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STATE OF UTAH 

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION 
 

CERTIFIED COURT REPORTER 
 

  

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 

 

General Statement:  The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) desires 

to provide courteous and timely service to all applicants for licensure.  To facilitate the application 

process, submit a complete application form including all applicable supporting documents and 

fees.  Failure to submit a complete application and supply all necessary information will delay 

processing and may result in denial of licensure.  The fees are for processing your application and will 

not be refunded.  Please read all instructions carefully. 

 

Address of Record:  The address you provide on this application will be your address of record. All 

correspondence from DOPL will be sent to that address.  You are responsible to directly notify DOPL 

of any change to your address of record.  Do not rely on a forwarding order. 

 

Social Security Number:  Your social security number is classified as a private record under the Utah 

Government Records Access and Management Act.  It is used by DOPL as an individual identifier.  It 

is also used for child support enforcement pursuant to Subsection 78-32-17(3) and is mandatory 

pursuant to Subsection 58-1-301(1), Utah Code Ann., which implements 42 U.S.C. 666(a) (13).  If an 

SSN is not provided, the application is incomplete and may be denied. 

 

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES: 

 

If you are applying for licensure as a Court Reporter – with the designation as a Shorthand 

Reporter – complete the following in addition to submitting a completed application: 

 

1. Submit a certificate from the NCRA documenting your passing score on the Registered 

Professional Reporter Examination of the National Court Reporter’s Association. 

 

2. If applicable, use the “Request for Verification of License” form (attached to this application), 

to obtain verification of licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed as a certified 

shorthand reporter.  

 

Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail or fax it directly to DOPL or return 

it to you for submission with your application. 

 

3. Submit a $45.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.” 

  

If you are applying for licensure as a Court Reporter – with the designation as a Voice Reporter 

– complete the following in addition to submitting a completed application: 

 

1. Submit a certificate from the NVRA documenting your passing score on the Certified Verbatim 

Reporter Examination of the National Verbatim Reporter’s Association. 
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2. If applicable, use the “Request for Verification of License” form (attached to this application), 

to obtain verification of licensure from a state in which you are currently licensed as a certified 

shorthand reporter.  

 

Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail or fax it directly to the DOPL or 

return it to you for submission with your application. 

 

3. Submit a $45.00 non-refundable application-processing fee, made payable to “DOPL.” 

 

 Note:  If you are using this application to reinstate your Utah court reporter license which has 

been expired for more than two years, you should contact DOPL for the latest information on 

reinstatement requirements and fees. 

 

ADDITIONAL IMPORTANT INFORMATION:   

 

1. Laws and Rules:  You are required to understand all Utah laws and rules pertaining to your 

practice.  The following applicable laws and rules are available on the Internet at  

www.dopl.utah.gov: 

 

� Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing Act 

� General Rules of the Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

� Laws Governing Certified Shorthand Reporters 

� Rules of the Certified Shorthand Reporters Licensing Board 

 

2. Current Documents:  Applications, statutes, rules, and forms are occasionally changed.  Go to 

www.dopl.utah.gov to ensure you have the most recent version of these documents. 

 

3. Examination for Shorthand Reporter Designation:  Contact the NCRA for information 

regarding the examination including fees, dates, study guides, and other examination 

requirements.  National Court Reporters Association, 118 Park Street S.E., Vienna, VA 22180, 

(703) 281-4677 

 

4. Examination for Voice Reporter Designation:  Contact the NVRA for information regarding 

the Certified Verbatim Reporter examination, including fees, dates, study guides, and other 

examination requirements.  National Verbatim Reporters Association, 207 Third Avenue, 

Halliesburg, MS 39401, www.nvra.org  

 

5. Examination Fees:  There are separate fees for all examinations.  It is the responsibility of the 

applicant to submit the fees directly to the testing agency. 

 

6. License Renewal:  All certified shorthand reporter licenses expire May 31 of each even-

numbered year. 

 
 

Unlike many other states, Utah’s license renewal schedule is not based on the licensee’s date of 

initial licensure.  Under Utah’s renewal system, all licenses in each profession expire as a 

group on the same day every two years.  Therefore, the length of a licensee’s first renewal cycle 

depends on how far into the current renewal cycle initial licensure was obtained.  Each renewal 

cycle thereafter is for a full two years.   
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Additionally, the fee paid with this application for licensure is an application-processing fee 

only.  It does not include a renewal fee.  Each licensee is responsible to renew licensure 

PRIOR to the expiration date shown on the current license.  Approximately two months prior 

to the expiration date shown on the license, renewal information is disseminated to each 

licensee’s last address of record, as provided to DOPL. 

 

7. Updating Address Information:  It is your responsibility to maintain a current address with 

DOPL.  If your address is incorrect, you will not receive renewal notices or other 

correspondence.  Address changes can be made online at www.dopl.utah.gov. 

 

8. Name Change:  If you have been licensed by DOPL under any other name, please submit 

documentation of your name change (i.e. copy of a marriage license or divorce decree). 

