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Utah Controlled Substance Database Program

“The Utah Controlled Substance Database (CSD) Program was legislatively created and put into
effect on July 1, 1995. The CSD collects data on the dispensing of Schedule II-V drugs from
[most] retail, institutional, and outpatient hospital pharmacies, and in-state/out-of-state mail order
pharmacies. The data is disseminated to authorized individuals and used to identify potential
cases of drug over-utilization, misuse, and over-prescribing of controlled substances (CS)

throughout the state.”

Controlled Substance Database Inputs
The Controlled Substance Database Act (CSDA) mandates CS information collection from five

direct sources (Figure 1):

e Pharmacy Data via RxGov
o Facilitation of data collection is contracted through RxGov [R156-37f-104].
= In-state pharmacies and non-resident pharmacies submit CS information in
real-time [UCA§58-371-203(1)(a)(i)] OR 24 hour batches or next business
day [UCA§58-37t-203(1)(a)(i1)], whichever is later.

e Hospitals
o Hospitals submit a report to CSD within three days of admission of patients, aged
12 years or older, admitted for controlled substance overdose or poisonings.

[UCA§26-21-26].

e Justice System
o The Justice System sends certain convictions of “produce, manufacture, or
dispense, or to possess with intent to produce, manufacture, or dispense, a
controlled or counterfeit substance... [UCA§58-37-8(1)(e)].
o Justice System sends certain driving under the influence (DUI) reports [UCA§41-
6a-502(4) or UCA§41-6a-502.5(5)(b)].



e Office of Medical Examiner

o Office of Medical Examiner sends a report of death resulted from poisoning or

overdose involving a prescribed controlled substance [UCA§26-4-10.5(1)].

o State Electronic Verification System submits medical cannabis information [UCA§26-

61a-103(2)(h)] collected from the following sources

o Issuance and revocation of medical cannabis card [patient card UCA§26-61a-
201(13) & caregiver card UCA§26-61a-202(9)]

o Medical Cannabis Dispensing [UCA§26-61a-502(6)(a)(i1)]

Figure 1: CSDB Data Collection Sources
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Figure 1: Entities that supply information to the CSD



Controlled Substance Database Team Required Actions

The CSDA details seven categories of controlled substance data collection requiring Department
of Professional Licensing (DOPL) action (Figure 2). The following summarizes the processes,
CSD means of notification, educational topic(s), Practitioner educational requirements, and
associated penalty if Practitioner is non-compliant with mandated educational requirement, and

further CSD team course of actions if required according to the CSDA.

CSD Team Actions

P

Justice

* Enter the JS report daily
UCA§58-37f-703(1)(a)

« Add to CSD practitioner(s) info who gave
Rx UCA858-37f-703(1)(b)

« Provide each practitioner court report
UCA858-37f-703(1)(c)(i)

« Obtain information in CSD linking
practitioner to Rx of convicted person
UCA858-37f-703(1)(c)(ii)

2

Patients
+ Grant or deny patient record request
within 30 days and notify patient of
decision within 35 days of receiving the
request.
UCA858-37{-203(5)(b)

H

(Within 3 days of receiving a hospital report)
« Identify practitioner(s) and provide a copy

of the hospital report to the
practitioner(s). UCA§58-37f-702(1)(b)

Figure 2: CSD Teams Actions

Pharmacies
+ Provide pharmacies the ability to submit
CS data in real time or in daily batches
within one business day
UCA§58-37f-203(1)(a)

* Receive prescription errors or missing
prescription data within 7 business days.
UCA§58-37-203(1)(c)

Third
Parties
* Notify a patient-designated third party the
date of and the fact that a CS was
prescribed each time a CS is prescribed
to the patient.
UCA§58-37f-301(5)

Medical
Examiner

(Within 5 days of ME report)

* Provide practitioner a copy of ME report
UCA858-37f-702(2)(a)(i)

« MAY offer an educational visit
UCA858-37f-702(2)(a)(ii)

Practitioners
« Identify practitioners who:

- Fail to register within 30 days of CSL
UCA§58-37(-401(2)(a)

o Fail to register at time of license
renewal every 2 years (Penalty: CSL
revoked). UCA§58-37f-401(2)(b)

- Fail to check initial Rx
UCA858-37f-304(2)(a)

- Fail to periodically check repeated RX
UCAE§58-37-304(2)(b)(i)

* Generate report for:

- Highest dispensing

- Opioid ratio (MME)

- Highest searches

- No dispensing and searches

- 6 or more practitioners in 1 month.

- Prescribe but does not search
UCA§58-371-304(5)(a) (i) &ii)&iii)

NOTE: Data Identifiers are:

« Pharmacy RX data
« practitioner NPI, SLN, or DEA#

Figure 2: CSD Team Actions



Practitioner:

A. Pattern of Prescribing: “The division shall review and identify any Practitioner who has a
pattern of prescribing opioids not in accordance with the recommendations of ...”
[UCA§58-37-304(5)(a)(1)&(11)&(iii)]

1. CSD TEAM PROCESS
o CSD team creates a monthly report listing providers who prescribe but do not
search the CSD (Figure 3).
o The CSD business analyst generates a monthly report of the top 30 practitioners
with the highest number of opioid prescriptions with no CSD searches. The CSD
Team meets with the AD team to identify which practitioners on the list to contact.
o Once the AD Practitioner training list has been created, the AD contacts each
Practitioner to schedule training.
2. MEANS OF NOTIFCATION
o AD staff sends a certified letter to the Practitioner. Followed up an email or a
phone call.
3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
o Best practices education must be offered UCA§58-37-304(5)(b)
4. PRACTITIONER EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENT
o  Voluntary UCA§58-37f-304(5)(c)
5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE
o  None
6. CONTROL SUBSTANCE DATABASE ACT REQUIRED FOLLOWUP ACTIONS

o) None



CSD Practitioner Outlier Report

Practitioner Outlier List with

Process (ORR)

Staff meets wtih AD staff to
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to visit
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practitioner practitioner

I

Assign practitioners to AD Telephone Send Pre-Test to
or Investigators provider practitioner

Send training invitation by
certified mail to
practitioners

Schedule in-person or
virtual training

Figure 3: CSD 30-Day Report

Figure 3: CSD Practitioner Outlier Report

B. CSD registration requirement. CSD Database Registration Required. New CS license
Practitioners (excluding veterinarians) must within 30 days of obtaining a federal Drug
Enforcement Administration number (DEA#), must register with the Utah CSD program
[UCA§58-37f-401(2)(a)]. The rationale allows the DEA time for processing once a state
CS license is approved. Every seven-days the DEA file is uploaded, and potential new
registrants can be identified.

1. CSD TEAM PROCESS
o None (in development to identify new DEA’s each week)
2. MEANS OF NOTIFICATION
o None (Boards reach out to licensee for registration once approved)

3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC



o  None (Practitioner Tutorial is required each renewal cycle)
4. PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
o None (Per the law, practitioners should be completing the Tutorial before
registering with the CSD)
5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE [UCA§58-37t-401(4)(a)-(¢c)]
o Refuse to issue license
o Refuse to renew the individual’s license

o Revoke, suspend, restrict, or place on probation

C. Practitioner Tutorial. Practitioners, other than veterinarians, must participate in the online

tutorial and pass the online test described in Section 58-37f-402, in order to register to use the

database.

1.

CSD TEAM PROCESS
o None (No notification exists when a practitioner completes the tutorial. Help is only
offered if they run into a problem)
MEANS OF NOTIFICATION
o None
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
o CSD Practitioner tutorial (0.5 CEU)
e Updated by DOPL as needed
PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
o MUST take online training AND pass online test to register [UCA§58-37f-401(3)]
ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE [UCA§58-37f-401(4)(a)-(¢c)]
o Refuse to issue license
o Refuse to renew the individual’s license

o Revoke, suspend, restrict, or place on probation



I1. Hospital Overdose [UCA§58-371-702(1)(b)(1)]

1.

