STATE OF UTAH
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

REPLACEMENT OF QUALIFYING AGENT
BURGLAR ALARM COMPANY

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

General Statement: The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) desires
to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure. To facilitate the application
process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting documents and
fees. Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary information will delay
processing and may result in denial of licensure. The fees are for processing your application and will
not be refunded. Please read all instructions carefully.

Address of Record: The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. All
correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address. You are responsible to directly notify DOPL
of any change to your address of record. Do not rely on a forwarding order.

Social Security Number: Your social security number is classified as a private record under the Utah
Government Records Access and Management Act. It is used by DOPL as an individual identifier. It
is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is mandatory
pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 666(a) (13). If an
SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES:

1. Submit the original letters from DOPL’s approved examination provider verifying that the
qualifying agent has passed the Utah examinations for (1) Burglar Alarm Company Qualifier
and (2) Burglar Alarm Security Law and Rules. For examinations taken prior to January 1,
2008, the approved provider was Thomson Prometric; for examinations taken after that date,
the approved provider is PSI.

2. Submit fingerprints for the qualifying agent. The fingerprints are to be used by DOPL for a
fingerprint search through the files of the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the
Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). “See fingerprint information under Additional
Important Information.”
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Submit the “Verification of Qualifying Experience” form (attached to this application). This form is
to be filled out by each of your employers and submitted with your application. All experience
must be obtained legally within the past ten (10) years as a W2 employee and working as an
alarm company agent for an alarm company (W2 documentation required). No more than 2,000
hours of work experience can be claimed in a year. Alarm work experience must total 6,000
hours and 2,000 of these hours are to be in a managerial, supervisory, or an administrative
position. Also, other acceptable work experience includes 6,000 hours of alarm work
experience combined with 2,000 hours (8,000 hours total) of managerial, supervisory, or
administrative experience in a lawfully operated construction company.

Submit a copy a driver’s license issued by Washington D.C., a state of the United States of
America or an identification card issued by the state of Utah for the qualifying agent. Note: The
copy of the driver’s license/Utah ID, including the number, must be clear and readable.

Submit a $50.00 non-refundable application-processing fee for the replacement of the
qualifying agent, made payable to “DOPL.”

Submit a combined $40.00 non-refundable surcharge for a $20.00 BCI fingerprint file search
and a $20.00 FBI fingerprint file search for the qualifying agent.

NOTE: If the qualifying agent is currently licensed in Utah as an alarm company agent and the license

is in good standing, the requirements in the above paragraph may be unnecessary. The license
information, however, must be included in the application on the appropriate page.

ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION:

1.
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Examinations: There are no endorsement or reciprocity agreements with other states. All
applicants are required to test. The applicant must pass both the Utah Burglar Alarm Company
Qualifier Examination and the Utah Burglar Alarm Security Law and Rules Examination.
There is a thirty day waiting period between the first three test failures. After these three test
failures, the waiting time between each test failure is six months. Applicants in order to
register for the examinations must apply directly to PSI Examination Services at
www.psiexams.com or 1-800-733-9267.

Examination Fees: There are separate fees for all examinations. It is the responsibility of the
applicant to submit the fees directly to the testing agency.

Current Documents: Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed. Go to
www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents.
The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at www.dopl.utah.gov:

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act

General Rules of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
Burglar Alarm Security and Licensing Act

Burglar Alarm Security and Licensing Act Rules
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4. Fingerprint Information: Fingerprints are required for the qualifying agent and the qualifying
agent is required to undergo a criminal background check and fingerprint search through the
files of the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation
(FBD).

Only an initial license will be issued. Fingerprint cards that are not complete and/or properly
rolled will be rejected, delaying the licensure process. Due to the high number of inked
fingerprint cards that are rejected and the amount of time it takes state and federal
government agencies to process these cards, applicants are encouraged at the time of
application to have their fingerprints electronically scanned at DOPL.

To expedite the licensure process, you can obtain electronic fingerprinting at DOPL’s offices
(160 E. 300 S., Salt Lake City), 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except
holidays. The cost for having fingerprints electronically scanned by DOPL is covered in the
$40 non-refundable surcharge fee as outlined on page 2, paragraph 6. Applicants that arrive late
in the day without leaving sufficient time to be processed will be turned away. A current
government issued picture identification of one of the following is required: a driver’s license
issued by Washington D.C., a state of the United States of America or an identification card
issued by the state of Utah.

