Radiologic Technology

Exam Information

There are three license classifications available in the field of Radiologic Technology in Utah: Radiologic TechnologistRadiologist Assistant, and Radiology Practical Technician. Examination requirements for a radiologic technologist and radiology practical technician are listed below.

Before applying, applicants for the Radiologist Assistant license are required to be certified as either a radiologist assistant by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or as a radiology practitioner assistant by the Certified Board of Radiology Practitioner Assistants (CBRPA). There are no additional exam requirements outside of those certifications.

Radiologic Technologist

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) examination in either Radiography, Nuclear Medicine Technology, Radiation Therapy.


Nuclear Medicine Examination of the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB).

Radiology Practical Technician

The examination requirements for a Radiology Practical Technician will include taking at least one of the following exams. Please complete the Authorization to Test application that follows, to get started.

ARRT Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography Exam (LS). Candidates must complete at least  two modules: Core and one of the following - Chest, Extremities, Skull/Sinus, Spine and/or Podiatric; or the

ARRT Bone Densitometry Equipment Operator Exam (BD).

Please note: You may take both exams, however, ARRT will only allow one exam registration in their system at a time. You will need to complete one exam before registering for the next. Please complete a new Authorization to Test application for each exam and any subsequent retakes you wish to pursue. The Authorization to Test application is linked above along with a short tutorial on how to complete the process.

If you have any additional QUESTIONS, CONCERNS, or COMPLAINTS that you are not able to address with the Exam Administrator mentioned above, you may contact