CSD TEAM PROCESS
o After receiving a report [of any controlled substance OD or poisoning] from a general

hospital, the division shall, within three business days attempt to identify each CS

Practitioner AND
o Provide each Practitioner:
e with a copy of the hospital report [UCA§58-37t-702(1)(b)(i1)(A) & (B)] AND
e the information obtained from the database that led the division to determine that
the practitioner receiving the information may have prescribed the controlled
substance to the person named in the report. [UCA§58-37f-702(1)(b)(ii)(B)]
MEANS OF NOTIFICATION
o Practitioners are emailed a one-time letter
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
o None
PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

o None

. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE

o None

III. Medical Examiner [UCA§58-37f-702(2)(a)(1)]. The division shall, within five days of

receiving the Office of the Medical Examiner (OME) report [all deaths, any CS, all ages], provide

OME identified Practitioner(s) with a copy of the report AND May offer an educational visit to
review the report [UCA§58-37f-702(2)(a)(i1)].

1.

CSD TEAM PROCESS (Figure 4)

o  CSD receives OME report. The CSD staff uploads data into the database, and emails
Practitioner with a copy of the OME report and an offer for training.

MEANS OF NOTIFICATION

o  CSD staff emails Practitioner.

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC

o  Review of OME overdose (OD) or poisoning report and CSD dashboards.

PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT



o  Voluntary [UCA§58-37£-702(2)(b)]
5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE

o) None

Office of the Medical
Examiner Report Process

AD Team checks
email status Able to

No. - contact via No.
phone

. Email
AD sends email delivered?

with the OME
report and training
invite to
practitioner

¥
Add to
Update email and tracking
Semd new email extend training sheet

P invite L
AD staff notified if
practitioner is on

the report

Email correct?

CSD Team uploads
patient PPI

Education Schedule
requested? training

Reply from

Email opened? £
practitioner?

OME sends report

to CSD

Figure 4: Office of Medical Examiner Report Process

IV. Justice [UCA§58-37f-703(1)(a)]. When the division receives a report from a court for DUI of
a CS, it shall be entered daily into the database; AND an attempt to identify each practitioner who
may have prescribed a CS to the person convicted [UCA§58-37f-703(1)(b)]; AND Provide each
Practitioner: 1) A copy of the court report [UCA§58-37t-703(1)(c)(i)] 2) Information from the
database that led the division to believe they may have prescribed the CS to the convicted person.

[UCA§58-37£-703(1)(c)(ii)]



. CSD TEAM PROCESS (Figure 5)

o  CSD staff enters the justice system CS DUI report into the CSD daily. The division
sends a one-time email to all Practitioner(s) who have prescribed prescriptions,
regardless of drug classification, a copy of the CS DUI conviction report. The letter
includes a statement explaining that the division has made no determination of the
propriety of their prescribing habits.

. MEANS OF NOTIFICATION
o  CSD staff sends an email to the Practitioner

. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
o  None

. PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
o  None

. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE

o None

' Drug-Related Conviction Report
Process

Court sends drug-related
conviction report to CSD

CSD Team
matches names
and runs aCS
report

CSD Team prepares letter
and emails it to all
prescribers listed in the
the CS Report

No Action

Figure 5: Drug-Related Conviction Report Process
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V. Pharmacy
A. Forged, False, Altered prescriptions presented by an individual [UCA§58-37-201(6)(d)]
1. CSD TEAM PROCESS
o  When an individual is reported to the CSD for fraudulent activity, the complainant is
advised to contact local law enforcement and send an email to

DOPLInvestigations@utah.gov. DOPL Investigations will determine whether to send a

Pharmacy Alert.
2. MEANS OF NOTIFICATION
o DOPL Investigations sends an Pharmacy Alert
3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
o None
4. PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
o None
5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE

o None

B. Failure by pharmacist to submit information and correct errors [UCA§58-37f-203]
(Figure 6)
1. CSD TEAM PROCESS
o  Submission — Daily, a check of chain pharmacies is run for missing data. Non-chain
pharmacies are checked on a seven-day business lag.
. The source of errors are evaluated to be either RxGov or vendor/pharmacy.

o RxGov - files are requested from RxGov and manually uploaded into
the database.

o Vendor and Pharmacy — an email is sent to the pharmacist in charge
notifying them of the deficiency and a record is created in the seven-
day non-compliance spreadsheet for tracking.

o  Error Correction Follow-up
e RxGov Errors - Pharmacies receive a daily email from RxGov notifying them

of errors in submissions.

11
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o RxGov errors include formatting issues sent by the pharmacy (missing
a field, field too long or incorrect format, etc.)

e The CSD Team runs a report on a 48- hour business lag and sends an email to
the pharmacy to remind them of errors to be corrected. These file errors are
placed on the non-compliance report with a due date of seven business days

e Bridge Fatal Errors - Pharmacies are notified when there is an error (incorrect
DEA, incorrect NDC) in the data that was submitted to the State by RxGov.
CSD Team then adds the record(s) to the non-compliance report with a due
date of seven business days.

2. MEANS OF NOTIFICATION
o CSD sends initial notification sent by email. Non-compliance report is updated daily and a
phone call is made to the pharmacy when pharmacy has not made correction or submitted
data. If non-submitted data or correct persists after 3 emails and a phone call, the CSD
Administrator is notified to determine if a investigation is needed. At the end of each
week, fatal folders are audited by CSD Team to ensure any overlooked records are
addressed.
3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
Assist pharmacy and/or vendors with submission issues regarding the requirement to report each
day of the year either with data or zero/null report.
o Pharmacy
e Training on error correction on the RxGov site.(pharmacy
e Training on correcting fatal errors depending on the software the pharmacy has; a
corrected record being resubmitted, or a Universal Claim form being submitted on
RxGov.
o Practitioner
e Ifa practitioner calls about a missing prescription, they are informed to contact the
pharmacy to make sure the pharmacy records are accurate. If a discrepancy exists the
practitioner should advise the pharmacy and ask them to contact the CSD.
4. PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
o None

5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE [UCA§58-37f-602]

12



o Potential Penalties
(a) Refuse to issue a license to the pharmacist-in-charge or the pharmacy;
(b) Refuse to renew the license of the pharmacist-in-charge or the pharmacy;
(c) Revoke, suspend, restrict, or place on probation the license of the pharmacist-in-
charge or the pharmacy;
(d) Issue a public reprimand to the pharmacist-in-charge or the pharmacy;
(e) Issue a cease and desist order to the pharmacist-in-charge, the pharmacy, or the third

party; and

(f) Impose a civil penalty on the pharmacist-in-charge, the pharmacy, or the third party of

up to $1,000 for each dispensed prescription regarding which the required information is

not submitted in accordance with the requirements of Section 58-37{-203.

Failure of Pharmacist to Submit Info and
Correct Errors

The CSD Team
manually
uploads the files

Checks chain ) The CSD team RxGov sends
pharmacies daily [ requests files files

CSD Team identifies

cause of error

The CSD team sends an
48 hours-7 days email to the Pharmacist

W inCharge (PIC) and Has the PIC

B tracks status in the resolved the

7-Day Compliance issue?
Report

NOTE: This loop continues until the issue is
resolved. If the issue still isn't resalved after 1
month, the CSD Administrator determines whether
to refer to investigators.

Figure 6: Failure of Pharmacist to Submit Info and Correct Errors

Figure 6: Failure of Pharmacist to Submit Info and Correct Errors
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VI. Patient Records
A. Written request for individual to obtain CSD records [UCA§58-37f-203(4)]
1. CSD TEAM PROCESS (Figure 7)
o  Upon receiving a completed “Request for Information” form, the CSD team verifies
identification of the individual through in-person identification check or notary.

o The CSD will provide individuals with a copy of records that pertain to them
only, or a minor child upon proof of guardianship (birth certificate, divorce
decree).

