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STATE OF UTAH 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
 

VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION COUNSELOR 
 

 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 

 

General Statement:  The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) 

desires to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure.  To facilitate the 

application process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting 

documents and fees.  Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary 

information will delay processing and may result in denial of licensure.  The fees are for 

processing your application and will not be refunded.  Please read all instructions carefully. 
 

Address of Record:  The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. 

All correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address.  You are responsible to directly 

notify DOPL of any change to your address of record.  Do not rely on a forwarding order. 
 

Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record under the 

Utah Government Records Access and Management Act.  It is used by DOPL as an individual 

identifier.  It is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and 

is mandatory pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 

666(a)(13).  If an SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 

 

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES: 
 

 

1. Submit an official college transcript as verification of a master’s degree in 

rehabilitation counseling or related field.  A related field includes any of the 

following: psychology, clinical psychology, counseling psychology, professional 

guidance and counseling, social work, educational counseling, educational 

psychology with rehabilitation counseling emphasis, special education with 

rehabilitation counseling emphasis, or any other field deemed substantially related 

to the practice of rehabilitation counseling by the Board and Division. 
 

Have the school mail your transcript to DOPL or you may include the transcript 

along with your application for licensure.  To be “official” the transcript must bear 

the school seal and be enclosed in a sealed envelope from the school.  The 

school’s seal/stamp must also be on the flap of the sealed envelope. 
  

2. Submit verification of having completed 4,000 hours of disability related work 

experience under the supervision of an individual who is currently licensed as a 

vocational rehabilitation counselor. 
 

3. Submit verification of passing the Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Exam. 

 

4. Submit completed application form. 
 

5. Submit a $70.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to 

“DOPL.”  
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ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION: 
 

1.  Laws and Rules: You are required to understand all Utah laws and rules pertaining to 

your practice. The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at 

www.dopl.utah.gov: 
 

• Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act 

• General Rule of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

• Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors Licensing Act 

• Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors Act Rule 

 

2. Other Examinations: To obtain information regarding the Certified Rehabilitation 

Counselor (CRC) Examination you may contact the CRCC at www.crccertification.com 

or by phone at (847) 944-1325. 
 

3. Examination Fees: There are separate fees for all examinations.  It is the responsibility 

of the applicant to submit the fees directly to the testing agency.  
 

4. Code of Ethics:  Vocational rehabilitation counselors are required to abide by the Code 

of Ethics of the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification.  
 

5. Current Documents:  Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed.  

Go to www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents. 

 

6. Endorsement:  The Division may issue a license to an individual who is licensed in 

another state or jurisdiction to practice vocational rehabilitation counseling if the Division 

finds that the other state or jurisdiction has substantially the same or higher licensure 

requirements as this state.  If seeking license by endorsement, follow instructions 

provided in the “Request Verification of License” form attached to this application.  
 

7. Continuing Education:  Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors must complete a 

minimum of twenty (20) hours of continuing education (CE) during the annual license 

renewal period commencing April 1 of each year beginning in 2011.  A minimum of two 

(2) hours must be completed in ethics/law.  This requirement is pro rated for new 

licensees.  For additional continuing education information, refer to the Vocational 

Rehabilitation Counselor Licensing Act Rule, R156-78-304 Continuing Education, 

available at www.dopl.utah.gov. 
 

8. License Renewal – Licensed Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor:  All vocational 

rehabilitation counselor licenses expire on April 1 each year beginning in 2011. 
 

Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s 

date of initial licensure.  Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession 

expire as a group on the same day.  Therefore, the length of a licensee’s first renewal 

cycle depends on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was obtained.  

Each renewal cycle thereafter is a full year.   
 

Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing 

fee only.  It does not include a renewal fee.  Each licensee is responsible to renew 

licensure PRIOR to the expiration date shown on the current license.  Approximately two 

months prior to the expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is 

disseminated by DOPL to each licensee’s last address of record, as provided to DOPL. 
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9. Updating Address Information:  It is your responsibility to maintain a current address 

with DOPL.  If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other 

correspondence.  Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov. 
 

10. Name Change:  If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please submit 

documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree). 
 

11. Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure:  After obtaining your license from DOPL, you can 

order a Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure, printed on parchment paper with original 

signatures and an embossed gold seal. Order forms can be obtained at www.dopl.utah.gov. 