 

9. Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure:  After obtaining your license from DOPL, you can order 

a Ceremonial Certificate of Licensure, printed on parchment paper with original signatures and 

an embossed gold seal. Order forms can be obtained at www.dopl.utah.gov. 

 

10. Submit Completed Application to: 

By U.S.  Mail 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

P.O.  Box 146741 

Salt Lake City UT  84114-6741 

By Express Mail 

or In Person 

Division of Occupational & Professional Licensing 

1
st
 Floor Lobby 

160 E 300 S 

Salt Lake City UT  84111-2305 

 

11. Telephone Numbers:  (801) 530-6628 

 (866) 275-3675 – Toll-free in Utah  

 

12. Fax Number:   (801) 530-6511 
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APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION 
 

  SHORTHAND REPORTER 

  VOICE REPORTER 
 

***Please list your full legal name as it appears on your driver’s license, Social Security Card, etc.*** 
 

Last Name:        First Name:        Middle Name:        

Social Security Number:       -      -       Maiden Name:        

I certify under penalty of perjury that: 

  I am a citizen of the United States and I have a valid US Driver License or US State ID.  

 License/State ID Number:                                   State:    
 

  I am a citizen of the United States currently living outside the United States and do not have a valid US Drivers License 

or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your valid passport or other documentation to verify you are a legal 

citizen of the United States.   
 

   I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I have a valid US Drivers 

License or US State ID. 

License/State ID Number:                                   State:    
 

  I am a non-citizen of the United States, who is lawfully present in the United States and I do not have a valid US 

Drivers License or US State ID. Please attach a legible copy of your current and valid government issued document 

showing evidence of authorization to work in the United States. 
 

  I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

Mailing Address:        

City:        State:     ZIP:        

 Male 

 Female 
Date of Birth:        Phone #:        E-Mail:        

List all other licenses, registrations, or certifications issued by any state which you now hold or have ever held in 

any profession.  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

Profession:       Issuing State:    

 License Number:       License Status:       Issue Date:       

 
  

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SECTION - FOR DIVISION USE ONLY 

License/Certificate Number:           

Date License/Certificate Approved: ___/___/____ 

Approved By:             

Date License/Certificate Denied: ___/___/____ 

Denied By:             

Reason for Denial/Other Comments:          
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AFFIDAVIT and RELEASE AUTHORIZATION 
 

1. I certify that I am qualified in all respects for the license for which I am applying in this 

application. 

2. I certify that to the best of my knowledge, the information contained in the application and its 

supporting document(s) is free of fraud, forgery, misrepresentation, omission of material fact; is 

truthful, correct, and complete; discloses all material facts regarding the applicant; and that I will 

update or correct the application as necessary, prior to any action on my application.  

3. I authorize all persons, institutions, organizations, schools, governmental agencies, employers, 

references, or any others not specifically included in the preceding characterization, which are set 

forth directly or by reference in this application, to release to the Division of Occupational and 

Professional Licensing, State of Utah, any files, records, or information of any type reasonably 

required for the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to properly evaluate my 

qualifications for licensure/certification/registration by the State of Utah. 

4. I understand that it is the continuing responsibility of applicants and licensees to read, 

understand, and apply the requirements contained in all statutes and rules pertaining to the 

occupation or profession for which I am applying, and that failure to do so may result in civil, 

administrative, or criminal sanctions. 
 

Signature of Applicant:  ________________________________   Date of Signature:  ___ /___ /______ 
 

 

 

 

PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION:  (Use additional sheets if necessary.) 

                                       

1.  Name:         Dates Attended: ___/___/____ to ___/___/____ 

 

     Location:              

 

     Degree Received:        Date of Graduation:  ___/___/____ 

 

2.  Name:         Dates Attended: ___/___/____ to ___/___/____ 

 

     Location:              

 

     Degree Received:        Date of Graduation:  ___/___/____ 

 

 

 

PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATION REQUIREMENT:  Answer “yes” or “no.” 

 

______ Registered Professional Reporter Examination, Date(s) Taken: ___/___/____ 

 

______ Certified Verbatim Reporter Examination, Date(s) Taken: ___/___/____ 
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CERTIFIED COURT REPORTER 

QUALIFYING QUESTIONNAIRE 
 

Answer “yes” or “no” for each question.  Do not leave any question blank. 

 

1.             Have you ever applied for or received a license, certificate, permit, or registration to 

practice in a regulated profession under any name other than the name listed on this 

application? 

 

2.            Have you ever been denied the right to sit for a licensure examination?  

  

3.            Have you ever had a license, certificate, permit, or registration to practice a regulated 

profession denied, conditioned, curtailed, limited, restricted, suspended, revoked, 

reprimanded, or disciplined in any way? 

 

4.             Have you ever been permitted to resign or surrender your license, certificate, permit, or 

registration to practice in a regulated profession while under investigation or while 

action was pending against you by any profession licensing agency or criminal or 

administrative jurisdiction? 