J Send records to a person or entity authorized by a third party release.

o Original copy, notarized, a copy of the id
e Individual can request an accountability list of who accessed their records.
Request must include a date range.
2. MEANS OF NOTIFICATION
o CSD team corresponds by email, phone or in-person and delivers reports through USPS,
email, or in-person
3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
o Practitioners, Dispensers, and Proxies should not release reports to patients or family
members and be directed to contact the CSD team directly.
4. PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
o None
5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE
o Unlawful release or use of database information-criminal and civil penalties [UCA§58-
37£-601].
o 3" degree felony if knowingly and intentionally

e C(lass C Misdemeanor negligently or recklessly

14



CSD Request for Information
Process

The CSD team
receives
"Request for
Information” form

CSD verifies
identification

_‘H‘—_

CSD delivers report: *NOTE: e
- USPS - -Reports only to the individual

- Email - -Only CSD is authorized to give a
- In-person - patient report

Figure 7: CSD Request for Information Process

Figure 7: CSD Request for Information Process

B. Correction of incorrect patient information in the CSD [UCA§58-371-203(5)] (Figure 8)
1. CSD TEAM PROCESS
o Upon written request, the CSD team reaches out to Pharmacy or Pharmacy vendor to
verify if data was submitted incorrectly.

= Within 30 days of request, a decision must be made whether their petition is
correct. Notification must be sent to patient within 35 days of their request

o Pharmacy or pharmacy vendor submits documentation, and if correction needed CSD
team will make correction.

2. MEANS OF NOTIFICATION

15



o CSD Team informs patient if change is accepted or denied. If accepted, the CSD Team

makes the correction. If denied, the patient may submit an appeal to the Dept. of

Commerce; notification must be made within 60 days from original request.

3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC

o None

4. PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

o None

5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE

o None

CSD Correction of Incorrect
Patient Information

The CSD team
receives
a written request from
the patient

The CSD team checks
with the pharmacy or
pharmacy vendor to
confirm information.
(30 days to complete)

a need for the
pharmacy or pharmacy
vendor to submit an
additional
request

The pharmacy or
pharmacy vendor
submits request

The CSD Team informs the patient
it was accepted and corrects the
CSD Data

Is the new information
correct?

The CSD Team informs the patient
it was not accepted and that the
patient may appeal to the Dept of
Commerce within 60 days of the
original request

Figure 8: CSD Correction of Incorrect Patient Information

Figure 8: CSD Correction of Incorrect Patient Information
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VII. Third-party notifications [UCA§58-37{-301(5)]
Provide information to individual’s designated third-party each time a controlled substance
prescription is dispensed. (Figure 9)
1. CSD TEAM PROCESS
o  Upon written request from an individual, with proper identification, the CSD team will
record the request and begin notification to a third-party individual.
o  The CSD Team checks daily for new dispensing and if found sends an email to the

third-party designee. If no new dispensing, then no action required.

2. MEANS OF NOTIFICATION

o All communication is done through mail or email.
3. CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DATABASE TEAM’S EDUCATION TOPIC
o None
4. PRACTITIONER EDUCATION REQUIREMENT
o None
5. ASSOCIATED PENALTY FOR NON-COMPLIANCE
o None

CSD
3rd Party Notification
Process

The CSD team receives
a written request
(Identification Check)

The CSD team enters
the request into the
module to begin the 3rd

Party Notification
B The CSD Team sends a 3rd Party
i Notification

The CSD team checks
daily for applicable Rx
records

No action taken

Figure 9: CSD 3rd Party Notification Process

Figure 9: CSD 3™ Party Notification Process
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Entities Granted Access and Utilization of the CSD
Access to the CSD is divided into five general occupational categories [UCA§58-371-301]
(Figure 9):

1. Practitioners of CSD

2. CS Pharmacies

3. Department of Health and Human Services

4. Law Enforcement

5. CSD Team
Entities within each category may have statutory limitations regarding the type of data viewed
and/or collected. Presently, the CSD does not have the capability of limiting data field access
based on user occupational classification or account credentialing and as such, those with
statutorily limited CSD access, in actuality, have full data field access with the only protective

barrier to confidential prescription information being the honor system.

The CSD team is responsible for vetting and granting in-direct access requests for CSD
information. In-direct utilizers of the CSD include the following individuals:
o Recipients of a prescription entered into the CSD
o CS recipients requesting information of individual(s) who have received the
requestor’s personal CSD information and lastly

o Third-party notification of a recipient’s (pre-authorized) CSD report

18



UTAH HEALTH

CSD TEAM & LAW ENFORCEMENT CS PRACTITIONERS CS PHARMACIES
HUMAN SERVICES
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UCA§58-371-301 (3)(a)

Office of
Internal Audit & Program
Integrity employees
UCAg58-371-301 (2)(n)

Managed Care
Organizations with
written agreements

UCASS8-371-301 (2)(0) & () & (i)

[_ Board Member (if
monitoring a practitioner

on probation)
I_ UCASS8-371-301 (2)(c)()

=

Emergency Dept
Staff
(Pending Access)
UCAS58-371-301 (4)(a)

Utah Medicaid Fraud Unit
UCA§58-37-301 (2)(v)

Workers' Compensation

. Non-employee UHHS Joint Investigators with L
%ggg:_ﬁ::ﬁgf;{ns researchers CSD Team (limited info) Physicians KEY
UCAS58-371-301 (2)(f) UCA58-371-301 (2)(a)i)(4) LGASSESTISOL(2) )R
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Direct Access

l— CS Patients
UCAE58-374-301 (2)(p)

Mental Health Practitioners
in consultation with a

- licensed practitioner
UCASSE-371-301 (2)(aNi(E) UCAS58-371-301 (2)(0) & (ii)(A) & (B)

Utah Opioid Fatality
Review Committee
UCAgS8-371-301 (2)(n)

Referred by Division to

Indirect Access

With a valid CS Search
Warrant
UCAS58-371-301 (2)(1)

[;'Iil’d Parties authorized UHHS-assigned
by a CS patient employees

L UCASS8-371-301(5)(a)(1) _J LUCAﬁEB-S?f—SUl(Z)(e)(D&GD

Figure 10: CSD Users

Figure 10: CSD Authorized Users
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Controlled Substance Database Legislation
(Date listed is the date it became effective, text displayed is from the summation of the bill)

Date Bill Number, Bill Summary
Title

2023 H.B. 288 This bill creates certain requirements for the dispensing of
Opioid opioids.
Dispensing
Requirements
H.B.355 This bill amends the Utah Data Research Advisory Board.
Utah Data
Research
Center
Amendments
S.B. 86 This bill creates an exemption from liability under the Utah
Drug Testing Controlled Substances Act for cer_tain entities t.hat temporarily
and possess a controlled or counterfeit substan.ce in order to y
Paraphernalia conduqt g'test on the substance fqr a certain reason; .modlflles
Amendments the definition of "drug paraphernalia" to exclude certain testing

products or equipment; and makes technical and conforming
changes.

2022 H.B. 29 Concerns offenses relating to the operation of a motor vehicle.
Driving No effect upon the CSD, minor code update
Offenses
Amendments

2021 H.B. 85 Amends the Controlled Substance Database Act. Authorizes
Controlled the [.)ivis.,ion of Qccupational and Professionall Liqensing to
Substance prow_de |_nformat|on to a managed care or_ganlzatlon _under
Database certa!ln.cwcumstances; creates an exception to certain
Access restrictions on access to the controlled substance database;
Amendments and makes technical changes.
S.B. 76 Provides access to the controlled substance database to the
Controlled Utah Medicaid.
Substance
Database
Access
S.B. 177 Amends provisions related to pharmacy. Addresses
Pharmacy corrections to data submitted to the controlled substance
Practice database controlled substance database
Revisions

2020 H.B. 285 Enacts a health program for health care professionals to
Utah provide an alternative to public disciplinary action for licensees

Professionals

who have substance use disorders.
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Health

Program

H.B. 423 Adds pharmacy interns and technicians to persons with

Probate access to the Controlled Substance Database.

