
 

 

 

Hello again, and welcome to another edition of the Utah Licensing Board Newsletter! 

Since license renewal time has recently come and gone, and a few questions have 
come up regarding the relatively new requirement for continuing education in the 
state of Utah, it seems timely to discuss this topic in a bit closer detail.   

Here’s the deal - during the two year period, ending in March 31st of every even 
numbered year, all licensees must have completed 16 hours of Continuing Education 
(CE).  If you received your initial license during the current renewal cycle, your required 
hours of CE are prorated for only the time you were actually licensed.  As per Section 
R-156-3a-304 of the Architect Licensing Act Rule, this continuing education must be 
“directly related to topics involving the public health, safety, and welfare of 
architectural practice…”  There are a number of other specifics relating to special 
circumstances, for example how to count hours spent teaching in an accredited 
architectural program at the university level, so please refer to the entire Section 304 
for more detailed information: http://www.dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-3a.pdf 

You probably noticed that when you renew your license, you are not asked to submit 
proof of your CE hours – instead, a percentage of those renewing are audited, which 
means you may or may not be asked to provide the proof.  Eligible proofs include 
certificates indicating completion of HSW qualifying hours from formally accredited 
providers.  The next article offers suggestions for a number of ways to get these hours 
and the accompanying certificates.  Those of you who are AIA members can simply 
attach the transcript from your continuing education record accessible on the member 
side of the AIA.org website as eligible proof of compliance. And there’s good news for 
all of you overachievers!  If you exceed the 16 hours of qualified continuing 
professional education during the two year period, you can carry forward a maximum 
of 8 hours of qualified continuing professional education into the next two year period. 

So what happens if you do not complete your required continuing education? It’s 
pretty simple - any licensee who fails to complete the continuing professional 
education hours required by Rule156 shall be required to complete double the 
number of hours missed to be eligible for reinstatement of licensure.  And note - 
additional fees are required if you allow your license to expire! 

There are SO many ways to get qualifying continuing education credits!  Many of them 
are inexpensive or free, which, in this economy, can be pretty important.  Some are 
really easy and convenient, but involve more financial output.  Listed below are some 
ideas to fulfill your CE requirement for licensure, and they are all WAY easier than 
having to pursue license reinstatement! 
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Here are a few ideas:  

1. Go to an architectural design conference, and attend seminars providing HSW hours.  If you are a member 
of the AIA, your transcript will be credited with the CE units for the sessions you attend; if you are not an 
AIA member, you can request that a certificate documenting your attendance be sent to you.  This option is 
probably the most costly, depending on where you have to travel, the cost of the conference, and the days 
you spend away from your practice (i.e., unbillable hours!)  On the other hand, it’s a great way to renew 
your excitement and enthusiasm for our wonderful profession! 

2. Grab a copy of Architectural Record Magazine, or better yet, go online to ce.architecturalrecord.com .  
There are tons of educational articles that you can read, followed by a 10 question test.  If you can score 8 
out of 10 correct answers – you get a free continuing ed unit!  And yes, most of the quizzes qualify for HSW 
hours. (Note that if you opt to do the quiz as a paper and pencil test, and fax it in, they do charge you $10.)  
Or log on to architect-forum.com and click on “continuing ed”– this site provides registered courses for 
free, with the same type of testing results for credit as the Architectural Record site.  Yet another site for 
free online courses is MTIdry.com (Masonry Technology, Inc.)  In fact, there are even more – try googling 
“free architectural CEU” and you will have a wide variety of options. 

3. Let a vendor with a certified course come into your office and present it – not only will you learn 
something, usually they bring food too!  Just make sure that the course offering is certified as providing 
HSW hours, and ask for a certificate to be mailed to you if you are not an AIA member. 

4. Our local AIA chapter offers a selection of qualified programs, either free or involving a nominal charge, 
throughout the year.  Check for upcoming programs at aiautah.org in the “upcoming events” box. It’s a 
great way to meet your local colleagues as well as learning something useful. 

5. Attendance at any other type of conference or seminar sponsored by other organizations such as the ABC 
or ICC or many others is another great option!  ICC classes usually report attendance directly to the AIA and 
their classes always offer HSW credits.  If the organization does not report directly, you can self-report your 
attendance. 

6. Three hours per two year period can be earned for preparation of papers, articles, or books directly related 
to the practice of architecture and submitted for publication. 

