
By Application By Endorsement
• produce certified transcripts documenting completion of a doctorate 

degree from an APA accredited program; 
• have completed a minimum of 4,000 hours of psychology training as 

defined by division rule under Section 58-1-203 in not less than two years 
and under the supervision of a psychologist supervisor approved by the 
division in collaboration with the board;

• to be qualified to engage in mental health therapy, document successful 
completion of not less than 1,000 hours of supervised training in mental 
health therapy obtained after completion of a master's level of education in 
psychology, which training may be included as part of the 4,000 hours of 
training required in Subsection (1)(d), and for which documented evidence 
demonstrates not less than one hour of supervision for each 40 hours of 
supervised training was obtained under the direct supervision of a 
psychologist, as defined by rule;

• pass the EPPP.

• provide official verification that you are licensed in good standing in 
another state, district, or territory of the United States;

• provide satisfactory evidence you have been actively practicing 
psychology in that jurisdiction for not less than 2,000 hours or one year, 
whichever is greater;

• provide satisfactory evidence of one of the following:
(i) the education, supervised experience, examination, and all other 

requirements for licensure in that jurisdiction at the time you 
obtained licensure were substantially equivalent to the licensure 
requirements for a psychologist in Utah at the same time;

(ii) you currently hold Board Certified Specialist status in good standing 
from the American Board of Professional Psychology;

(iii) you are currently credentialed as a health service provider in 
psychology by the National Register of Health Service Providers in 
Psychology; or

(iv) you currently hold a Certificate of Professional Qualification (CPQ) 
granted by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology 
Boards;

Endorsement to Utah: Psychologist

Information in this document is subject to change at any time, and is not a guarantee of meeting the requirements for licensure. For complete information, see Utah Psychologist Licensing Act 
58-61 and Utah Psychologist Licensing Act Rule, R156-61.

All applicants for licensure in Utah must submit the Utah application with appropriate supporting documentation and pay a 
fee. There are two pathways to licensure as a Psychologist in Utah:  
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NOTE:  All applicants must submit fingerprint cards to be used to complete a criminal background check and 
pass the Utah Psychologist Law and Ethics Exam.
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