Modifications

S.B. 23 Modifies provisions related to the Division of Occupational and

Traffic Safety Profgsgional Licensing (the division).58-37f-302. Other

Amendments restrictions on access to database.

S.B. 145 Amends provisions relating to the practice of pharmacy,

Pharmacy exempts controlled substances dispensed for administration or

Practice Act use in a health care

Amendments

2019 H.B. 186 Amends the Controlled Substance Database Act. Permits the

State Land Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to consult

P with Practitioners and health care systems on best practices

urchase . .

Restrictions with .re.spect to prescrlblng controlled .s.ut.)stances. Amends '
provisions relating to steps that the division must take after it
receives a report from a medical examiner relating to an
overdose involving a controlled substance. Makes certain
records protected under the Government Records Access and
Management Act.

H.B. 449 Amends the Controlled Substances Act and the Controlled

Controlled Substance Database Act. Reschedules Tramadol from

Substances Schedule V to Schedule IV; and creates a reporting

Amendments | requirement for certain non-controlled substances.

2018 H.B. 37 Modifies statutory provisions related to the Division of

Occupational
and
Professional

Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL).

Licensing
Amendments
H.B. 52 Addresses statutorily required reports related to health and
Health and human services topics.
Human
Services
Reports
H.B. 127 Changes the requirements for checking the controlled
Controlled substance database. Delays enforcement of the requirements
in this bill to check the controlled substance database.
Substance oo X o ;
Modifies the authority of the Division of Occupational and
Database Act ; ) . )
Professional Licensing to review the controlled substance
Amendments

database to identify any Practitioner who may be
overprescribing opioids. Grants the Division of Occupational
and Professional Licensing the authority to provide education
or training to certain Practitioners and to take other
enforcement action. Modifies enforcement provisions.
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Requires a prescriber to check the Controlled Substance
Database for information about a patient before the first time
the prescriber gives a prescription to a patient for a Schedule |l
opioid or a Schedule Il opioid, with the following exceptions:
emergency situations and times when the Database or the
Internet are down)

H.B. 158 Modifies the requirements related to providing information to
Electronic DOPL for inclusion in the controlled substance database.
. Modifies who may be penalized for failing to submit
Information . . .
information to the controlled substance database as required
or Data } )
. by state statute; and makes technical changes.
Privacy Act
Modifications
H.B. 434 Adds certain substances to the lists of controlled substances
and Schedule | controlled substances.
Controlled
Substance
Act
Amendments
S.B. 116 This bill modifies parts of the Utah Code to make technical
Revisor’ corrections, including eliminating references to repealed
evisor's g . . . :
Technical provisions, making minor wording changes, updating cross-

Corrections
to Utah Code

references, and correcting numbering.

2017 H.B. 50 = Limits prescriptions for Schedule Il and Schedule IlI opiates
.. for acute conditions to 7 days, with exceptions (e.g., 30-day
Opioid . : o
P .- supply for post-surgical, chronic conditions).
rescribing . .
Regulations * Requires a prescrlbe_r ’_[o check the Controlled Substance
Database when prescribing a Schedule Il or Schedule I
opioid to a patient for the first time, with exceptions (e.g., < 3-
day supply, post-surgical, prescriber knows the patient’s
history).
H.B. 193 Modifies parts of the Utah Code to make technical corrections,
Revisor' including eliminating references to repealed provisions,
evisor's . . ; .
Technical making minor wording changes, updating cross-references,

Corrections
to Utah Code

correcting numbering, and fixing errors that were created from
the previous year's session.

H.B.110 = Adds several spice and bath salt analogs as “listed controlled
Controlled substances” in the Utah Controlled Substances Act.
= Adds U-47700 (“pink”) to Schedule | of the Utah Controlled
Substance
Amendments Substances Act.
= Adds Acetyl fentanyl, Butyryl fentanyl, and Furanyl fentanyl
to Schedule | of the Utah Controlled Substances Act.
H.B. 146 = Authorizes the partial filling of a Schedule Il controlled
. - substance for a patient other than a patient in a long-term care
Partial Filling - . .
facility or with a terminal illness, at the request of the
of a Schedule rescriber or the patient
Il Controlled | P patient.
Substance

Prescription
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H.B. 175

Opioid Abuse
Prevention
and
Treatment
Amendments

» Beginning with the licensing period that begins after July 1,
2024, requires controlled substances prescribers to receive
3.5 hours of training in SBIRT — Screening, Brief Intervention,
and Referral to Treatment — as a condition of license renewal.
» Permits completion of the SBIRT training to fulfill the
continuing education requirement for the licensing period in
which it was completed.

» Requires Medicaid and the Public Employees Benefit and
Insurance Program to reimburse prescribers for SBIRT
services provided for patients 13 years of age and older.

2016

H.B. 114

Controlled
Substance
Reporting

"This bill: amends the requirement for a general acute hospital
to report to the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing admissions for poisoning or overdose involving a
prescribed controlled substance; requires courts to report to
the division certain violations of the Utah Controlled
Substances Act; amends the purposes of the division’s
controlled substance database; requires the division to enter
into the database information it receives in reports by hospitals
concerning persons admitted for poisoning involving a
prescribed controlled substance; and requires the division to
enter into the database information it receives in reports by
courts concerning persons convicted for: driving under the
influence of a prescribed controlled substance that renders the
person incapable of safely operating a vehicle; driving while
impaired, in whole or in part, by a prescribed controlled
substance; or certain violations or the Utah Controlled
Substances Act.

Appropriation: $19,900 one-time to the Department of
Commerce, Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing."

H.B. 149

Death
Reporting
and
Investigation

"This bill: requires the medical examiner to provide a report to
the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
(DOPL) when the medical examiner determines that a death
resulted from poisoning or overdose involving a prescribed
controlled substance; requires that, when DOPL receives a
report described in the preceding paragraph, DOPL shall notify
each practitioner who may have written a prescription for the
controlled substance involved in the poisoning or overdose;
allows probation and parole officers to obtain information in the
controlled substance database without a warrant; and allows
the division to provide information to law enforcement officers
engaged in specified types of investigations.

Appropriation: $24,900 one-time to the Department of
Commerce, Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing; and $1,500 ongoing to the Department of Health,
Office of the Medical Examiner"

H.B. 150

This bill: amends the Controlled Substance Database Act to
allow a person for whom a controlled substance is prescribed
to designate a third party who is to be notified when a
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Controlled

controlled substance prescription is dispensed to the person;

Substance allows the person to direct the division to discontinue providing

Prescription the information; requires that the division advise the person

Notification that if the person discontinues the notification, the third party
will be advised of the discontinuance; requires that the division
comply with the direction and also notify the third party of the
discontinuation; and authorizes the division to make
administrative rules to facilitate implementation of this
provision.
Appropriation: $39,000 one-time to the Department of
Commerce, Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing.

H.B. 239 "This bill: defines terms; requires the Division of Occupational
and Professional Licensing within the Department of

Access to Commerce to make opioid prescription data information in its

Opioid controlled substance database accessible to an opioid

Prescription prescriber or pharmacist via the prescriber’s or pharmacist’s

Information electronic data system; limits access to and use of the

Via information by an electronic data system, a prescriber, or a

Practitioner
Data
Management
Systems

pharmacist in accordance with rules established by the
division; requires rulemaking by the division; requires the
division to periodically audit use of the information; and
amends Controlled Substance Database Act penalty
provisions.

