



Dear Resident:

RE: HOMEOWNER CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE
RESIDENCE LIEN RESTRICTION AND LIEN RECOVERY FUND ACT

The **Utah Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act**, <u>Utah Code § 38-11</u>, provides that homeowners who meet certain criteria can obtain a Certificate of Compliance, which certifies that the owner is protected from mechanics' liens and related lawsuits.

The sections below are instructions on how to apply for a Certificate:

If you contract for more than \$5,000: You MUST complete this application for Certificate of Compliance and submit the required supplemental documentation.

If you contracted for \$5,000 or *less*: You have the option to apply by completing the other *Affidavit of Compliance* located at dopl.utah.gov/residence-lien-recovery-fund/forms/.

The Residence Lien Recovery Fund staff can answer general questions. However, our staff cannot provide you legal advice about your specific legal circumstances or represent you in legal matters. You may contact the Residence Lien Recovery Fund at (801) 530-6719 or constructionprograms@utah.gov.

Please be aware it is your responsibility to understand the statues and rules that govern the Residence Lien Recovery Fund. The statues, rules and additional information may be found on the Fund's website located at: https://dopl.utah.gov/residence-lien-recovery-fund/

Respectfully

Aaron Godar

Lien Recovery Fund Manager



LIEN RECOVERY FUND – PRIVACY NOTICE

The information you provide on this form will be used to determine your eligibility for a disbursement from the Residence Lien Recovery Fund or a Certificate of Compliance through the Utah Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act. Failure to provide complete information as requested will result in the denial of your request as incomplete.

Information provided in this form is retained in accordance with state record retention laws. For specific information about the records retention for this form, please visit https://dopl.utah.gov/records

Many items collected by the Division are classified as "public" under the Governmental Records Access and Management Act, Utah Code § 63G-2-101 et. seq.. To comply with legal and regulatory requirements, we may share limited information about your application with authorized parties. This may include government agencies, permissive parties, or legal counsel. We may also share aggregated and de-identified data with relevant stakeholders for data analysis and reporting purposes.



CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE APPLICATION CHECKLIST

If you contracted for more than \$5,000 (based on total project cost, not just the portion regarding lien or lien amount): you MUST complete this application for Certificate of Compliance. If you contracted for less than \$5,000 please complete the other application for Certificate of Compliance available at double-utah.gov/residence-lien-recovery-fund/forms/.

IMPORTANT: If you are summoned in a foreclosure action, your application must be received by the Division within 30 days of when you are served with the summons. See <u>Utah Code § 38-1a-701(6)(d)</u>

Applications ARE NOT accepted by email or fax.

Ш	\$30 non-refundable application fee made payable to "DOPL-LRF"
	Complete Application. The following must be attached your application:
	A copy of your written contract with the general contractor.
	Evidence establishing the owner of the residence on the date the contract was
	entered (ex: warranty deed, title search, or copy of property tax notice showing you
	owned the property at the time contract was signed.)
	Evidence your contract was paid in full, for the entire project. (ex: canceled checks,
	HUD, affidavit)
	Evidence establishing the project completion date. (ex: copy of Certificate of
	Occupancy, final inspection, or date of work substantially complete/termination)
	Copies of liens filed on residence
	Evidence your contractor was licensed. (You can verify a license at: dopl.utah.gov)
	Certificates of Service proving that you sent a copy of this application and all
	attachments by certified mail/return receipt requested, to all lien claimants and the
	party with whom you contracted.

Submit in person or via express delivery:

Division of Professional Licensing Heber M Wells Building 160 E 300 S Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Submit in via US Postal Service:

Division of Professional Licensing PO BOX 146741 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741

For Questions:

Call (801) 530-6719 or (866) 275-3675 (Utah only) or E-mail: constructionprograms@utah.gov

Once an application is submitted to the Division, please allow 6-8 weeks for processing. Processing times can vary depending on current conditions.

Applications are NOT accepted by email or fax.

Applications are considered received by the Division on the date the Division stamps it as received. See Utah Admin Rule <u>R151-4-107</u> for computation of time.



APPL	ICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF COM	PLIANCE
Homeowner's Name:		
Address of Property:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Phone: ()	Email:	
Mailing Address:	r PO Box City	
Mailing address o		
ax i arcei ilambei (loulia oi	your annual property tax notice)	
	Attorney or Other, if applicable):	Last
Law FIIIII.		
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Phone: ()	Email:	



Original Contractor/Factory Built Housing Retailer/Real Estate Developer:		
Contact Name:		
Company Name:		
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
Phone: ()	Email:	
Original Contractor/Factory Built Hous (if applicable):	sing Retailer/Rea	al Estate Developer's Attorney
Name:		
Law Firm:		
Address:		
City:	State:	Zip:
City:		
City:		
Phone: () Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop	Email:	f liens filed on your property.
Phone: () Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop List all companies or individuals who have	Email:oy of all notice o	f liens filed on your property.
Phone: () Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop List all companies or individuals who have Company or Individual Name:	Email: by of all notice of the definition of th	f liens filed on your property. cs' lien on your residence.
Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop List all companies or individuals who have Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name:	Email: by of all notice of the filed a mechanic	f liens filed on your property. ics' lien on your residence.
Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop List all companies or individuals who have Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name:	Email: by of all notice of the filed a mechanic	f liens filed on your property. ics' lien on your residence.
Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop List all companies or individuals who have Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name:	Email: by of all notice of the filed a mechanic	f liens filed on your property. ics' lien on your residence.
Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop List all companies or individuals who have Company or Individual Name:	Email: by of all notice of the filed a mechanic	f liens filed on your property. ics' lien on your residence.
Mechanics' Lien Holders: Attach a cop List all companies or individuals who have Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name: Company or Individual Name:	Email: by of all notice of the filed a mechanic	f liens filed on your property. ics' lien on your residence.

