
Additional Jurisdictions

District of Columbia: LICSW

American Samoa

Guam: LCSW

Northern Mariana Islands: LCSW

Puerto Rico

U.S. Virgin Islands: CISW

Endorsement to Utah:
Licensed Clinical Social Worker
Utah Statute:  58-60
Qualifications: 
Each applicant for licensure as licensed 
clinical social worker shall:
• earn a minimum of a master’s degree in 

social work from a program accredited 
by CSWE or CASWE;

• have completed a minimum of 4,000 
hours of clinical social work training, with 
at least 1,000 hours in mental health, as 
outlined in 58-60-205 and R156-60c; 
and

• pass the ASWB Clinical Exam or the 
California Clinical Social Workers Exam.

KEY
Equivalent to Utah License

Must provide documentation of passing ASWB Clinical Exam

Additional Documentation Needed, see below

No Equivalent State or Territory License to Utah, see below

Information in this document is subject to change at anytime, and is not a guarantee of 
meeting the requirements for licensure.  Please see the next page for additional instructions. 

Last updated: 3/25/2021
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Additional Requirements

Jurisdiction Additional Items/Information Required
West Virginia Submit documentation of completing a minimum of 4,000 post-graduate training in clinical social work, with at least 1000 hours of training 

in mental health therapy.  

Jurisdictions with no equivalent State or Territory-Wide License: 
If no equivalent state or territory-wide license is issued by a jurisdiction, local jurisdiction licenses (such as those issued by a city or county) or non-equivalent state 
or territory licenses may be used to assist with documentation of compliance with some Utah qualifications.  Applicants must submit a verification of the license they 
feel may demonstrate components of Utah qualifications that includes documentation of hours, exams, and other qualifications completed to obtain the license.  
Additionally, providing information regarding the scope of the license will assist the Division in determining equivalency.  

For jurisdictions that do not meet the minimum requirements for endorsement outlined in 58-1-302, applicants may still be able to use their current license to satisfy 
some of the requirements for licensure.  In addition to a license verification from the jurisdiction, see the information below needed to correct deficiencies in 
endorsement for specific states or territories. 

Application Process
To apply to Utah using one of the licenses deemed equivalent (jurisdictions in green on the above map), you must have held the license type indicated on the map for 
at least one year.  Additionally, the license must be active and in good standing. 

In addition to a complete application for licensure and the appropriate fees, you must also submit an official verification of your license.  If you have been subject to 
previous disciplinary actions on any professional license or answer yes to any of the questions found on the qualifying questionnaires within the application, you will 
be required to provide additional information regarding those incidents.  See the application for complete instructions. 

Note:  All endorsement applicants are required to submit documentation of at least 3 hours of continuing education in the area of professional ethics and 
responsibilities and 2 hours in suicide prevention.  Hours must have been obtained in the last three years.    

Jurisdictions with Dual Scope
Jurisdictions in blue combine both the generalist and clinical scope of practice into one license.  In order to be found equivalent to Utah, you must submit verification 
of passing the ASWB Clinical Exam.  If took the Advanced Generalist Exam, you may apply for the Utah CSW license. 

Alternatively, applicants from any jurisdiction highlighted in blue or yellow may apply through the endorsement requirements outlined in 58-60-115, which requires 
documentation of 4,000 hours of lawful practice, of which 1,000 hours must be in mental health therapy.  See our application for additional instructions.
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