
Additional Jurisdictions

District of Columbia

American Samoa

Guam

Northern Mariana Islands

Puerto Rico

U.S. Virgin Islands

Endorsement to Utah: MFT
Utah Statute:  58-60
Qualifications: 
Each applicant for licensure as a marriage 

and family therapist shall:

(a) completion of a masters or doctorate 

degree in marriage and family therapy from:

(i) a program accredited by COAMFTE; 

or

(ii) an accredited institution meeting 

criteria for approval established by rule;

(b) have completed a minimum hours of 

postgraduate marriage and family therapy 

training as defined by statute and rule; and

(c) pass the AMFTRB

KEY

Equivalent to Utah License

Additional Documentation Needed, see below

No Equivalent State or Territory License to Utah, see below

Information in this document is subject to change at anytime, and is not a guarantee of 

meeting the requirements for licensure.  Please see the next page for additional instructions. 

Last updated: 1/06/2022



Additional Requirements

Additional Items/Information Required

Documentation of completing a minimum of 500 hours of couple or family therapy with two or more clients participating and at least one physically present.  Please 

document hours using either the “Supervision for Post-Graduate Mental Health Practice Hours” if hours were completed as an intern/extern/associate/etc. or 

“Verification of Active Practice as an MFT” is completed as a licensed MFT.   Forms are included in the application.  If unable to document relational hours as 

described, you may apply using the method described below for jurisdictions with no equivalent license. 

Jurisdictions with no equivalent State or Territory-Wide License: 

If no equivalent state or territory-wide license is issued by a jurisdiction, you many still qualify for endorsement by providing documentation that you have engaged in 

the lawful practice of the profession for which licensure is sought for at least 4,000 hours, of which 1,000 hours are in mental health therapy.  Hours must be 

accompanied by verification of licensure from the state, district, or territory where the practice occurred for the entire time used in documenting the 4,000 hours.    

For jurisdictions that do not meet the minimum requirements for endorsement outlined in 58-1-302, applicants may still be able to use their current license to satisfy 

some of the requirements for licensure.  In addition to a license verification from the jurisdiction, see the information below needed to correct deficiencies in 

endorsement for specific states or territories. 

Application Process
To apply to Utah using one of the licenses deemed equivalent (jurisdictions in green on the above map), you must have held the license type indicated on the map for 

at least one year.  Additionally, the license must be active and in good standing. 

In addition to a complete application for licensure and the appropriate fees, you must also submit an official verification of your license.  If you have been subject to 

previous disciplinary actions on any professional license or answer yes to any of the questions found on the qualifying questionnaires within the application, you will 

be required to provide additional information regarding those incidents.  See the application for complete instructions.   

All endorsement applicants are required to submit documentation the following continuing education hours:

• 2 hours of suicide prevention,

• 3 hours of ethics related to the practice of marriage and family therapy.  


