COVID 19 UPDATE – EXPIRING EXAM CREDIT
The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) will identify all candidates who have an open NTS and credit expiring from April 1, 2020 through December 30, 2020. This information will be provided to the Board. Those that have credits expiring during this time will be extended to December 31, 2020.
Frequently Asked Questions
A person may apply for and be given a waiver from or an extension of time to complete any requirement on the basis that the licensee was unable to complete the requirement due to a medical or related condition, humanitarian or ecclesiastical services, extended presence in a geographical area where continuing education is not available, etc. A request must be submitted no later than the deadline for completing any of the continuing education requirements. A licensee submitting a request has the burden of proof and must document the reason for the request to the satisfaction of the Division. A request shall include the beginning and ending dates during which the licensee was unable to complete the continuing education requirement and a detailed explanation of the reason why.
The explanation shall also include the extent and duration of the impediment, extent to which the licensee continued to be engaged in practice of his profession, the nature of the medical condition, the location and nature of the humanitarian service, the geographical area where continuing education is not available, etc.
While a licensee may receive a waiver from meeting the minimum continuing education requirements, the licensee shall not be exempted from the requirements of Subsection 58-1-501(2)(i), which requires that the licensee provide services within the competency, abilities and education of the licensee. If a licensee cannot competently provide services, the waiver of meeting the continuing education requirements may be conditioned upon the licensee restricting practice to areas in which the licensee has the required competency, abilities, and education.
I am a non-US citizen with a Certified Public Accountant license earned in my own country. I would like to become a Certified Public Accountant in the United States and would like to apply for licensure in the state of Utah. What do I need to do to become licensed in the state of Utah? keyboard_arrow_down
- an official document showing you passed the Uniform CPA Examination. (a "Request for Verification of Examination and License" form showing you have taken the Uniform CPA Examination in another jurisdiction of the United States will meet this requirement.)
- a document showing a passing score of 90% on the AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs Exam.
- an official letter from DOPL's testing provider documenting your passing the Utah Law and Rules Exam.
- a verification of licensure from the state in which you are currently licensed as a CPA using a "Request for Verification of License" form. (Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail or fax it directly to DOPL or return it to you for submission with your application.)
- documentation of professional experience showing that you have been actively engaged in the lawful practice as a CPA in another state, for not less than 8,000 hours during the 10 years immediately preceding your application for licensure in Utah.
ATTENTION: Most testing centers have been shut down to help slow the spread of COVID 19. To receive updated information on how this will affect your exams, please visit the Exam Updates tab at the following link: COVID-19 Agency Notices.
In order to be licensed as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) in Utah, you must pass three exams:
- Uniform Certified Public Accountant Examination (NASBA)
- AICPA Professional Ethics for CPAs
This exam can be taken with either of the following providers:
- Utah Laws and Rules Exam
- Examination Information Bulletin
- To Schedule this exam:
- Create an account at https://provexam.com. You have the option to take this exam at most college and university testing centers in Utah and throughout the US.
- Out-of-State Testing: Contact Prov directly to make testing arrangements. The phone number is 877-228-3926.
- At-Home Testing: You also have the option of using an "at-home" testing platform known as Examroom. This option will be available as you are scheduling your exam.
Note: Prov will electronically send the results of your exam directly to DOPL.
If you have any additional QUESTIONS, CONCERNS, or COMPLAINTS that you are not able to address with the Exam Administrator mentioned above, you may contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Apply for a License
STEP 1: Please select the license type you are applying for:
ATTENTION: DOPL cannot process your application until we receive your Uniform CPA Exam scores from NASBA. DO NOT apply for your license until NASBA has officially notified you of your passing scores. Incomplete applications may be denied if all requirements are not met within 30 days from the date of the application.
REQUIREMENTS – Before proceeding, the following requirements must be met:
Renew a License
- Licenses expire on December 31 of even years.
- At least 60 days prior to the expiration date of a license, DOPL will mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of record as provided to DOPL by the individual licensee. (Failure to notify DOPL of an address change could prevent a licensee from timely receiving renewal notification and other important correspondence from DOPL.)
- Renewal Fees — CPA: $63 | CPA Firm: $52
REQUIREMENTS – Before proceeding with renewal, the following requirements must be met:
NOTE: If you are applying for reinstatement or re-applying for a license you once had, you must use the manual application below.
Update Your License Record
Legal Name Change
If your legal name has changed, you must verify the change by submitting a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, driver's license, or social security card to the Division. If you desire a reprint of your license reflecting the name change, you must also submit a $10 reprint fee with the request.
- EMAIL: email@example.com
- FAX: 801-530-6511
- MAIL: PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Change of Address
You may update your address online in the eGov system.
Laws and Rules
Board Members event_seat=Chairperson
|Michael T. Gregory||07/01/2014||06/30/2020|
|David J. Young (Public Member)||04/18/2019||06/30/2021|
|Wade K. Watkins||07/01/2013||06/30/2021|
|Carey D. Woolsey event_seat||07/01/2014||06/30/2022|
|Robert M. Anderson||07/01/2019||06/30/2023|
Upcoming Public Meetings
Past Public Meetings
- For general licensing questions call:
- (801) 530-6628
(866) 275-3675 Toll-Free in Utah
- Bureau Manager
- Robyn Barkdull — firstname.lastname@example.org
- Board Secretary
- Sharon Smalley — email@example.com
Are you a veteran in crisis or concerned about one?
Contact the Veteran Crisis Line
Members of the armed forces and their families are often more affected than other groups by licensing restrictions because of frequent relocations to fulfill orders. To ease this burden, the Utah Legislature has authorized certain fee waivers and license exemptions for qualifying military personnel and military spouses.
License Fee Waivers
DOPL requires a processing fee for initial license applications and license renewal. This fee varies by profession. The Utah Legislature has authorized initial license and license renewal fee waivers for qualifying military service members. Full-time active duty service members should submit the fee waiver request form with their initial and renewal license application. Download the fee waiver request form here.
Qualifying licensees, who wish to maintain their license but who are not currently practicing in the profession, can apply for inactive status. In some cases, changing a license to inactive status will remove certain CE requirements. The Utah Legislature has authorized fee waivers for qualifying military service members who change their license to inactive status or who renew an inactive license. Please note that not all professions have inactive status as an option. To check if your profession has inactive license status, refer to Utah Administrative Rule R156-1-305. Full-time active duty service members can download the fee waiver request form for inactive status here.
Licensing for Military Spouses
Spouses of military service members stationed in Utah are permitted to work in licensed professions without obtaining a Utah license as long as they possess an active license from another state or territory of the United States. Since this benefit for military spouses is relatively new, you may need to explain to employers or the public who ask that your out-of-state license is valid because you are a spouse of an active duty service member. To help you, the Division has created a verification letter which you can show your employer or the public that explains this exemption. Download the verification letter here.
Are you struggling with PTSD, depression, suicidal thoughts, or addiction?
The College of Social and Behavioral Science at the University of Utah provides free treatment for veterans, including: therapy sessions, workshops, and a two-week residential treatment program for veterans with PTSD in Park City. Learn more here.
The Utah Department of Veterans and Military Affairs (UDVMA) provides resources for veterans including education, employment, healthcare, and more. Learn more here.