7. Eight hours per two year period may be recognized for teaching in a college or university or for teaching 
qualified continuing professional education courses in the field of architecture, provided it is the first time 
the material has been taught during the preceding 12 months. 

 
Hopefully this gives all of you some novel and creative ideas on how to fulfill the requirements for licensure 
in Utah. . . 

 

Is pretending to be an architect illegal?  The answer is yes.  It is illegal to call yourself an architect or to perform 
architectural services if you are not licensed.  Most states, including Utah, have laws that protect the use of the 
title “architect”.  The purpose of these laws is to protect the health, safety and welfare of the public.   

 

"Why couldn't you make me an architect? You know I always wanted to pretend 
that I was an architect." – George Costanza, fictional character in the television sitcom 
Seinfeld 

  

There are several reasons why someone would illegally use the term architect.  The first and 
most common reason is ignorance of the law.  It is estimated that 75% of the cases are 

unlicensed “architects” – hint: there’s no such thing 



 

people who have no knowledge of the law.  The remaining 25% are people who are aware of the law but 
operating on the edge.  Then there are a handful of out-right fraudulent cases.  Usually a letter of warning sent 
to the offending party explaining the protected title of architect will take care of most cases.  Some states may 
issue a cease-and-desist order.  Other cases may involve fines and jail time.  The following are several recent 
examples of actions taken by architect licensing boards around the country: 

 A small business that specializes in custom-designed backyards named Backyard Architect was fined 
for violating the State’s Architect’s Practice Act.   

 An architecture school professor, who does not hold a license, using the phrase “as an architect, I . . .” 
in a newspaper article was issued a cease-and desist order.   

 A firm of unlicensed home designers who had strayed from designing single-family homes into the 
multi-family market was fined. 

 The publisher of a web-site that advertised being an architect before an actual license was obtained 
was fined. 

Many states are seeing a rise in the number of cases of unlicensed, self pronounced “architects”.  A portion of 
this trend can be attributed to the recent down-turn in the economy.  With the housing market slump, many 
unlicensed home designers are getting into other building types that require a license.  Or it can also be that 
licensed architects are becoming more vigilant about reporting those infringing on the law because they are 
personally looking for any project they can get.  Basically, there are not enough projects out there to keep 
everyone happy. 

Offenses in the State of Utah generally include those who let a current license lapse, start work on a project in 
another state before the correct license is obtained, or draftsmen or home designers who wander into territory 
that is out of their legal right.  Currently the penalty for unlicensed practice in Utah is up to $1000 for a first 
offense, up to $2,000 for a second offense, and $2,000 for any subsequent offense.  There may also be 
criminal penalties that apply to these offenses.  The Utah Architect Licensing Act defines unlawful conduct as: 

 Engaging in unlicensed practice or using a title that would cause a reasonable person to believe the 
user was a licensed architect. 

 Engaging in, or representing one’s self as engaged in the practice of architecture as a corporation, 
proprietorship, partnership, or limited liability company. 

 Impersonating another licensee or engaging in the practice of architecture using a false or assumed 
name. 

 Knowingly employing any person to practice architecture who is not licensed to do so. 
 Knowingly permitting any person to use one’s license. 

 

So what can you do if you encounter a George Costanza or someone practicing architecture without a 
license?  Contact a member of your State Licensing Board or the Utah Division of Occupational and 
Professional Licensing (DOPL).  Every complaint received will be investigated.  

You can lodge a complaint online at http://www.dopl.utah.gov/investigations/complaint_form.html 

For more information on this subject visit www.architectmagazine.com/legal-issues/trust-me-im-an-unlicensed-
architect.aspx 

 

 

 



 

 

For those that are not aware, the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards comprises the 
architectural registration boards of all 50 states as well as those of the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, 
and the U.S. Virgin Islands. NCARB assists its member registration boards in carrying out their duties and 
provides a certification program for individual architects. 

