 
City:         State:      Zip:     
 
Daytime Telephone: (_____) _______-__________ Social Security Number:   - -   
 

Section 2: Exam Information 
Indicate for which exam and examination period you’re requesting information.  (Only one request per form.) 
 

 PANCE (Physician Assistant National Certifying Exam) 

 PANRE (Physician Assistant National Recertifying Exam) 

 Pathway II 

 Surgery Exam 

Year:      �Spring  Fall 
 

Section 3: Information Request 
Indicate the nature of this request and the person or agency to which it should be sent. 
 

 Eligibility letter, verifying that you are eligible for and registered to take the above exam 

 Pending letter, verifying that you have taken the above exam and are waiting scores 

 Exam results 
 
(Complete only if different from above.) 
 
Name:               
 
Agency:              
 
Address:              
 
City:         State:       Zip:     
 
Want us to send the information via fax?  If so, please provide the fax number here: (_____)  -   
 

Section 4: Signature and Authorization 
Each state licensing authority sets its own rules and regulations.  NCCPA strives to stay up-to-date on individual state regulations.  
We will send the required information, which may consist of current scores and/or score history, to the agency listed above in 
accordance with the information on state requirement on file with NCCPA. 

I acknowledge that I read and understand the above statement and authorize NCCPA to release all information required by the 
agency listed above. 

 
              
(signature)       (date)  

Mail completed form directly to: 

NCCPA 
12000 Findley Road, Suite 200 
Duluth GA  30097 



DOPL-AP-078 Rev 2012-08-22 18

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

BLANK PAGE 
 

(FOR TWO-SIDED PRINTING) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



DOPL-AP-078 Rev 2012-08-22 19

 
Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
 
 

CERTIFICATION OF COMPLETION 

OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT EDUCATION 
 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT:  
 

Request that the official representative of your accredited physician assistant program complete this form and return it to you for 
submission with your application.    
 
Applicant Name:             
 
Street Address:             
 
City:          State:     Zip:     
 
Social Security Number:       Date of Graduation: ____/____/____ 
 
 
 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE ACCREDITED PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT PROGRAM OFFICIAL 
REPRESENTATIVE: 
 
Name of Institution:             
 
Location of Institution:            
 
Telephone of Institution:            
 
Date of Accreditation: ____/____/____ 
 
Accredited By:             
 
I attest that the above named applicant attended this physician assistant program from _____/_____/______ to 
_____/_____/_____ and graduated on _____/_____/_____. 
 
Signature of Official Program Representative:         
 
Title:               
  
Signed and the school seal affixed this    day of   , 20  . 
 
(School Seal) 
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PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
 

 
Attachment Check List (Applications with incomplete attachments will 
not be considered and may be denied.) 

 

 Complete and submit the Controlled Substance Law and Rule Examination included with this application. 

 Complete Utah Physician Assistant Law and Rules Exam (take-home, submit with application) 

 Complete and submit the Qualifying Questionnaire (submit with application) 

 Complete and submit a copy Delegation of Services Agreement (Submit with application. The original must be posted at each site you 
provide services.) 

Education Requirement:   

 

Submit an official transcript from a Physician Assistant school accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission 
on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA), which includes your date of graduation and degree earned. 
Have the school send the transcript directly to DOPL. You may also have the school send the transcript to you for 
inclusion with your application so long as it is in a sealed envelope, bearing the school’s stamp/seal on the envelope 
flap; or 

 

 

Submit a “Certification of Completion of Physician Assistant Education” form (attached to this application) from a 
Physician Assistant school accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician 
Assistant (ARC-PA), completed by an official representative of your accredited physician assistant program. You 
may also have the school send the form to you for inclusion with your application so long as it is in a sealed 
envelope, bearing the school’s stamp/seal on the envelope flap. 

Submit application Fees  

 Physician Assistant  ($180.00 Non Refundable Application Fee) 
Controlled Substance ($100.00 Non Refundable Application Fee) 

Physician Assistant  Temporary ($50.00 Non Refundable Application Fee) 

 
 
1. Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record under the Utah Government 

Records Access and Management Act.  If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 
 
2. Address of Record:  The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. You are responsible to 

directly notify DOPL of any change to your address of record.   
 
3. Laws and Rules:  You are required to understand Utah laws and rules pertaining to your practice. The following laws 

and rules are available on the Internet at www.dopl.utah.gov: 
 

4. Controlled Substance License:  You must hold a Utah controlled substance license AND a federal DEA registration to 
administer, possess, or prescribe a controlled substance in your practice in Utah.   
 

5. DEA Registration:  For DEA registration information, contact the Drug Enforcement Administration, Salt Lake District 
Office, 348 East South Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84088.  Telephone (801) 524-4389. 

 
6. Acceptable Forms of Payment: Licensure fees can be paid by check or money order, made payable to “DOPL.” Cash 

and debit/credit cards (American Express, MasterCard, and Visa) are also accepted in person at DOPL’s main office – but not over 
the telephone. 

 
7. Mail Complete Application to: 

 

By U.S.  Mail 
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
P.O.  Box 146741 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

By Express Mail 
or In Person 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 
1st Floor Lobby 
160 E 300 S 
Salt Lake City UT  84111-2305 

 
8. Telephone Numbers: (801) 530-6628 

(866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 


