Be aware that fees and application requirements may have changed for your profession. Please use the most current version of the application, from this website, to ensure you are submitting the correct information and fees needed to process your licensure request.
A new rule change is effective July 22, 2019. Several specialty classifications are consolidated and changed. Click here for the new rule. Click here to see how your classification is converted. Click here for the current classification list.
Effective May 14, 2019, trade exams will NOT BE REQUIRED for the B100, R100, and E100 classifications. The Utah Contractor Business and Law Exam is still required for B100, E100, and R100. Because the curriculum for the 5-hour course is still in develpment, the Division will accept the 25-hour course as satisfaction of the 5-hour course until October 1, 2019.
Frequently Asked Questions
Each of the following Contractor license classifications must take the Utah Contractors Business and Law Exam. The exam is administered by DOPL's examination vendor, PSI Exams online. You can register for this exam by following the link below and creating an account. For specific information about the exam, see the Candidate Information Bulletin link below. PSI will automatically send exam results to DOPL.
- Utah Contractor Business and Law Exam (Candidate Information Bulletin)
- Create an account at PSI Exams and register here.
B100 General Building Contractor
E100 General Engineering Contractor
R100 Residential and Small Commercial Contractor
E200 General Electrical Contractor
E201 Residential Electrical Contractor
- NOTE: Applicants for these classifications must be licensed as a Master Electrician or Residential Master Electrician and pass this exam before applying.
P200 General Plumbing Contractor
P201 Residential Plumbing Contractor
- NOTE: Applicants for these classifications must be licensed as a Master Plumber or Residential Master Plumber and pass this exam before applying.
If you have any additional QUESTIONS, CONCERNS, or COMPLAINTS that you are not able to address with the Exam Administrator mentioned above, you may contact firstname.lastname@example.org
Apply for a License
REQUIREMENTS – Before proceeding, the following requirements must be met:
- Pre-License Course. You must already have completed a pre license course from Associated Builders and Contractors Inc (ABC), Utah Home Builders Association (UHBA), or Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC). Specialty contractors require a 25-hour pre-licensure course. All general contractors (E100, R100, B100), plumbing and electrical contractors require a 30-hour pre-licensure course (unless you took the pre-licensure course BEFORE October 1, 2019 in which case you do not need the extra 5 hours) Click Here for course info.
- General Liability Insurance Certificate. You must have obtained a general liability insurance certificate with minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total that covers and where DOPL is listed as certificate holder.
- Registered your business entity. If you are a corporation, LLC, LLP, or partnership, have you registered your business with the Utah Division of Corporations. Apply at: https://corporations.utah.gov
- Obtained Federal EIN. You must have obtained an Employer Identification Number (EIN) from the Internal Revenue Service. Apply for EIN at: https://www.irs.gov. If you are a sole proprietor and are using your own SSN, click Yes.
- If you have employees, you MUST:
- Have obtained a certificate of workers compensation insurance with DOPL as certificate holder.
- Have obtained a state withholding tax registration from the Utah State Tax Commission.
- Have obtained an unemployment registration from the Utah Department of Workforce Services.
Apply to Add Classification to Existing License
Renew a License
- Licenses expire on November 30 of odd years.
- At least 60 days prior to the expiration date of a license, DOPL will mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of record as provided to DOPL by the individual licensee. (Failure to notify DOPL of an address change could prevent a licensee from timely receiving renewal notification and other important correspondence from DOPL.)
- Renewal Fees — $114
REQUIREMENTS – Before proceeding with renewal, the following requirements must be met:
- Completed 6 hours of Continuing Education. You must complete BEFORE you are able to renew. To find courses to complete your 6 hours of CE, or to check CE courses already completed , click here: https://secure.utah.gov/ce-public/
- UNEXPIRED General Liability Insurance Certificate. You must have an UNEXPIRED general liability insurance certificate with minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total and where DOPL is listed as certificate holder.
- UNEXPIRED certificate of workers compensation insurance. If you have employees, you must have an UNEXPIRED certificate of workers compensation insurance with DOPL as certificate holder.
A Contractor Licensee is obligated to complete six hours of continuing education each licensing period. Three hours must be "core" education and the remaining three may be "core" or "professional" related. All courses must be approved by DOPL to be acceptable. See Rule R156-55a-303b for details.
Beginning with the 2017 renewal, no more than three hours may be taken online. At least three hours must be in a live seminar.