NCARB protects the public health, safety, and welfare by leading the regulation of the practice of architecture 
through the development and application of standards for licensure and credentialing of architects. In order to 
achieve these goals, the Council develops and recommends standards to be required of an applicant for 
architectural registration; develops and recommends standards regulating the practice of architecture; 
provides to member boards a process for certifying the qualifications of an architect for registration; and 
represents the interests of Member Boards before public and private agencies. NCARB has established 
reciprocal registration for architects in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, and is engaged in similar 
discussions with additional countries.ews Clips 

During the recent National Council of Architectural Registration Boards’ (NCARB) Annual Meeting and 
Conference in San Francisco, CA, (June 24th – 26th), delegates representing 52 of the Council’s 54 Member 
Boards that oversee the practice of architecture were present and voted on 5 resolutions.  All of this year’s 
resolutions were extremely uncontroversial among ALL member boards, and were mainly comprised of 
“housekeeping” type items.  For a complete text of the items, please go to:http://ncarb.org/News-and-
Events/News/2010/2010-Resolutions.aspx. 

A highlight of the meeting was the installation of Utah architect Kenneth J. Naylor, AIA, as the President of 
NCARB for fiscal year 2011.  Ken is a principal at Naylor Wentworth Lund Architects in Salt Lake City, and has 
served on the Board of Directors of NCARB for a number of years.  Among his other distinguished service, Ken 
is the most recent past president of AIA Utah, and was on the Utah licensing board for two terms.  
Congratulations, Ken!!! 

 

 

As you surely remember from previous issues of this newsletter, the Architects Licensing Board has oversight 
of the Architect Education and Enforcement Fund. This fund is used for education and training for registration 
and continuing education credit for Utah architects.    

Since the last newsletter, four applications for educational programming originating from the Utah Chapter of 
the American Institute of Architects were recently presented to, and approved by, the Board.  

Three of the four requests for funding were for programming at the AIA Utah/AIA Western Mountain Region 
2010 Design Conference. These requests were approved, allowing the conference to provide outstanding 
national speakers, including Wendell Burnette, AIA, Thomas Phifer, AIA, and Todd Schliemann, FAIA, to educate 
Utah Architects.  The conference, “Considering Context”, will take place at the Silver Lake Lodge in Deer Valley, 
on October 7-9, 2010; registration is open to all.  Interested parties can find additional information at 
www.aiautah.org or by calling the AIA Utah office, 801.532.1727.  

The fourth funding request is earmarked for a continuing education presentation titled “ACCESSIBILTY for ALL” 
and will focus on the Federal ADA requirements.  The date of this training is currently planned for October 20th, 
2010.  Please visit the aiautah.org website to verify. 

 

education and enforcement fund update 

NCARB 2010 national meeting update 



 

 

 

disciplinary actions 

 
January 2010 – July 2010:  

No formal disciplinary actions for this period. 

A complete listing of all disciplinary actions and complaints can be found on the DOPL web site at 
http://dopl.utah.gov/investigations/disciplinary.html.  From this page it is possible to review all citations 

and actions that have been taken against any licensed individual or company.  

 
 

complaints 
 

Every day the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) receives complaints 
regarding the conduct of individuals practicing in regulated occupations and professions. Complaints are 
received from many sources including the general public, co-workers, licensing board members, 
professional associations, other state agencies, and federal disciplinary databases.   

DOPL is legislatively responsible to investigate acts or practices inconsistent with generally recognized 
standards of conduct, unlicensed practice in regulated professions or occupations, allegations of gross 
negligence or incompetence, and patterns of negligence or incompetence. Until disciplinary action is taken, 
complaints are confidential in nature and are not generally available to the public. However, in certain 
situations, the information contained in a complaint may be shared with other governmental agencies, if 
the other agency demonstrates a legal basis for the sharing of such information. Upon submission, all 
complaints are entered into an investigative database in order to analyze patterns of behavior. Each 
complaint is then reviewed by DOPL’s chief investigator or an investigative supervisor who makes one of 
three initial determinations:  

No Violation   

If it is determined that the complaint does not involve a violation, the complaint is closed and no action is taken. 
Additionally, no public reporting of the information will occur.   