Appropriation: $18,500 ongoing and $54,700 one-time to the
Department of Commerce, Division of Occupational and
Professional Licensing."

H.B. 375

Prescription

Defines terms; amends the Controlled Substance Database
Act to promote utilization of the controlled substance database
to prevent opioid abuse; requires a dispenser to contact the

Drug Abuse prescriber if the controlled “substance database suggests

Amendments | potential prescription drug abuse; and limits liability for
prescribers and dispensers who contribute to and use the
database.

Appropriation: $8,600 ongoing to the Department of
Commerce, Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing"

S.B. 58 Defines pain clinic for Title 58, Division of Occupational and
Professional Licensing Act; allows an advanced practice
registered nurse to prescribe a Schedule Il controlled

Nurse substance without a consultation and referral plan if the

Practitioner advanced practice registered nurse: meets certain experience

Amendments | requirements; consults the Controlled Substance Database;

and when treating an injured worker, follows prescribing for
chronic pain guidelines developed by the Workers’
Compensation System; and prohibits an advanced practice
registered nurse from establishing an independent pain clinic
without a consultation and referral plan.

Appropriation: $2,000 one-time to the Department of
Commerce, Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing."
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2015

H.B. 395

Controlled
Substance
Database
Amendments

Requires the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing to implement options for: real-time submission of
data into the controlled substance database; and 24-hour daily
or next business day batch submission of data; requires a
pharmacist to comply with the real-time or 24-hour submission
requirements on and after January 1, 2016; provides that a
physician employed as medical director for SUPPORT July 1,
2015 2015 General Session of the Utah Legislature USAAV
Overview of Substance Abuse, Behavioral Health, and Related
Legislation Passed As of April 24, 2015 5 Bill Number and Title
Sponsors Summary USAAV Position

=+ Effective Date a licensed workers’ compensation insurer
or an approved self-insured employer may have access to the
database regarding requests for workers’ compensation;
authorizes additional rulemaking authority; and repeals
provisions of a pilot program.

Appropriation: $46,000 to the Department of
Commerce/Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing for FY 2016 (ongoing).

S.B. 119

Prescription
Database
Revisions

Provides that a person may request that the division provide to
the person his or her records that are in the controlled
substance database; provides a procedure for a patient to
correct erroneous information in the database; requires law
enforcement to use a search warrant to gain database
information related to a controlled substance investigation and
requires specification of the person regarding whom the
information is sought; authorizes a person whose information
is in the database to obtain a list of persons who have had
access to that person’s information, except when the
information is subject to an investigation; provides that a
physician employed as medical director for a licensed workers’
compensation insurer or an approved self- insured employer
may have access to the database regarding requests for
workers’ compensation; and adds the standards of negligently
or recklessly to the elements of the criminal offense of
unlawfully releasing database information. Appropriation:
$17,200 to the Department of Commerce/Division of
Occupational and Professional Licensing for FY 2016
(ongoing); and $16,700 one-time to the Department of
Commerce/Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing for FY 2016. $22,400 to the Judicial Council/State
Court Administrator/Administrative Office for FY 2016

(ongoing).

2014

S.B. 29

Controlled
Substance
Database
Amendments

Recommended by the Health and Human Services Interim
Committee Provides access to the Controlled Substance
Database to authorized employees of a Medicaid managed
care organization if the Medicaid managed care organization
suspects the Medicaid recipient is improperly obtaining a
controlled substance; and requires the Department of Health
and the Department of Commerce to have a written agreement
regarding the Medicaid managed care organization authorized
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employee access to the Controlled Substance Database. The
bill requires managed care organization employees who will
have access to information from the database to submit to a
criminal background check, and limits the authorized
employee of the managed care organization to requesting
either the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
or the Department of Health conduct a search of the database
regarding a specific Medicaid enrollee and report the results of
the search to the authorized employee. Appropriation:

$8,800 to the Department of Commerce/Division of
Occupational and Professional Licensing.

S.B. 178

Controlled
Substance
Database
Modifications

Allows the pharmacist-in-charge to designate up to three
licensed pharmacy technicians to have access to the database
on behalf of the pharmacist in accordance with statutory
requirements.

S.B. 205 This bill: provides that increased penalties for the possession
of a controlled substance in certain circumstances may not
Controlled !
Substance result in an offense greater than a second-degree felony.
Penalty
Amendment
H.B.11 "Provides that a person who reports a person’s overdose from
Overdose a controlled substance or other substance may claim an
g affirmative defense to specified charges of violating the Utah
Reporting . . .
Controlled Substances Act if the person remains with the
Amendments . . .
person who is subject to the overdose and cooperates with
responding medical providers and law enforcement officers;
and provides that remaining with a person subject to an
overdose and cooperating with medical providers and law
enforcement is a mitigating factor when determining the
penalty for a related violation of the Utah Controlled
Substances Act."
H.B. 30 This bill: adds new “spice” and emerging drug analogs to the
listed controlled substances, including opioids.
Controlled
Substances
Amendments
2013 S.B. 214 This bill defines terms; requires certain controlled substance
Continuing prescribers to complete at least four hours of continuing

Education for
Prescription
Drugs

education as a requisite for license renewal; requires that at
least 3.5 hours of the required continuing education hours be
completed in controlled substance prescribing classes, (except
dentists, who shall complete 2 such hours); establishes criteria
for controlled substance prescribing classes recognized by the
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL);
directs DOPL to consult with other applicable departments and
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associations when determining whether classes for controlled
substance prescribers with a specific license type meet
established criteria; and grants rulemaking authority to DOPL.

S.B. 270 "Adds all forms of tramadol to the list of Schedule V controlled
Controlled subgtances; and adds new “spice” and “bath salts” analogs to
Substance the list of unscheduled controlled substances."
Amendments
H.B. 52 Adds new “spice” and “bath salts” analogs to the list of
Controlled unsc_heduled cqntrolled substances_,; and_ makes a technical
Substances spelling correction of a sgbstance listed in the scheQngd .
Revisions controlled substances. Fiscal Note: Enactment of this bill likely
will not materially impact the state budget, nor will it likely
result in direct, measurable expenditures by Utah residents or
businesses. Enactment of this bill might increase local
prosecution and conviction costs.
H.B. 270 Allows the director of the Utah Department of Health to allow
Prescription access to the contrplled gubgtgnce d.atabase tq designated
Drug individuals conducting scientific gtudles regardlng the use or
Database abuse of controlled substances, if: the designee adheres .to
Access rules §et by the Department of Health and fe(_deral regulations
Amendments | OVering the use of protected health information; and the
identities of prescribers, patients, and pharmacies in the
database are de-identified in accordance with HIPAA rules,
kept confidential, and not disclosed to the designee or
individuals not associated with the scientific studies.

2012 S.B. 127 This bill amends the effective date for controlled substances
Controlled prescrib_er education requirements; and provides t_hat _
Substances completlr!g the controlled substance database onllng tu’gorlal
Prescriber and passing the onl!ne ftest counts as %2 hour of contmglng
Training professional education in controlled substances prescribing.
S.B. 205 This bill permits a state or local prosecutor to provide
Records infor_mation from the controlled substance dgtaba_se toa
Access crlm!nal dgfepse attorney, upon request d.urlng @spovgry, for
Discovery useina Crlmlngl d(_afense case; and per_rnllts a criminal justice
Amendments | 29€NcY to provide information from a criminal background

check to a defense attorney, upon request during discovery,
for use in a criminal defense case.
H.B. 109 This bill specifies that the Division of Occupational and
Use of Professional Licensing may grant Iic_;enses, under specified
Controlled terms, to conduct research concerning Schedule | controlled
Substances substances.
in Research
H.B. 254 This bill amends the definition of a controlled substance
Controlled analog tq aIIovy proof that the substance is chem.ically
Substances subs.te.\ntlally similar to a controlled substance, without
Amendments | "€auiring proof of the effect of the substance by the expert

testimony of a pharmacologist; adds benzylpiperazine (similar
to amphetamine in its effects, acts as a stimulant in humans
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and produces euphoria, youth/young adults are main abusers,
high abuse potential and lack of accepted medical use or
safety) to Schedule | of the controlled substances list; and
adds AM-2201, RCS-4, JWH-210, and JWH-203 (substances
found in “spice” and “bath salts”) to the list of listed controlled
substances.