Continuing Education Providers MUST submit all courses to DOPL for approval. This can be done online at: https://secure.utah.gov/ce-provider
Contractors may search for courses that have been approved by DOPL at: https://secure.utah.gov/ce-public/
- Add or Replace Qualifier OR Add Classification Form
- Remove Qualifier / Qualifer Resignation Form
- Contractor Name Change or Add a DBA
- Change Owner/ Employee Status
- Surrender of License or Inactivation of License
- Activate Inactive License
- Surrender of Licensed Trade Classification
- Owner-Builder Certification Form
- Financial Review/Release of Bond Requirement
- Credit Report Authorization (Appendix E Form)
- Owner-Worker Status Report (Appendix F Form)
- Owner-Worker Registration Form (Appendix G Form)
Update Your License Record
Legal Name Change
If your legal name has changed, you must verify the change by submitting a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, driver's license, or social security card to the Division. If you desire a reprint of your license reflecting the name change, you must also submit a $10 reprint fee with the request.
- EMAIL: email@example.com
- FAX: 801-530-6511
- MAIL: PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Change of Address
Click the button below to change your address.
Laws and Rules
- PROPOSED General Rule of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (Filed: 10/29/2019) (Closes: 12/16/2019)
Contact: Deborah Blackburn | firstname.lastname@example.org | 801-530-6060
- DOPL Licensing Act, 58-1 (05/08/2018)
- General Rule of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, R156-1. (04/09/2018)
- Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act, 58-55 (05/08/2018)
- Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act Rule, R156-55a (11/07/2017)
- Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act, 38-11 (05/09/2017)
- Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act Rules, R156-38a (09/09/2010)
- State Construction and Fire Codes Act, Title 15a (05/08/2018)
- State Construction Code Administration and Adoption of Approved State Construction Code Rule, R156-15A (10/22/2019)
Board Members event_seat=Chairperson
|Ross S. Holliday (Residential/Small Commercial Contractor)||01/25/2016||06/30/2019|
|Michael Jeffrey Howe (Alarm System Security & Licensing Board Chair)||03/07/2019||06/30/2020|
|Edward Axley event_seat (General Building Contractor)||07/01/2016||06/30/2020|
|Russell Lamoreaux (Electricians Board Chair)||07/01/2017||06/30/2020|
|Rob Allen (Plumbers Board Chair)||07/01/2017||06/30/2020|
|Dale E. Thompson (Public Member)||09/21/2015||06/30/2020|
|Merlin Taylor (Public Member)||01/03/2019||06/30/2021|
|Joseph Jenson (General Engineering Contractor)||02/20/2018||06/30/2022|
|Jason Peterson (Residential/Small Commercial Contractor)||07/01/2018||06/30/2022|
Upcoming Public Meetings
Past Public Meetings
- For general licensing questions call:
- (801) 530-6628
(866) 275-3675 Toll-Free in Utah
- Bureau Manager
- Chris Rogers — email@example.com
- Board Secretary
- Ann Naegelin — firstname.lastname@example.org
- Associated General Contractors
- National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies
- Residence Lien Recovery Fund
- Rocky Mountain Gas Association
- Salt Lake Home Builders Association
- Southern Utah Home Builders Association
- State of Utah Construction Registry
- Utah Home Builders Association
- Utah Valley Home Builders Association
Are you a veteran in crisis or concerned about one?
Contact the Veteran Crisis Line
Members of the armed forces and their families are often more affected than other groups by licensing restrictions because of frequent relocations to fulfill orders. To ease this burden, the Utah Legislature has authorized certain fee waivers and license exemptions for qualifying military personnel and military spouses.
License Fee Waivers
DOPL requires a processing fee for initial license applications. This fee varies by profession. The Utah Legislature has authorized initial license fee waivers for qualifying military service members. Full-time active duty service members should submit the fee waiver request form with their initial license application. Download the fee waiver request form here.
Qualifying licensees, who wish to maintain their license but who are not currently practicing in the profession, can apply for inactive status. In some cases, changing a license to inactive status will remove certain CE requirements. The Utah Legislature has authorized fee waivers for qualifying military service members who change their license to inactive status or who renew an inactive license. Please note that not all professions have inactive status as an option. To check if your profession has inactive license status, refer to Utah Administrative Rule R156-1-305. Full-time active duty service members can download the fee waiver request form for inactive status here.
Licensing for Military Spouses
Spouses of military service members stationed in Utah are permitted to work in licensed professions without obtaining a Utah license as long as they possess an active license from another state or territory of the United States. Since this benefit for military spouses is relatively new, you may need to explain to employers or the public who ask that your out-of-state license is valid because you are a spouse of an active duty service member. To help you, the Division has created a verification letter which you can show your employer or the public that explains this exemption. Download the verification letter here.
Are you struggling with PTSD, depression, suicidal thoughts, or addiction?
The College of Social and Behavioral Science at the University of Utah provides free treatment for veterans, including: therapy sessions, workshops, and a two-week residential treatment program for veterans with PTSD in Park City. Learn more here.
The Utah Department of Veterans and Military Affairs (UDVMA) provides resources for veterans including education, employment, healthcare, and more. Learn more here.