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LEARN HOW TO NAVIGATE DOPL'S WEBSITE

As a licensed professional, it is your responsibility to know the Practice Act and
Practice Act Rules. You will find everything you need to know on DOPL's website.

On www.dopl.utah.gov you will learn how to:
v Apply for a license
v Renew a license

v Verify a license
v Find Laws & Rules


http://www.dopl.utah.gov/
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NURSING LICENSURE
MNOIGIENN

Applying for the NCLEX
Initial Licensure as a Nurse in Utah

— . i - i
» ——— 2 m—




N

IT'S A TWO STEP PROCESS

First Step: Take & Pass the NCLEX Second Step: LICENSURE
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FIRST STEP:
NCLEX REGISTRATION

Create an NCLEX account through Pearson VUE and pay the $200.00 testing fee.
o hifp://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex/

The tester must ensure the correct program code is used when they set-up
their account.

Example: If you graduate with an Associafe’s degree in Nursing, DO NOT
register for the NCLEX with a BSN degree in Nursing.


http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex/
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DOPL SUBMISSIONS

v Submit a Request for Authorization to Test application under the Exam Information tab.
Apply Online or by a Manual Form.

v Submit Official Transcripts.

There are two ways to submit official franscripfts:
1) Mail tfo DOPL by the Registrar.
2) Email to DOPL (b7@utah.gov) via 3@ party clearinghouse by the Registrar.

Note: Transcripts must have the school seal, a date of graduation and a degree earned from an
approved pre-licensure program.

* THE REQUEST FOR AUTHORIZATION TO TEST APPLICATION AND
OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS MUST BE SUBMITTED AT THE SAME TIME *


mailto:b7@utah.gov

REQUESTING TESTING ADA
ACCOMMODATIONS:

DOPL requires 3 letters for accommodations:

v' Physician or Provider — This letter must provide the tester’s diagnosis
with diagnosis codes, the recommended accommodations, and
must be dated within six months of taking the exam.

v" Nursing Program - This letter must state the testing
accommodations that were made for the student while in the
program.

v' The Tester’'s Request — This letter is a personal narrative requesting the
accommodations and why it is needed.

* The Physician and Tester letters will need to address the same
accommodations. Once reviewed and approved, DOPL will submit the
requested accommodations to Pearson VUE. Pearson VUE will email the
tester when the accommodations have been processed.*




NOTIFICATION OF NCLEX RESULTS:
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« The tester will be notified via email from DOPL if they passed
or failed the examination.

« If the tester passed, they may apply for their initial license.

 If the tester failed, they will be mailed a candidate report of
their examination. The tester may then repay the $200.00
fee, email DOPL, and retake the examination in 45 days.



mailto:b7@Utah.gov

NCLEX RESULTS WILL BE EMAILED TO THE
TESTER WITHIN 3 — 5 BUSINESS DAYS.

Note: Testers who failed the exam will receive a detailed
candidafte report in the mail within 5 — 7 business.




IF THE TESTER DID NOT PASS THE NCLEX...

The tester will need to repay the NCLEX fee to Pearson Vue and email DOPL
at b/@utah.gov and request to be made eligible for the exam.



mailto:b7@utah.gov
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SECOND STEP:
LICENSURE

v Apply for licensure by mail or online. hitps://dopl.utah.gov/nurse/
« $90.00 fee

« Mail-in two sets (hard copies) of fingerprints for a criminal background check on
Form FD- 258.

Applicants will need to complete their fingerprinting at a local police
department or a fingerprinting facility and mail them directly to DOPL.

DOPL
P.O.Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

Nofe: The processing times for licensure applications without special
circumstances (e.q., criminal history) can take up to 14 business days.



https://dopl.utah.gov/nurse/

IMPORTANT NOTES &
RECOMMENDATIONS

« DOPL will follow up with applicants if items are needed to complete an
application. Frequent phone calls will only delay the processing of
applications.

« Applications for Licensure: Read carefully and respond honestly to all
qguestions on the application. If DOPL becomes aware that you
misrepresented any information, your case will be submitted to the
Investigations department and may result in a citation or discipline against
your license.

* |t is your responsibility to ensure that DOPL is nofified of any changes in your
contact information.
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IMPORTANT WEBSITES

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing: www.dopl.utah.gov

DOPL Nursing Page: www.dopl.utah.gov/nurse/

National Council of Stat Boards of Nursing: hitps://www.ncsbn.org/index.htm

Nursing Licensure National Database: www.nursys.com

Nurse Licensure Compact: hitps://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm



http://www.dopl.utah.gov/
http://www.dopl.utah.gov/nurse/
https://www.ncsbn.org/index.htm
http://www.nursys.com/
https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm

DOPL CHECKLIST - APPLICATION
First Step: NCLEX Second Step: LICENSURE

v’ Register and pay $200.00 for your (MUST HAVE TAKEN AND PASSED EXAM)
NCLEX through Pearson Vue.

v Submit a Request for Authorization to
Test to DOPL. (online or manual form)

v' Submit official school transcripts.

v Apply for your license. $90.00 (online or
manual form)

v Complete your fingerprints at a local police
department or a fingerprinting facility and mail

v DOPL will make you eligible for the them to DOPL.
NCLEX. v It can take 14 business days to issue a complete
v' Schedule your examination. application.
v Take and pass your examination. v You will see your license number on DOPL’s
v If you fail your exam, you must repay website the day afterit’s active.

with Pearson Vue and notify DOPL to v You will receive a PDF copy of your license via
make you eligible again. email within 24 hours of its issuance.



DOPL CHECKLIST - EN

v Apply for your RN/LPN license online or by manual form. $20.00
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DORSEMENT

v Mail-in two sets (hard copies) of fingerprints for a criminal background check on Form FD- 258.
Applicants will need to complete their fingerprinting at a local police department or a

fingerprinting facility and mail them directly o DOPL.

DOPL
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114

v' Verify at least one active license through www.nursys.com. If the state you're licensed in doesn’t
participate in NURSYS, contact that state nursing board and request for an official verification to be

sent to DOPL.
v It can take 14 business days to issue a completed application.

* DOPL will contact you if any items are needed.*


http://www.nursys.com/

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL
& PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF NURSING Physical Address Mailing Address
Phone: 801-530-6628 DOPL DOPL
https://dopl.utah.gov/nurse/ 160 EAST 300 SOUTH P.O. Box 146741

Email: B7@UTAH.GOV SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111 SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84114



https://dopl.utah.gov/nurse/