H.B. 257 This bill prohibits unauthorized use of the controlled substance
database as a means of obtaining information from other

Controlled . ) .

Substance statgs ora federal drug.monltorlng program; provides for the

Database designation by a practitioner of persons who are employed by
the same business as the practitioner to gain access to the

Amendments o ) i
database at the request of the practitioner; and provides a
procedure for an emergency room employee to look up
information in the database for a practitioner who is treating an
emergency room patient.

H.B. 306 This bill enacts a requirement that the Division of Occupational

. and Professional Licensing allow a pharmacy to take back
Disposal of d intion d it the federal rul .
Unused unused prescription drugs if the federal rules permit a

Prescription
Drugs

pharmacy take back program; and requires the Division to
enact administrative rules regarding unused drug take back
programs once federal rules related to drug take back
programs are published.

H.B. 434

Pharmacy
Practice Act
Modification

This bill amends the definition of a pharmacy preceptor; and
amends provisions related to a prescribing practitioner
providing sample drugs to a patient. The bill prohibits a
practitioner from giving out drug samples to supply the
immediate needs of a patient that are Schedule Il drugs,
opioids, or Benzodiazepines; and prohibits giving out drug
samples of controlled substances or non-controlled
substances to patients in excess of a 30-day supply, unless
the prescribing practitioner documents that providing more
than a 30-day supply is medically necessary.

2011 S.B 61 This bill requires a medical practitioner applying for a new or
Education for renewed controlled substanpg license to take fqur ho.urs of
Prescribing con_trolled sgbstance pr_egcrlblng classe_s each licensing _
Controlled p_erlod;_ requires the D|y|3|or! of Occupatlonall and Profgsglonal
Substances Licensing, in consultation with the Utah Medical Association

and the applicable practitioner licensing boards, to establish
educational content of controlled substance prescribing
classes to help establish safe and effective practices for
prescribing controlled substances, which may include opioid
narcotics, hypnotic depressants, and psychostimulants; and
provides that any controlled substance prescribing class
required under this bill does not increase the total continuing
professional education requirements for prescriber licensing.
S.B. 248 This bill authorizes certain licensed physicians to access the
Controlled coqtrolled substance database for the purpose of reviewing a
Substance patient’s request for workers’ compensation benefits.
Database
Amendments
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H.B. 15

This bill provides that an individual who is not a veterinarian,
who obtains a new license to prescribe a controlled substance,

Controlled shall, within 30 days after the day on which the individual

Substance ) . .
obtains a license to prescribe a controlled substance from the

Database — e . . . L

Licensing Drug Enforcement Administration, register with the division

Amendments (DOPL) to use the Controlled Substance Database; and
reinstates authority of the Division of Occupational and
Professional Licensing to take administrative action, under the
Pharmacy Practice Act, for a violation of the Controlled
Substance Database Act.

H.B. 23 This bill expands the definition of a controlled substance to
include a list of synthetic equivalent cannabinoid substances

Controlled . .

Substance and their analogs and homologs found in products commonly

Modification

referred to as “spice”; expands the definition of a controlled
substance to include substances and their analogs and
homologs found in products referred to as “bath salts”; clarifies
that the tetrahydrocannabinols in Schedule | of the Utah
Controlled Substances Act include those both naturally and
synthetically derived; provides that it is an affirmative defense
that the person produced, possessed or administered any of
these listed substances if the person: was engaged in medical
research, and was a holder of a license to possess controlled
substances for research; authorizes the Controlled
Substances Advisory Committee

to recommend placement of a substance on a controlled
substance list if it finds that the substance has

H.B. 358 This bill provides controlled substance database access to
Access to emp_loyees of the Office of Internal Audit and Progr.am Integrity
Controlled W|th|r.1.the Department pf Healtl_w W.hO are enggged in their
Substance specified duty of ensuring Medicaid program integrity.
Database
Revisions
2010 H.B. 13 This bill amends the Utah Controlled Substances Act, the Utah
Drug Law Medical Practice Act, the Pharmacy Practice Act, the Utah
Definitions — Ostegpathic Me.dical Practice Act, and'the Nat}Jropathic
Amendments Physician Practice Act to provide consistency in the use of
definitions, including those for “prescribe,” “prescription
device,” and “drug.”
H.B. 28 This bill recodifies provisions relating to the Controlled
Controlled Substance Database into a new chapter k_n_own as .the
Substance Cont_rolled Substapce Databasg Act; qulfles provisions
Database relating Fo accessing datapagg information for certain I.egall
Amendments proceedings; requires an individual, other than a veterinarian,

who is licensed to prescribe a controlled substance, who is
applying for a license, or who is renewing a license to: register
to use the database, and take a tutorial and pass a test
relating to the database and the prescribing of controlled
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substances; requires the division to impose an annual
database registration fee on an individual who registers to use
the database, to pay the startup and ongoing costs of the
division for complying with the requirements of the preceding
paragraph; describes the penalties that may be imposed by
the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
(DOPL) on an individual who fails to comply with the
requirements described in the preceding paragraph; requires
DOPL to develop an online tutorial and test relating to the use
of the database and the prescribing of a controlled substance;
requires DOPL to impose a fee on an individual who takes the
test described in this bill to pay the costs incurred by DOPL to
fulfill the requirements described in this bill; and grants
rulemaking authority to DOPL.

H.B. 35 This bill requires that, when a person who is 12 years of age or
older is admitted to a general acute hospital for poisoning by,

Controlled f . I h |
Substance or overdosa of, a prescribed Contro e.d substance, the genera
Database — acute hospital must report the poisoning or overdose, and
Reportind of other information, to the Division of Occupational and
Prepscribgd Professional Licensing (DOPL); requires that, when DOPL
Controlled receives a report described in the preceding paragraph, DOPL
Substance must notify each practitioner who may have written a
Overdose or prescription for the controlled substance of the poisoning or
Poisoning overdose and certain information relating to the poisoning or

overdose; and requires the division to increase the licensing
fee for manufacturing, producing, distributing, dispensing,
administering, or conducting research, to pay the startup and
ongoing costs of the division for complying with the
requirements of the preceding paragraph.

H.B. 36 This bill requires a court to report certain information to the
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL)

Controlled ; . e _
Substance yvhen_ a person |s_conV|ctad of driving under the mfluenca or of
Database — impaired driving, if there is evidence that the person’s driving
Reporting was under the influence of, or impaired by, a prescribed
Convictions | controlled substance; requires that, when DOPL receives a
for Driving repprt described in the preceding paragraph, DOPL ml.JSt.
Under the notify each practitioner who may ha\{e yvrltten a preacrlptlon for
Influence or jthe controlled sqbstance of the_cc_)nwctlon and pertaln
Impaired !nformatlon ralatlng to the conviction; anq requires DQPL to
Driving increase the licensing fee for manufacturing, producing,

distributing, dispensing, administering, or conducting research
to pay the startup and ongoing costs of DOPL for complying
with the requirements of the preceding paragraph.

H.B. 38 This bill creates the Controlled Substances Advisory
Committee; establishes the membership of the committee;
creates the role of the committee as an advisory body
regarding placing substances in the statutory schedule of
controlled substances, changing the schedule of a substance,
or removing a substance from the schedules; and provides
guidelines for determining if a substance should be scheduled
and in which schedule to place a substance

Scheduling of
Controlled
Substances
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H.B. 186

Controlled
Substance
Database
Revisions

This bill permits employees of the Department of Health to
have access to information in the controlled substance
database in relation to a person whom the Department of
Health suspects may be improperly obtaining or providing a
controlled substance.