 

12. Submit Completed Application to: 

By U.S.  Mail 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

P.O.  Box 146741 

Salt Lake City UT  84114-6741 

By Express Mail 

or In Person 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

1st Floor Lobby 

160 E 300 S 

Salt Lake City UT  84111-2305 

 

13. Telephone Numbers:  (801) 530-6628  

(866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah 

 

14. Email:  doplbureau3@utah.gov 
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
 

 VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION COUNSELOR 

 VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION COUNSELOR BY 

ENDORSEMENT (If currently licensed in another state) 

 

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.*** 
 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Social Security Number:       -      -       Maiden Name:        

I certify under penalty of perjury that: 
  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  

 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    
 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers License 

or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a legal 

citizen of the United States.   
 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers 

License or US State ID. 

License/State ID Number:                                   State:    
 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US 

Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document 

showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 
 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

Mailing Address:        

City:        State:     ZIP:        

 Male 

 Female 
Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in 

any profession.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

 

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

License/Certificate Number:              

Date License/Certificate Approved: ___/___/____ 

Approved By:                

Date License/Certificate Denied: ___/___/____ 

Denied By:                

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:             
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
 

1. I certify that I am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this application. 

2. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its 

supporting document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is 

truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will 

update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.  

3. I authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers, 

references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth 

directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and Professional 

Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably required for the 

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my qualifications for 

licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 

4. I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, understand, and 

apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the occupation or profession for 

which I am applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, administrative, or criminal sanctions. 
 

Signature of Applicant:  ________________________________   Date of Signature:  ___ /___ /______ 
 

 

 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT 
 

Answer “Yes” or “No.” 
 

______ Passing of the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC) Exam 

If you answered “Yes”, please submit a copy of the CRCC certificate showing your 

CRCC certification number. If you answered “No”, do not submit the application at this 

time. You must pass the CRCC exam before submitting an application and obtaining a 

license.   

 
 

EDUCATION REQUIREMENT (Attach additional sheets if necessary.) 

School Name:              

Location:             

Dates Attended:     To    Date of Graduation: ___/___/___ 

Degree Received:            

School Name:              

Location:             

Dates Attended:     To    Date of Graduation: ___/___/___ 

Degree Received:            
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VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION COUNSELOR 

QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE 
 

Answer “yes” or “no” for each question.  Do not leave any question blank. 
 

1.             Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration 

to practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on 

this application? 

 

2.            Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?  

  

3.            Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a 

regulated profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, 

revoked, reprimanded, or disciplined in any way? 

 

4.             Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, 

permit, or registration to practice in a regulated profession while under 

investigation or while action was pending against you by any health care 

professional licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or 

administrative jurisdiction? 

 

5.             Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against 

you now by any licensing or governmental agency? 

 

6.               Have you ever had hospital or other health care facility privileges denied, 

conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 

7.             Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender hospital or other health care 

facility privileges, while under investigation or while action was pending against 

you by any licensing agency, hospital or other health care facility, or criminal or 

administrative jurisdiction? 

 

8.             Is any action related to your conduct or patient care pending against you now at 

any hospital or health care facility? 

 

9.             Have you ever had rights to participate in Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state 

or federal health care payment reimbursement program denied, conditioned, 

curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 

10.             Have you ever been permitted to resign from Medicaid, Medicare, or any other 

state or federal health care payment reimbursement program while under 

investigation or while action was pending against you by any licensing agency, 

hospital, or other health care facility, or criminal or administrative jurisdiction? 

           

11.             Is any action pending against you now by Medicaid, Medicare, or any other state 

or federal health care payment reimbursement program? 

 

12.             Have you been named as a defendant in a malpractice suit? 

 

(Continued On the Next Page) 
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13.             Have you ever had office monitoring, practice curtailments, individual surcharge 

assessments based upon specific claims history, or other limitations, restrictions, 

or conditions imposed by any malpractice carrier?  

 

14.             Have you ever had any malpractice insurance coverage denied, conditioned, 

curtailed, limited, suspended, or revoked in any way? 

 

15.             If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would 

you pose a direct threat to yourself, to your patients or clients, or to the public 

health, safety, or welfare because of any circumstance or condition? 

