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Department of Commerce
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
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GARY R. HERBERT FRANCINE A. GIANI MARK B. STEINAGEL
Governor Executive Director Division Director

Dear Resident:
You may be eligible for protection against mechanics’ liens and related lawsuits.

The Utah Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act provides that
homeowners who meet certain criteria can obtain a Certificate of Compliance, which
certifies that the owner is protected from mechanics’ liens and related lawsuits.

The sections below are instructions on how to apply for a Certificate:

1. If you contracted for more than $5,000 you must complete the application for
Certificate of Compliance located on pages 1-6 of the attachment and submit the
required supplemental documentation. (You will not need to submit pages 7 & 8).

2. If you contracted for no more than $5,000 you have the option to apply under
section 1 or by completing the Affidavit of Compliance located on pages 7 & 8 of
the attachment. (You will only need to submit pages 7 & §).

The Residence Lien Recovery Fund staff can assist you with the application. However,
Fund personnel cannot answer questions about your specific legal circumstances or
represent you in legal matters. You may contact the Residence Lien Recovery Fund at
(801) 530-6104 or Irf@utah.gov.

Please be aware it is your responsibility to understand the statues and rules that govern
the Residence Lien Recovery Fund. The statues, rules and additional information may
be found on the Fund’s website located at: http://www.dopl.utah.gov/rlrf/index.html

Respectfully,
Tracy Vagy

Lien Recovery Fund Manager

www.dopl.utah.gov « Heber M. Wells Building ¢ 160 East 300 South « P.O. Box 146741, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
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State of Utah
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741
Telephone (801) 530-6628
www.dopl.utah.gov

Certificate of Compliance Application

Checklist

$30 non-refundable application fee
Complete Application

The following must be attached your application:

O
O
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A copy of your written contract
Evidence establishing the owner of the residence on the date the contract was

entered (ex: warranty deed, title search, or copy of property tax notice showing you owned the
property at the time contract was signed.

Evidence your contract was paid in full (ex: canceled checks, HUD, affidavit )

Evidence establishing the project completion date (ex: copy of Certificate of
Occupancy, final inspection, or date of work substantially complete/termination)
Copies of liens filed on residence

Evidence your contractor was licensed (www.dopl.utah.gov “verify a license”)

Submit the above items to one of the following:

DOPL / LRF
By U.S. Mail PO Box 146741
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

160 East 300 South
In Person or Express Mail | 1st Floor

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

For Questions or Other Information

O

DOPL-AP-096 REV 2016-03-03

Direct: (801) 530-6104 » Toll-free: (866) 275-3675 (Utah only) ¢ e-mail: If@utah.gov

Additional Requirement

Send a copy of this application and all attachments by certified mail/return receipt
requested, to all lien claimants and the party with whom you contracted.



APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

Applicant:

Name:

Address of Property against which Lien was filed:

City: State: Zip:
Telephone: ( ) Email:
Is the address listed above the same as your mailing address? Yes No

If “no,” please provide your complete mailing address:

Tax Parcel Number (found on your annual property tax notice):

Legal Description and/or Lot Number (found on the Notice of Lien):

Applicant’s Attorney or Other Representative (if applicable):

Name:

Firm:

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: ( ) Email:
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Original Contractor/Factory Built Housing Retailer/Real Estate Developer:

Company Name:

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: ( ) Email:

Original Contractor/Factory Built Housing Retailer/Real Estate Developer’s Attorney
(if applicable):

Name:

Firm:

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: ( ) Email:

Mechanics’ Lien Holders: Attach a copy of all notice of liens filed on your property. List all

companies or individuals who have filed a mechanics’ lien on your residence.

Company or Individual Name:

Company or Individual Name:

Company or Individual Name:

Company or Individual Name:

Company or Individual Name:

*Note you are required to send a copy of this application and all attachments by certified mail,

return receipt requested, to all lien claimants and the party with whom you contracted
UTAH CODE ANN. § 38-1a-701(6)(e).
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Written Contract:

Did you enter into a written contract? Utah Code Ann. § 38-11-204(4)(a)
L] Yes. Attach a copy of the contract to this application

1 No. Explain:

Required documentation of licensure or exemption from licensure:

Check which section best describes your situation & attach the supporting documentation:

[J Contracted with a licensed contractor - Utah Code Ann. § 38-11-204(4)(a)(i):
@ Attach evidence your contractor was licensed

1 Contracted with an exempt contractor - Utah Code Ann. § 38-11-204(4)(a)(i):
@ Attach evidence your contractor was exempt from licensure

[J Contracted with a real estate developer - Utah Code Ann. § 38-11-204(4)(a)(ii):
@ Attach evidence the developer had ownership interest in the property
@ Attach evidence the developer offered the residence for sale to the public
® Attach a copy of the contract between the developer and a licensed contractor

Payment in Full:

Did you pay your original contractor in full according to the terms of the written contract and
any modifications to that contract? Utah Code Ann. § 38-11-204 (4)(b)

LI Yes. Attach documents demonstrating payment (ex: canceled checks, HUD settlement statement)
O No. Explain:
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BEFORE THE DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
OF THE STATE OF UTAH

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION : AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE,
FOR A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE : CERTIFICATION, AND RELEASE OF
ON THE RESIDENCE OF - INFORMATION

(Homeowners’ Name)

LOCATED AT
(Address, City, and State of the property)
STATE OF UTAH )
.SS.
COUNTY OF )

1.