2009

H.B. 106

Controlled
Substance
Database
Amendments

This bill: defines terms; expands the purposes for which a
practitioner or pharmacist may access information on the
controlled substance database; grants access to the controlled
substance database to a mental health therapist under certain
circumstances; permits a practitioner to designate up to three
employees, subject to approval by the Division of Occupational
and Professional Licensing, who can access the controlled
substance database on the practitioner’s behalf; provides that
a practitioner, or an employee of the practitioner, who obtains
information from the controlled substance database may
include the information in the patient’s medical chart or file and
may provide the information to others in accordance with the
requirements of the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act of 1996; grants rulemaking authority to the
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing; permits
the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to
impose a fee on practitioners who designate an employee to
access the controlled substance database, in order to recover
the cost of determining whether the employee is a security
risk; provides that a person who is a licensed practitioner or a
mental health therapist shall be denied access to the database
when the person is no longer licensed; and provides that a
person who is a relative of a deceased individual is not entitled
to access information from the database relating to the
deceased individual based on the fact or claim that the person
is related to, or subrogated to the rights of, the deceased
individual.

H.B. 128

Electronic
Prescribing
Act

This bill: defines terms; requires a practitioner to provide each
existing patient of the practitioner with the option to participate
in electronic prescribing, if the practitioner prescribes a drug or
device for the patient on or after July 1, 2012; provides that a
practitioner may not issue a prescription through electronic
prescribing for a drug or device that the practitioner is
prohibited by federal law or federal rule from issuing through
electronic prescribing; requires a pharmacy to accept and
comply with an electronic prescription that is transmitted in
accordance with the requirements of this section and rules
made by the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing; and grants rulemaking authority to the Division of
Occupational and Professional Licensing to: enforce the
provisions of this bill; ensure that electronic prescribing is done
in a secure manner, consistent with industry standards; ensure
that each patient is fully informed of the patient’s rights,
restrictions, and obligations pertaining to electronic
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prescribing; and grant a hardship exemption to a pharmacy or
practitioner, to the extent that the requirements of this bill
would impose an extreme financial hardship on the pharmacy
or the practitioner

2008

H. B. 119

Controlled
Substance
Database
Amendment

This bill: defines terms; provides for education of the public
regarding the controlled substance database; makes it a third
degree felony to obtain or attempt to obtain information from
the controlled substance database for a purpose other than a
purpose authorized by statute or rule; prohibits access to, and
use of, identifying information in the controlled substance
database by discovery, subpoena, or similar process in certain
civil, judicial, administrative, or legislative proceedings;
establishes a pilot program, beginning on July 1, 2008, and
ending on July 1, 2010, for real-time reporting of, and access
to, controlled substance database information by pharmacies,
pharmaceutical facilities, and prescribing practitioners; grants
rulemaking authority to the Division of Occupational and
Professional Licensing in relation to the pilot program; requires
the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to
report on the pilot program and the advisability and cost of
implementing the pilot program on a statewide basis and the
use of the controlled substance database by prescribing
practitioners; and requires the Division of Occupational and
Professional Licensing to implement the pilot program
established in this bill on a statewide basis on or before July 1,
2010. This bill appropriates $175,000 as an ongoing
appropriation from the General Fund, for fiscal year 2008-09,
to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing;
and $650,000 from the General Fund, for fiscal year 2008- 09
only, to the Division of Occupational and Professional
Licensing, as non-lapsing funds.

2007

H.B. 137

Pain
Medication
Management
and
Education

This bill requires the Utah Department of Health to coordinate
with the Utah attorney general, the Labor Commission, and the
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensure to:
investigate causes and risk factors and solutions for deaths
and nonfatal complications of prescription opiate use and
misuse in Utah by using the Utah Controlled Substance
Database; study risks associated with prescription opiate
medications used for chronic pain; and educate health care
providers, patients, insurers, and the general public on the
appropriate management of pain; requires the department to
report to the legislative Health and Human Services Interim
Committee and the legislative Business and Labor Interim
Committee no later than the November meetings in 2007 and
2008 and present its recommendations on: the use of the Utah
Controlled Substances Database to identify and prevent
misuse of opiates, inappropriate prescribing, and adverse
outcomes of prescription opiate medications; interventions to
prevent the diversion of prescription opiate medications; and
medical treatment and quality care guidelines. The bill
appropriates $150,000 to the
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Department of Health for FY 2007-08 and $150,000 for FY
2008-09.

2005 S.B. 50 This bill amends the Pharmacy Practice Act and the Controlled
Controlled Sub_stances Act _to repeal the. Controlled Sgbstance I_I)atabase
Subst Advisory Committee and assign the committee’s duties to the

ubstance 7 ,

Amendments State Board of Pharmacy. This bill allows authorized
employees of the Department of Health access to the
controlled substance database for scientific studies. This bill
also allows the division to authorize by rule a prescriber’s use
of an electronic or digital signature in issuing prescriptions.
This bill requires that Department of Health employees having
access to the controlled substance database maintain the
confidentiality of persons and pharmacies in the database.

H.B. 311 This bill provides a definition of the term “consumption” as it
relates to possession of a controlled substance. This bill

Controlled defines consumption of a controlled substance as having any

substance measurable amount of a controlled substance in a person’s

Law body and clarifies that controlled substance does not include

Amendments | the metabolite of a controlled substance; and provides that a
person who is found to be driving with any measurable
controlled substance in the body is subject to conviction and
sentencing under the relevant DUI law and controlled
substance law.

2003 S.B. 53 "This act modifies the Controlled Substance Act by prohibiting

the refill of a Schedule Il controlled substance, adds
Amendments | dichloralphenazone under Schedule 1V, reschedules
to the buprenorphine to Schedule lll, and provides that gamma
Controlled hydroxyl butyrate (GHB) that is used in an FDA-approved
Substances formulation is in Schedule Ill. This act also provides that
specified penalties under the Controlled Substance Act are to
be deposited as dedicated credits to be used for the operating
costs of the Controlled Substance Database."
2002 H.B. 128 Specifies that up to three prescriptions for the same Schedule
Il controlled substance medication may be issued at the same
Controlled time. Also outlines procedures for more than one prescription.
Substances
Act
Amendments
2000 H.B. 139 Amends the schedules in the Utah Controlled Substances Act
to reflect federal changes. Assigns the schedules of many
Utah specific opioids.
Controlled
Substances
Act
Amendments
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Figure 1: CSDB Data Collection Sources

Controlled
Substance
Database

JUSTICE
SYSTEM

UCA§41-6a-502(4)

STATE

ELECTRONIC HOSPITALS
VERIFICATION UCAS§26-21-26
SYSTEM

Send OD or poisioning report within
3 days of admission if the patient is
UCAE§26-61a-103(2)(h)

12 years of age or older

MEDICAL
EXAMINER
UCA§41-6a-502.5(5)(b)

Conviction report for CS DUI UCA$26-4-10.5

or

and
Dispensing information

Report CS OD and
poisoning deaths
UCAS58-37-8(1)(e)
Produce, manufacture or
dispense...

PHARMACIES

UCAS858-37f-203(1)(a)(i)
Submit in real time

-or-

UCAE58-37f-203(1)(a)(ii)
24 hr. batches

UCA§58-37f-203(1)(c)
Submit corrections within 7
days




Py

Justice

= Enter the JS report daily
UCAS858-37f-703(1)(a)

* Add to CSD practitioner(s) info who gave
Rx UCA§58-37f-703(1)(b)

* Provide each practitioner court report
UCAS58-37f-703(1)(c)(i)

+ Obtain information in CSD linking
practitioner to Rx of convicted person
UCAS58-37f-703(1)(c)(ii)

2

Patients

« Grant or deny patient record request
within 30 days and notify patient of
decision within 35 days of receiving the
request.