OR

If you are unable to obtain electronic fingerprints at DOPL’s office, you must include two (2)
blue fingerprint cards (Form FD-258) with your application. To have your fingerprints
rolled onto the blue fingerprint cards, you must go to BCI or a local police station.
Fingerprints cards can be obtained from the agency that rolled your fingerprints.

BUREAU OF CRIMINAL IDENTIFICATION (BCI) INFORMATION:
e Check with BCI for pricing of their services
e Walk-ins only; no appointments taken
e Fingerprinting and Photo Services are available from 8:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m., Monday -
Friday except holidays
Government-issued picture ID required (driver’s license, state ID, passport, etc.)
Website: www.bci.utah.gov
Phone: (801) 965-4569
Address: 3888 W. 5400 S., Taylorsville, UT 84118
(1/2 block west of Bangerter Highway, behind McDonalds)

REVIEW OF YOUR FBI RECORD: If you wish to challenge the accuracy of the
information in your FBI record, you should contact the agency that contributed the information
in question. You may also direct the challenge to the FBI, Criminal Justice Information
Services (CJIS) Division, Attn. SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV
26306. The FBI will forward the challenge to the respective agency.
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5. Application Processing: Processing time for an application, where the fingerprints have been
electronically scanned by DOPL and there are no issues that need to be resolved, is
approximately two weeks. An applicant can “not” begin working in the Burglar Alarm
business until the proper license(s) has been issued by DOPL.

6. Registration with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code: A business
entity is required to be registered with the Utah Division of Corporations. A sole proprietorship
is not required to register with the Utah Division of Corporations and the license for a sole
proprietorship is issued in the individual’s name.

Be advised, a new license is required if the business entity is dissolved by merging into a new
partnership, corporation, or other business entity. Pursuant to Subsection 58-1-308(2) (¢), a
license automatically expires prior to the expiration date shown on the license...upon the
dissolution of a licensee that is a partnership, corporation, or other business entity.

7. Name Change: If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please submit
documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree).

8. Updating Address Information: It is your responsibility to maintain a current address with
DOPL. If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other
correspondence. Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov.

9. Acceptable Forms of Payment: Licensure fees can be paid by check or money order, made
payable to “DOPL.” Cash and debit/credit cards (4merican Express, MasterCard, and Visa) are also
accepted in person at DOPL’s main office — but not over the telephone.

10. Submit Completed Application to:
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By U.S. Mail |P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City UT 84114-6741
Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing
By Express Mail | 1% Floor Lobby
or In Person 160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City UT 84111-2305

1. Telephone Numbers: (801) 530-6628
(866) 275-3675 — Toll-free in Utah

12. Fax Number: (801) 530-6511
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APPLICATION FOR
Replacement of Qualifier for a Burglar Alarm Company

Name on License of Alarm Company:

License Number:

Name of Qualifying Agent Being Replaced:

License Number of Qualifying Agent Being Replaced:

Company Mailing Address:

City: State:

Phone #: E-Mail:

CONTACT PERSON FOR LICENSING PURPOSES:

Full Name: Title:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip:
Phone #: E-Mail:

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY

License/Certificate Number:

Date License/Certificate Approved:  / /

Approved By:

Date License/Certificate Denied:  /  /
Denied By:

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:
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QUALIFYING AGENT:
***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.***

Last Name: First Name: Middle Name:

Social Security Number: - - Maiden Name:

I certify under penalty of perjury that:
[ ] Iam a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.
License/State ID Number: ___ State: __

[] Iam a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers License
or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a legal
citizen of the United States.

[ ] Iam anon-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers
License or US State ID.

License/State ID Number: State: __

[ ] I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US
Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document
showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States.

[ ] Iam a foreign national not physically present in the United States.

Mailing Address:

City: State: ZIP:
L | Male Date of Birth: Phone #: E-Mail:

[ ] Female

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in
any profession. (Use additional sheets if necessary.)

Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:
Profession: Issuing State:

License Number: License Status: | Issue Date:

Relationship of Qualifying Agent to Burglar Alarm Company: (Check all that apply.)

U Officer U Director U Partner
U Proprietor U Manager

W2 Documentation Attached: [ Yes [ No

Examination Requirement:
U Utah Burglar Alarm Company Qualifier Examination, Date(s) Passed: / / Score:
O Utah Burglar Alarm Security Law and Rules Exam, Date(s) Passed: / / Score:
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION

1. I certify that I am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this application.

2. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its supporting
document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is truthful, correct, and
complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will update or correct the
application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.

3. Tauthorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers,
references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth
directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably required for the
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my qualifications for
licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah.

4. Tunderstand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, and
apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for
which [ am applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, administrative, or criminal sanctions.

Signature of Applicant: Date of Signature: /
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BLANK PAGE

(FOR TWO-SIDED PRINTING)
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BURGLAR ALARM COMPANY QUALIFYING AGENT
QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE

Answer “yes” or “no” for each question. Do not leave any question blank.
Yy q y

1. Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to
practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on this
application?

2. Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?

3. Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated

profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked,
reprimanded, or disciplined in any way?

4. Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, permit, or
registration to practice in a regulated profession while under investigation or while
action was pending against you by any professional licensing agency or criminal or
administrative jurisdiction?

5. Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you
now by any licensing agency or governmental agency?

6. Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement
Administration or any state drug enforcement agency?

7. If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you
pose a direct threat to yourself, to your clients, or to the public health, safety, or welfare
because of any circumstance or condition?

8. Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by
reason of mental defect or disease and not restored?

9. Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser in any
incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?

10. Have you ever been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse?

11. Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including
recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is
unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state or federal
law?

(Continued next page.)
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12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or
distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other
applicable state or federal law, for which you have not successfully completed or are not
now participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation program, or for which you have not
otherwise been successfully rehabilitated?

Do you currently have any criminal action pending?

Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been convicted
of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years? Motor vehicle
offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed but minor
traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need not be listed.

Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any
jurisdiction?

Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any
criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred sentence)?

Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county
correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on
probation/parole in any jurisdiction?

If you answered “yes” to questions 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 above, you must submit a
complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction,
plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of all applicable
police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s).

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit
documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court indicating that
the information is no longer available.

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a
judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history. Expungement orders must be sent
to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the expungement to be
completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records.

If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete
information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been reached.

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, DOPL may
request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient.
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Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

VERIFICATION
OF QUALIFYING EXPERIENCE

PART 1-TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT:

Last Name: Maiden Name:

First Name: Full Middle Name:

Qualifying Agent Requirements: W2 documentation is required to verify work experience and is to be submitted
with the application. All experience must be obtained legally within the past ten (10) years as a W2 employee
and working as an alarm company agent for an alarm company. No credit will be given for work experience
obtained illegally. No more than 2,000 hours of work experience can be claimed in a year. Additionally, alarm
work experience must total 6, 000 hours and 2,000 of these hours are to be in a managerial, supervisory, or
administrative position. Also, other acceptable work experience includes 6,000 hours of alarm work experience
combined with 2,000 hours (8,000 hours total) of managerial, supervisory, or administrative experience in a
lawfully operated construction company. (Burglar Alarm Licensing Rule R156-55d-102 and 302c.)

An affidavit must be filled out for each employer.

Dates Employed: from / / to / /

Note: If the work experience is less than full time, calculate the number of months equivalent to full
time employment at a rate of 40 hours per week.

Total Work Hours Worked:

Name of Employer:

Address: City: State: Zip:

Phone Number(s):

E-mail Address:

Describe type of work performed:
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Use Additional Sheets if Necessary

Applicant Signature:

DOPL-AP-100 Rev 2012-03-15

Date:

/ /

(Continued next page)
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PART 2 - TO BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL REPRESENTATIVE OF THE BURGLAR
ALARM COMPANY / CONSTRUCTION COMPANY: Review the description of the applicant’s
duties as provided by the applicant in Part I of this form. Complete the information requested in Part 11
and return the completed signed form - in a sealed envelope - to the applicant for submission with his/her
license application.

Burglar Alarm Company / Construction Company Name:

Company License Number:

State/Municipality Issuing:
Phone Number(s) for Issuing Agency:

License Classification:

Issue Date of License: / / Expiration Date of License: / /

1. Is the description of the applicant’s work experience correct? 1 Yes W No

2. Would you recommend the applicant be licensed as a Burglar Alarm Company Qualifying

Agent? U Yes U No Ifno, please explain. Attach additional pages if necessary.

3. Position applicant held with your company? :

4. What is the basis of your knowledge of the applicant’s knowledge, ability, and competence to

practice?

I have reviewed ALL the information on this document and attest that to the best of my knowledge the
information concerning the burglar alarm company / construction company I represent is accurate and
truthful.

Verifying Burglar Alarm Company / Construction Company Representative

Name: Title:
Verifier’s License Number: State of Licensure:
Verifier’s Signature: Date: / /
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