 

5.             Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you 

now by any licensing agency or governmental agency? 

 

6.             Is any action pending against you now by either the Federal Drug Enforcement 

Administration or any state drug enforcement agency? 

 

7.             If you are licensed in the occupation/profession for which you are applying, would you 

pose a direct threat to yourself, to your clients, or to the public health, safety, or welfare 

because of any circumstance or condition? 

 

8.            Have you ever been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by 

reason of mental defect or disease and not restored? 

 

9. _____ Have you ever had a documented case in which you were involved as the abuser in any 

incident of verbal, physical, mental, or sexual abuse?  

 

10. _____ Have you been terminated from a position because of drug use or abuse within the past 

five (5) years? 

 

11.             Are you currently using or have you recently (within 90 days) used any drugs (including 

recreational drugs) without a valid prescription, the possession or distribution of which is 

unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other applicable state or federal 

law? 

 
(Continued on the next page.) 
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12.             Have you ever used any drugs without a valid prescription, the possession or 

distribution of which is unlawful under the Utah Controlled Substances Act or other 

applicable state or federal law, for which you have not successfully completed or are 

not now participating in a supervised drug rehabilitation program, or for which you 

have not otherwise been successfully rehabilitated? 

 

13.  _____ Do you currently have any criminal action pending? 

 

14. _____ Have you pled guilty to, no contest to, entered into a plea in abeyance or been convicted 

of a misdemeanor in any jurisdiction within the past ten (10) years?  Motor vehicle 

offenses such as driving while impaired or intoxicated must be disclosed but minor 

traffic offenses such as parking or speeding violations need not be listed. 

 

15. _____ Have you ever pled guilty to, no contest to, or been convicted of a felony in any 

jurisdiction? 

 

16. _____ Have you, in the past ten (10) years, been allowed to plea guilty or no contest to any 

criminal charge that was later dismissed (i.e. plea in abeyance or deferred sentence)? 

 

17. _____  Have you ever been incarcerated for any reason in any federal, state or county 

correctional facility or in any correctional facility in any other jurisdiction or on 

probation/parole in any jurisdiction? 

 

 If you answered “yes” to questions 13, 14, 15, 16, or 17 above, you must submit a 

complete narrative of the circumstances that occurred for EACH and EVERY conviction, 

plea in abeyance, and/or deferred sentence. You must also attach copies of all applicable 

police report(s), court record(s), and probation/parole officer report(s). 

 

If you are unable to obtain any of the records required above, you must submit 

documentation on official letterhead from the police department and/or court indicating 

that the information is no longer available. 

 

If you have formally expunged a criminal record as evidenced by a court order signed by a 

judge, you do not need to disclose that criminal history.  Expungement orders must be sent 

to the Bureau of Criminal Identification and the FBI to enable the expungement to be 

completed and the criminal history eliminated from the records. 

               

 

 If you answered “yes” to any of the above questions, enclose with this application complete 

information with respect to all circumstances and the final result, if such has been reached. 

 

A “yes” answer does not necessarily mean you will not be granted a license; however, DOPL 

may request additional documentation if the information submitted is insufficient. 
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Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741 

Fax:  (801) 530-6511 
 

 

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 
 

(Use this form to verify licensure from another state, if applicable.) 

 

 

PART 1 - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT: 

 

Complete the first section of the form.  Request that the verifying state complete the form and mail it 

directly to DOPL or return it to you for submission with your application. 

 

Applicant’s Name:             

 

Street Address:             

 

City:       State:      Zip:      

 

I am requesting licensure in the state of Utah as a:         

 

I am/have been licensed in your state under the name:         

 

My Social Security Number is:           

 

My Date of Birth is: ___/___/____ 

 

My license number in your state is/was:          

 

I have enclosed the necessary license verification fee in the amount of:      

 

Signature of Applicant:            

 

Date of Signature: ___/___/____ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
(Continued on the next page.) 
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PART 2 - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE VERIFYING AGENCY: 

 

Please furnish the information requested, sign and verify the document, and place the completed form 

in an envelope, seal the envelope and provide it to the applicant in person or by mail.  The qualifier 

will include the verification of licensure with his/her Utah application.  Thank you.   

 

Name of Verifying State:            

 

Name of Licensee (as it appears in verifying state’s records):       

 

Classification of License Issued:           

 

License Number:         Current Status:     

 

Original Date of Licensure: ___/___/____  Expiration Date: ___/___/____ 

 

Continuously Licensed:   

 

� Yes    � No, please explain:           

 

Licensed By: 

 

�Exam, Type:         Date: ___/___/____ 

 

� Endorsement, From What State          

 

Examination Scores:            

 

Education Required For Licensure:          

 

Disciplinary Action or Pending Disciplinary Action: 

 

� No   � Yes, please provide certified copies of all Petitions, Orders, etc. 

 

Signature:         Title:        

 

Agency:              

 

Date of Signature:  ___/___/____ 

 

(SEAL) 

 

 