UCAS858-37f-203(5)(b)

splllj=

0S
(Within 3 days of receiving a hospital report)

+ Identify practitioner(s) and provide a copy
of the hospital report to the
practitioner(s). UCA§58-37f-702(1)(b)

CSD Team Actions

Pharmacies
+ Provide pharmacies the ability to submit
CS data in real time or in daily batches

within one business day
UCAS858-37f-203(1)(a)

* Receive prescription errors or missing
prescription data within 7 business days.
UCA858-37f-203(1)(c)

Third
Parties
» Notify a patient-designated third party the
date of and the fact that a CS was
prescribed each time a CS is prescribed
to the patient.
UCAE§58-37f-301(5)

Medical
Examiner

(Within 5 days of ME report)

* Provide practitioner a copy of ME report
UCAS858-37f-702(2)(a)(i)

+ MAY offer an educational visit
UCAE&58-37f-702(2)(a)(ii)

Practitioners

« Identify practitioners who:

o

°

o

Fail to register within 30 days of CSL
UCAS§58-37f-401(2)(a)

Fail to register at time of license
renewal every 2 years (Penalty: CSL
revoked). UCA§58-37f-401(2)(b)

Fail to check initial Rx
UCA858-37f-304(2)(a)

Fail to periodically check repeated RX
UCAE58-37f-304(2)(b)(i)

« Generate report for:

o

o
o
°
o
o

Highest dispensing

Opioid ratio (MME)

Highest searches

No dispensing and searches

6 or more practitioners in 1 month.
Prescribe but does not search
UCAS858-37f-304(5)(a) (i) &(ii) &(iii)

NOTE: Data Identifiers are:

« Pharmacy RX data
« practitioner NPI, SLN, or DEA#

Figure 2: CSD Team Actions
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Generate monthly CSD
Practitioner Outlier List with
"Top 30" NO CSD
SEARCHES practitioners

Staff meets wtih AD staff to
decide which practitioners
to visit

Assign practitioners to AD
or Investigators

Send training invitation by
certified mail to
practitioners

CSD Practitioner Outlier Report
Process (ORR)

Conduct AD training with Send Post-Test to
practitioner practitioner

Telephone Send Pre-Test to
provider practitioner

Schedule in-person or
virtual training

Figure 3: CSD 30-Day Report




AD Team checks
email status

Office of the Medical
Examiner Report Process

Able to
contact via No

-
Q

. Email
AD sends email delivered?
with the OME
report and training
invite to

practitioner

AD staff notified if
practitioner is on
the report

Email correct?

Y

phone

Update email and
extend training
invite

Semd new email

CSD Team uploads
patient PPI

Email opened?

OME sends report

to CSD

Schedule
training

Education
requested?

Reply from
practitioner?
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Process

Court sends drug-related
cohviction report to CSD

CSD Team
matches names
and runs a CS
report

CSD Team prepares letter
and emails it to all
prescribers listed in the
the CS Report

~CS report
< found for

No Action
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Failure of Pharmacist to Submit Info and
Correct Errors

Checks chain
pharmacies daily

CSD Team identifies
cause of error

Daily Status Report
48 hours-7 days

The CSD team RxGov sends The CSD Team
manually

requests files files )
uploads the files

| The CSD team sends an

email to the Pharmacist
in Charge (PIC) and Has the PIC
tracks status in the resolved the
7-Day Compliance Bkt
Report

NOTE: This loop continues until the issue is
resolved. If the issue still isn't resolved after 1
month, the CSD Administrator determines whether
to refer to investigators.

Figure 6: Failure of Pharmacist to Submit Info and Correct Errors




CSD Request for Information

Process

The CSD team
receives
"Request for
Information™ form

.

CSD verifies
identification

CSD delivers report:
- USPS -
- Email -
- In-person -

*NOTE:

-Reports only to the individual
-Only CSD is authorized to give a
patient report

Figure 7: CSD Request for Information Process




CSD Correction of Incorrect
Patient Information

The CSD team
receives
a written request from
the patient

The CSD team checks
with the pharmacy or
pharmacy vendor to

confirm information.

(30 days to complete)

a need for the
pharmacy or pharmacy
vendor to submit an
additional
request

The pharmacy or
pharmacy vendor
submits request

“Is the new information

correct?

¥ The CSD Team informs the patient
it was accepted and corrects the
CSD Data

The CSD Team informs the patient
it was not accepted and that the
patient may appeal to the Dept of
Commerce within 60 days of the
original request

Figure 8: CSD Correction of Incorrect Patient Information




The CSD team receives
a written request
(Identification Check)

The CSD team enters
the request into the
module to begin the 3rd
Party Notification

The CSD team checks
daily for applicable Rx
records

CSD
3rd Party Notification
Process

The CSD Team sends a 3rd Party
Notification

Were new Rx records
found?

No action taken

Figure 9: CSD 3rd Party Notification Process




CSD TEAM

CSD Team Managers, Admins,
Analysts. Academic Detail

and Developers
UCASSB-37(-301 (2)(b)

Utah Professionals
Health Program

authorized persons
UCAS58-371-301 (2)(d)

[_ Board Member (if
monitoring a practitioner
L on probation)

UCA§58-371-301 (2)(c)(i)

[_ CSD Investigators
UCA858-371-301 (2)(a)(i)

l_ CS Patients
UCAE58-37f-301 (2)(p)

[;‘Iil’d Parties authoriztm

by a CS patient

L UCAS858-37f-301(5)(a)(i) _J

AU

UTAH HEALTH
& LAW ENFORCEMENT
HUMAN SERVICES

CS PRACTITIONERS CS PHARMACIES

O_ffice of th? Office of the Ins;_)ec_tor Controlled Substance Managed Care
Medical Examiner General of Medicaid Practitioners Pharmacists

employees Services IG or designee UCAS58-371-301 (2)(h) UCA$58-371-301 (2)(0) &
UCAS58-371-301 (2)(e)(iil) UCAE58-371-301 (2)(1) (ii)(A) & (B)

Office of Practitioner's

Probation/Parole Officers B Pharmacists / Pharmacy
- staff | proxies
Int:ertnal Audht &IProgram (no warrant needed) & Proxies' Employer Interns / Pharmacy Techs
ntegrity employees UCA§58-37f-301 (2)(m) UCA§58-37£-301 (2)(i)(j) UCAB58-37f-301 (2)(k)

UCA$58-371-301 (2)(n) UCA858-371-301 (3)(a)

Managed Care
Organizations with

written agreements
UCAS858-37f-301 (2)(g) & (i) & (i)

Emergency Dept
Staff

(Pending Access)
UCA858-37f-301 (4)(a)

Utah Medicaid Fraud Unit
UCA§58-37f-301 (2)(v)

Workers' Compensation
Physicians
UCAB58-37f-301 (2)(s) & (i)

& (ii) & (jii)

Non-employee UHHS

researchers
UCAS§58-371-301 (2)(f)

Joint Investigators with

CSD Team (limited info)
UCAS58-37f-301 (2)()(il)(A)

Direct Access

Mental Health Practitioners
in consultation with a
licensed practitioner

UCA§58-371-301 (2)(0) & (iii)(A) & (B)

Utah Opioid Fatality

Review Committee
UCAS§58-37-301 (2)(n)

Referred by Division to
LE
UCAS58-371-301 (2)(a)(ii)(B)

With a valid CS Search
Warrant
UCAS858-37f-301 (2)(1)

UHHS-assigned
employees
LUCA§5&3?f—301 (2)(e)0) & Gi)

Figure 10: CSD Users
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