Professional Engineering / Professional Land Surveying
Frequently Asked Questions
There are three licenses available in Utah in engineering and land surveying. They are: Professional Engineer, Professional Structural Engineer, and Professional Land Surveyor. The examination requirements for each license are listed below. Applicants applying with a current NCEES Council Record are not required to submit exam information as it is contained in the council record. Applicants without a current NCEES Council Record, who passed the FE and PE exams for states other than Utah, must request an official verification of their scores be sent directly to DOPL.
Fundamentals of Engineering Exam (FE) and Principles and Practice of Engineering Exam (PE) administered by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES).
Professional Structural Engineer
Fundamentals of Engineering Exam (FE) administered by NCEES and one of the following:
NCEES Structural Engineering Exam (SE);
NCEES Structural I and Structural II Exams;
an equivalent 16-hour state written exam; or
NCEES Structural II Exam and an equivalent 8-hour state written exam
Professional Land Surveyor
Fundamentals of Surveying Exam (FS) and Principles and Practice of Surveying Exam (PS) administered by NCEES.
Utah Professional Land Surveyor Exam administered by PSI Exams. Candidates can find general information about this exam
and a printable registration form in the Candidate Information Bulletin. They can also register for the exam online by creating a free
account with PSI Exams. PSI will automatically send exam results to DOPL.
NOTE: Applicants must pass this exam prior to submitting an application for licensure.
Apply for a License
Renew a License
- License expires on March 31 of odd years.
- At least 60 days prior to the expiration date of a license, DOPL will mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of record as provided to DOPL by the individual licensee. (Failure to notify DOPL of an address change could prevent a licensee from timely receiving renewal notification and other important correspondence from DOPL.)
- Renewal Fees — $73
REQUIREMENTS – Before proceeding with renewal, the following requirements must be met:
NOTE: If you are applying for reinstatement or re-applying for a license you once had, you must use the manual application below.
Update Your License Record
Legal Name Change
If your legal name has changed, you must verify the change by submitting a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, driver's license, or social security card to the Division. If you desire a reprint of your license reflecting the name change, you must also submit a $10 reprint fee with the request.
- EMAIL: firstname.lastname@example.org
- FAX: 801-530-6511
- MAIL: PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Change of Address
You may update your address online in the eGov system.
Laws and Rules
- DOPL Licensing Act, 58-1 (05/08/2018)
- General Rule of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, R156-1. (04/09/2018)
- Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors Licensing Act, 58-22 (05/08/2018)
- Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors Licensing Act Rule, R156-22 (08/21/2017)
Board Members event_seat=Chairperson
|Jeffrey J. Richards (Professional Engineer - Electrical)||07/01/2012||06/30/2020|
|C. Scott Bishop event_seat (Professional Land Surveyor)||07/01/2012||06/30/2020|
|Jeffery T. Miller (Professional Structural Engineer )||07/01/2016||06/30/2020|
|Stephen G. Connor (Professional Engineer - Mechanical)||09/07/2017||06/30/2021|
|Blaine D. Leonard (Professional Engineer-Civil)||01/09/2014||06/30/2022|
|Jeff Whitney (Public Member)||07/01/2018||06/30/2022|
|Brad A. Kenison (Professional Engineer-Civil or Mechanical)||08/21/2018||06/30/2022|
Upcoming Public Meetings
Past Public Meetings
- For general licensing questions call:
- (801) 530-6628
(866) 275-3675 Toll-Free in Utah
- Bureau Manager
- Stephen Duncombe — email@example.com
- Board Secretary
- Tracy Taylor — firstname.lastname@example.org
- American Council of Engineering Companies
- National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying
- National Council of Structural Engineers (NCSEA)
- National Society of Professional Engineers
- Utah Society of Professional Engineers
- Utah Council of Land Surveyors
- NCEES Rules of Professional Conduct
- Structural Engineers Association of Utah
- ABET Accreditation
Are you a veteran in crisis or concerned about one?
Contact the Veteran Crisis Line
Members of the armed forces and their families are often more affected than other groups by licensing restrictions because of frequent relocations to fulfill orders. To ease this burden, the Utah Legislature has authorized certain fee waivers and license exemptions for qualifying military personnel and military spouses.
License Fee Waivers
DOPL requires a processing fee for initial license applications. This fee varies by profession. The Utah Legislature has authorized initial license fee waivers for qualifying military service members. Full-time active duty service members should submit the fee waiver request form with their initial license application. Download the fee waiver request form here.
Qualifying licensees, who wish to maintain their license but who are not currently practicing in the profession, can apply for inactive status. In some cases, changing a license to inactive status will remove certain CE requirements. The Utah Legislature has authorized fee waivers for qualifying military service members who change their license to inactive status or who renew an inactive license. Please note that not all professions have inactive status as an option. To check if your profession has inactive license status, refer to Utah Administrative Rule R156-1-305. Full-time active duty service members can download the fee waiver request form for inactive status here.
Licensing for Military Spouses
Spouses of military service members stationed in Utah are permitted to work in licensed professions without obtaining a Utah license as long as they possess an active license from another state or territory of the United States. Since this benefit for military spouses is relatively new, you may need to explain to employers or the public who ask that your out-of-state license is valid because you are a spouse of an active duty service member. To help you, the Division has created a verification letter which you can show your employer or the public that explains this exemption. Download the verification letter here.
Are you struggling with PTSD, depression, suicidal thoughts, or addiction?
The College of Social and Behavioral Science at the University of Utah provides free treatment for veterans, including: therapy sessions, workshops, and a two-week residential treatment program for veterans with PTSD in Park City. Learn more here.
The Utah Department of Veterans and Military Affairs (UDVMA) provides resources for veterans including education, employment, healthcare, and more. Learn more here.