Violation which Does Not Meet Criteria for Investigation     

When a complaint involves a violation, but does not meet DOPL's criteria for opening an internal investigation, the 
DOPL may choose to take any or all of the following actions:  

 refer the complaint to another local, state, or federal agency   
 invite the involved individual(s) to participate in an informal, educational interview   
 Issue a letter of concern to the involved individual(s)   

 
Violation which Does Meet Criteria for Investigation   

Finally, if a complaint is determined to involve a violation and is within DOPL's jurisdiction, the complaint will be 
prioritized and assigned to an investigator. Investigators use their experienced judgment and established 
procedures to determine the type of investigation to conduct. An investigation may include any of the following 
elements:   

disciplinary actions / complaints 



 

 interviewing complainant(s)   
 interviewing witness(es)   
 interviewing involved individual(s)   
 obtaining appropriate records or documentation (subpoena)   
 gathering other evidence   
 obtaining input from applicable experts   
 drafting petitions which include a statement of the allegations   

At any time, the case may be reviewed by any or all of the following: the Utah Attorney Generals Office, an expert 
in the respective occupation or profession, DOPL's enforcement counsel, or DOPL's bureau manager responsible 
for the regulation of the respective occupation or profession. DOPL may also determine that a criminal complaint 
is warranted and will then notify the appropriate authorities of the situation.   

A complaint can be submitted to DOPL by:  

 phone - (801) 530-6630. Office hours are Monday through Thursday (except legal holidays) from 7:00 
a.m. to 6:00 p.m., Mountain Standard Time 

 email - DOPL@utah.gov  
 online - http://dopl.utah.gov/investigations/complaint_form.html   
  

 
 

The Board welcomes and congratulates our new Utah Licensees! 

Rembert C. Alley III   
Floyd Anderson   
Dwight A. Ashdown  
Lance D. Baker  
David S. Beem  
Bruce D. Beinfield  
David G. Blodgett  
Craig P. Brown  
Gregory T. Buchannan  
Curt J. Carlson  
Ernest F. Cirangle  
Frank J. Campione   
Matthew J. Clinger  
William Commer  
Michael A. Cummings  
Joseph P. Donahou   
Donald H. Dissinger  
Samuel J. Edwards   
Jeffrey W. Ernest  
Robert J. Ett  
Brandon T. Francom  
Joseph R. Garlick  
Robert M. Gray   
David M. Gibson  
Brent Hatch  
Brian L. Hendon  
James R. Hoch  
Chris A. Hudson  

Philip H. Hubbard III 
Trenton S. Jones  
Konrad Judd  
John H. Kamus  
Farooq S. Karim  
Randall K. Knight  
David R. H. King  
Derrick B. Larm  
Christopher W. Larsen  
John G. Leonard Jr.   
Jeffrey Lewis  
Steven A. Lichtenberger  
Walter J. Lindgren  
John C. Lopeman  
Gregory A. Ludwig  
Rodolfo C. Maligon  
Marvin J. Maples  
Walter D. Meredith  
Corey W. Middleton  
Kevin P. Mills  
Jefferson S. Neaves  
Timothy D. Neumann  
Charles R. Newman  
Galen B. Ohmart   
Eric R. Osth  
Jae H. Park  
Kathryn J. Quinn  
Don K. Rasmussen  

Richard Rauh  
Daniel S. Roach 
Robert A. Rohe  
Peter Ruggiero  
Loren V. Sadler  
Harold E. Sargent  
Marc E. Schweitzer  
Thurston S. Shell  
James A. Schmitt  
Joseph B. Schrock 
Gregory T. Short  
Richard E. Siefried  
Stephen M. Springer  
Robert M. Stefko  
Richard D. Sutton  
David E. Termohlen  
Brian R. Titus  
Jerry W. Tulis II  
Michael F. Twitchell  
Kevin D. Underwood  
Bradley J.  VanArsdale  
Kristen I. Voros  
Oswin H. Wagner III  
Robert Winton 
James R. Wurscher   
Robert L. Zimmerman. 

 

 

new utah licenses. . .  



 

DOPL provides the public the ability to look up information about any individual or entity holding a 
license at https://secure.utah.gov/llv/llv.   From this web page it is possible to look up information by 

name, profession or license number.   From this page it is possible to view summary information about 
a licensee which includes:  

 Name  
 City, State, Zip  
 Profession  
 License Type  
 License Number  
 License Status  
 Original Issue Date  
 Expiration Date  

  
Note: Street address, phone and other protected information is not available online. 

 

This newsletter is a publication produced by the Utah Architects Licensing Board and is intended to share 
pertinent information with architects licensed by State of Utah, Division of Occupational and Professional 
Licensing.  Suggestions for content for future newsletters should be sent to Jeanne Jackson, AIA, NCARB, 
LEED AP jjackson@vcbo.com 

newsletter fine print. . .  