 

16.            Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent 

by reason of mental defect or disease and not restored? 

 

17. _____ Have you been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse within the 

past five (5) years? 

 

18.             Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs 

(including recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or 

distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or 

other applicable state or federal law? 

 

19.             Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or 

distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or 

other applicable state or federal law, for which you have not successfully 

completed or are not now participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation 

program, or for which you have not otherwise been successfully rehabilitated? 

 

20. _____ Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser 

in any incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?  

 

21.  _____ Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 

 

22. _____ Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been 

convicted of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?  

Motor vehicle offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be 

disclosed but minor traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need 

not be listed. 

 

23. _____ Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any 

jurisdiction? 

 

24. _____ Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to 

any criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred 

sentence)? 

 

25. _____  Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county 

correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on 

probation/parole in any jurisdiction? 

(Continued On the Next Page) 
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 If you answered “yes” to questions 21, 22, 23, 24, or 25 above, you must submit a 

complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY 

conviction, plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of 

all applicable police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s). 

 

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit 

documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court indicating 

that the information is no longer available. 

 

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed 

by a judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history.  Expungement orders 

must be sent to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the 

expungement to be completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 

               

 

 If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application 

complete information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been 

reached. 

 

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, the 

Division may request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 
 

VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE 

AS A VOCATIONAL REHABILITATION COUNSELOR 
    

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY VOCATIONAL REHABILIATION COUNSELOR 

SUPERVISOR 

 

Name of Applicant:              

Name of  Supervisor:             

Supervisor’s License Type and License #:           

Name of Employer:              

Employer Address:              

City:         State:     Zip:     

Telephone:        Email:        

Describe the applicant’s employment setting:  (private practice, governmental entity, nonprofit and 
charitable corporation, school, college, university, licensed health facility or other)  

              

 

              

 

              

 

Dates applicant was employed as a vocational rehabilitation counselor with this agency:  

from  / /  to  / /  

 

In the past two years has the applicant been engaged in practice of vocational rehabilitation 

counseling and/or services for at least 4,000 hours?  �  Yes   � No 

 

What was the applicant’s schedule?  �  Full-time   � Part-time  

Is the applicant still employed with agency?  � Yes  � No  
 

If no, is the applicant re-hirable?  � Yes  � No  

 

This document is proof that the applicant has been actively engaged in the lawful practice of 

vocational rehabilitation counseling and/or services for not less than 4,000 hours. 

Name:           Title:       

 

Signature: ___________________________________________ 

 

Date of Signature: ___/___/___ 
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

Fax:  (801) 530-6511 
 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
 

(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.) 

 

PART 1 – TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT: 

 

Complete the first section of the form and submit it to the state that is verifying information for 

you. Request that the verifying state complete the form and return it to you for submission with 

your application.  If a verifying state insists on submitting the verification directly to DOPL, 

indicate that fact in the appropriate section of the application.  

 

Applicant Name:             

 

Street Address:             

 

City:               

 

State:    Zip:      

 

I am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a         

 

I am/have been licensed in your state under the name        

 

My social security number is            

 

My date of birth is ___/___/___ 

 

My license number in your state is/was           

 

I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of $      

 

Signature of Applicant:            

 

Date of Signature: ___/___/___ 

 

 

 

 

 

(Continued on the next page.) 
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PART 2 – TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 

 

Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and mail or fax it directly 

to DOPL or place the completed form in an envelope, seal the envelope and provide it to the 

applicant in person or by mail.  The applicant will include the verification of licensure with 

his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   

 

Name of Verifying State:            

 

Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):        

 

Classification of License Issued:           

 

License Number:         Current Status:     

 

Original Date of Licensure: ___/___/___  Expiration Date: ___/___/___ 

 

Continuously Licensed: 
 

 � Yes   � No, please explain:          

 

Licensed By: 
 

�  Exam, Type:         Date: ___/___/___ 

 

� Endorsement: from what state?          

   

� Waiver:             

 

Examination Scores:            

 

Education Required For Licensure:          

 

Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 

 

� No � Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 

 

Signature:         Title:        

 

Agency:              

 

Date of Signature: ___/___/___ 

 

(SEAL) 
 