Note: You are required to send a copy of this application and all attachments by certified mail, return receipt requested, to all lien claimants and the party with whom you contracted. <u>Utah Code § 38-1a-701(6)(e)</u>.



Die	d you enter into a written contract? <u>Utah Code § 38-11-204(4)(a)</u>		
	Yes. Attach a copy of the contract to this application No. Please explain:		
	equired documentation of licensure or exemption from licensure: leck which section best describes your situation & attach the supporting documentation:		
	Contracted with a licensed contractor – <u>Utah Code § 38-11-204(4)(a)(i)</u> : ▶ Attach evidence your contractor was licensed		
	Contracted with an exempt contractor – <u>Utah Code § 38-11-204(4)(a)(i)</u> : ▶ Attach evidence your contractor was exempt from licensure		
	Contracted with a real estate developer – <u>Utah Code § 38-11-204(4)(a)(ii)</u> : ➤ Attach evidence the developer had ownership interest in the property. ➤ Attach evidence the developer offered the residence for sale to the public. ➤ Attach a copy of the contract between the developer and a licensed contractor.		
Did	yment in Full: d you pay your original contractor in full according to the terms of the written contract and y modifications to that contract? – Utah Code § 38-11-204(4)(b) :		
	Yes. Attach documents demonstrating payment (ex: canceled checks, HUD settlement statement)		
	No. Please explain:		

BEFORE THE DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSING DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, STATE OF UTAH

FOR	HE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION A CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE THE RESIDENT OF		
Homeowners' Name LOCATED AT: Physical address		AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE, CERTIFICATION, AND RELEASE OF INFORMATION	
Tax]	Parcel Number		
STATI	E OF UTAH :ss.		
COUN	TY OF)		
I,	(Name of person completing application)	, being first duly sworn state as follows:	
	I am authorized to sign this affidavit for the lapplication.	nomeowner described and identified in this	
2.	2. The information contained in this application and the supporting documents are free from fraud, misrepresentation, or omission of material fact.		
3.	3. I will ensure that any information subsequently submitted to DOPL in conjunction with this application and/or its supporting documents will meet the same standard set forth above.		
4.	4. I understand that homeowners and/or their representatives who report false information, withhold information, or present false or misleading documentation pertinent to an application in order to receive a Certificate of Compliance from the Lien Recovery Fund to which they are not entitled will be disqualified from receiving said Certificate and may be subject to both criminal prosecution and civil penalties.		
5.	. I understand that this application will be classified as a public record and will be available for inspection by the public except with regard to the release of information which is classified as controlled, private, or protected under the Government Records Access and Management Act or restricted by other law.		
6.	 Type of Residence: (check the appropriate box) □ Detached single family dwelling □ Duplex (single building with two separate living units) □ More than two living units in building 		

7. Date	construction of the project was complete	e: (you must check one be	ox & fill in date)
	Certificate of Occupancy	Date	
	Final Inspection	Date	
	No substantial work left to complete	Date	
	Original contractor was terminated	Date	
8. Date	the residence was/will be occupied: (you	ı must check one box & j	îll in date)
	Do not intend to occupy	Date	
	Have occupied the residence since	Date	
	Will occupy the residence on	Date	
9. How	the residence is/will be used: (check the	appropriate box)	
	Owner's primary residence		
	Owner's secondary residence		
	Tenant or Lessee's primary residence		
	Tenant or Lessee's secondary residence	;	
	Other (explain)		
specifically in application, t Recovery Fun	norize all persons, institutions, government included in the preceding characterization to release to the Division of Professional and Manager, any files, records or informational Professional Licensing to properly evaluation	n, which are set forth direction. Licensing, State of Utah ation of any type reasons	ectly or by reference in this or the Residence Lien
I declare und	er criminal penalty under the law of Utal	n that the foregoing is tru	e and correct.
Signature of	Affiant:		Date:
Signature or	Amant.		Datti
Printed Nan	ne:		

Homeowner's Name	
Homeowner's Address	
Homeowner's City, State, & Zip	
Homeowner's Telephone Number	
	PROFESSIONAL LICENSING MERCE, STATE OF UTAH
Homeowner's Name v Original Contractor	CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE To the Original Contractor
I hereby certify that on the day of the CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE APPLICAT	ION to
for services provided on property owned by	(original contractor's name) (Homeowner's Name)
by depositing a copy in the U.S. mail, return receipt to Contractor:	requested, postage pre-paid, addressed to:
Street Address (including Apt/Unit/Ste #) and/or PO Box	
City: S	tate: Zip:
DATED thisday of(month)	(year) ·
<u>.</u>	Signature

Homeowner's Name	
Homeowner's Address	
Homeowner's City, State, & Zip	
Homeowner's Telephone Number	
	PROFESSIONAL LICENSING MERCE, STATE OF UTAH
Homeowner's Name v Original Contractor	CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE To the Lien Holder
I hereby certify that on the day of the CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE APPLICAT	
for services provided on property owned by	(uen notaers name) (homeowner's name)
by depositing a copy in the U.S. mail, return receipt	
Lien Holders:	
Address: Street Address (including Apt/Unit/Ste #) and/or PO Box	
City: S	tate: Zip:
DATED thisday of (month)	(year) ·
_	Signature