, being first duly sworn state as follows:

(Name of person completing application)

| am authorized to sign this affidavit for the homeowner described and identified in this
application.

The information contained in this application and the supporting documents are free from fraud,
misrepresentation, or omission of material fact.

I will ensure that any information subsequently submitted to DOPL in conjunction with this
application and/or its supporting documents will meet the same standard set forth above.

I understand that homeowners and/or their representatives who report false information, withhold
information, or present false or misleading documentation pertinent to an application in order to
receive a Certificate of Compliance from the Lien Recovery Fund to which they are not entitled
will be disqualified from receiving said Certificate and may be subject to both criminal
prosecution and civil penalties.

| understand that this application will be classified as a public record and will be available for
inspection by the public except with regard to the release of information which is classified as
controlled, private, or protected under the Government Records Access and Management Act or
restricted by other law.
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6. Type of Residence: (check the appropriate box)
1 Detached single family dwelling
L1 Duplex (single building with two separate living units)
[ More than two living units in building

7. Date construction of the project was complete: (you must check one box & fill in date)
[ Certificate of Occupancy Date / /
I Final Inspection Date / /
[J No substantial work left to complete Date / /
I Original contractor was terminated Date / /
8. Date the residence was/will be occupied: (you must check one box & fill in date)
[J Do not intend to occupy
1 Have occupied the residence since Date / /
I Will occupy the residence on Date / /
0. How the residence is/will be used: (check the appropriate box)

1 Owner’s primary residence

[J Owner’s secondary residence

(1 Tenant or Lessee’s primary residence
[J Tenant or Lessee’s secondary residence
1 Other (explain)

I hereby authorize all persons, institutions, governmental agencies, employers, or any others not
specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set forth directly or by reference in this
application, to release to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, State of Utah or the
Residence Lien Recovery Fund Advisory Board, any files, records or information of any type reasonably
required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing or the Board to properly evaluate
my application.

/ /
Signature of Affiant (sign here) Date
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of :
(SEAL) Signature of Notary Public
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State of Utah
DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL & PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741
Telephone (801) 530-6628
www.dopl.utah.gov

Affidavit of Compliance

Name:

Address of Property against which Lien was filed:

City: State: Zip:
Telephone: ( ) Email:
Is the address listed above the same as your mailing address? Yes No

If “no,” please provide your complete mailing address:

Tax Parcel Number (found on your annual property tax notice):

Checklist

[0 $30 non-refundable application fee

[0 Original Affidavit of Compliance

0 Attach a list of all known subcontractors and suppliers
0 A copy of this checklist

Submit the above items to one of the following:

DOPL / LRF

By U.S. Mail PO Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741
160 East 300 South

1st Floor

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

In Person or
Express Mail

For Questions or Other Information

Direct: (801) 530-6628 * Toll-free: (866) 275-3675 (Utah only) ¢ e-mail: If@utah.gov

Additional Requirement

[0 Send a copy of this application and all attachments by certified malil, return
receipt requested, to all lien claimants and the party with whom you
contracted
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BEFORE THE DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
OF THE STATE OF UTAH

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION FOR
A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE ON THE
RESIDENCE OF

AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE

(Homeowners’ Name)
Located at
City Zip
Tax Parcel Number

I, , being first duly sworn state as follows:

1. The information contained in this application and the supporting documents are true and correct and | will
ensure that any information subsequently submitted in conjunction with this application will meet the same
standard.

2. lunderstand that it is my responsibility to read and understand all statues and rules pertaining to my application
for Certificate of Compliance.

3. | entered into an oral or written contract on / / for service, labor, or materials with:

and the general contract, including all changes and additions, totaled: $

4. The following entities have demanded payment for service, labor or materials associated with the general
contract: (attach separate sheet if needed)

5. The residence is a single family dwelling or duplex and contains no more than two separate living units. [Utah
Code Ann. § 38-11-102 (22)]

6. The residence is occupied by me or my tenant or lessee as a primary or secondary residence and was occupied
within 180 days from the date of the completion of the construction on the residence. [Utah Code Ann. § 38-11-

102 (18)]
/ /
Signature of Affiant Date
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of :
(SEAL) Signature of Notary Public
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