There are four licenses available in the field of psychology in Utah. They are: Psychologist, Certified Psychology Resident, Behavior Analyst, and Assistant Behavior Analyst. Applicants must meet the examination requirements for their license type before they apply. The examination requirements for each license type are listed below.
Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) developed by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB). Applicants must verify their eligibility for the EPPP before they can sit for the exam. They must do this by certifying by notarized signature on their license application that they have completed the education requirements, have been awarded the required degree, and have successfully completed the supervised training required for this license. After submitting an application with this information, candidates will be contacted by DOPL regarding their eligibility for the EPPP. Candidates who are eligible will be given instructions for taking the exam. DOPL will be notified automatically when applicants have passed the EPPP.
Psychology applicants who received their education and/or practical training outside of Utah must also pass the Utah Psychologist Law and Ethics Exam administered by DOPL's exam vendor, PSI Exams. Candidates can find exam registration information and a printable exam registration form in the Candidate Information Bulletin. Candidates can also register online by creating a free account with PSI Exams. PSI will automatically send exam results to DOPL.
Certified Psychology Resident
Applicants for this license are not required to pass any exams before applying.
Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) Examination developed by the Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB).
Assistant Behavior Analyst
Board Certified Behavior Analyst Examination (BCaBA) developed by BACB.
Apply for a License
STEP 1: Please select the license type you are applying for:
Renew a License
- Licenses expire on September 30 of even years.
- At least 60 days prior to the expiration date of a license, DOPL will mail a renewal notice to the licensee's address of record as provided to DOPL by the individual licensee. (Failure to notify DOPL of an address change could prevent a licensee from timely receiving renewal notification and other important correspondence from DOPL.)
- Renewal Fees — Psychologist $128 | Analyst $93 | Specialist $78
NOTE: If you are applying for reinstatement or re-applying for a license you once had, you must use the manual application below.
Update Your License Record
Legal Name Change
If your legal name has changed, you must verify the change by submitting a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, driver's license, or social security card to the Division. If you desire a reprint of your license reflecting the name change, you must also submit a $10 reprint fee with the request.
- EMAIL: email@example.com
- FAX: 801-530-6511
- MAIL: PO Box 146741, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
Change of Address
You may update your address online in the eGov system.
Laws and Rules
- DOPL Licensing Act, 58-1 (05/08/2018)
- General Rule of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, R156-1. (04/09/2018)
- Psychologist Licensing Act, 58-61 (03/22/2018)
- Psychologist Licensing Act Rule, R156-61 (09/18/2018)
- Mental Health Professional Practice Act, 58-60 (05/08/2018)
- Mental Health Professional Practice Act Rules, R156-60 (09/21/2015)
- Retired Volunteer Health Care Practitioner Act, 58-81 (05/10/2016)
- Utah Health Care Malpractice Act, Title 78B, Chapter 3, Part 4 (05/08/2018)
- Retired Volunteer Health Care Practitioner Act Rule R156-81 (06/22/2009)
- R156-61a Behavior Analyst Licensing Act Rule (11/23/2015)
- Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact (05/09/2017)
Board Members event_seat=Chairperson
|David A. Dodgion, Ph.D. event_seat (Psychologist)||07/01/2015||06/30/2019|
|Thomas S. Higbee, Ph.D. (Licensed Behavior Analyst)||07/01/2015||06/30/2019|
|Steve Auerbach (Public Member)||02/12/2018||06/30/2020|
|Kelly J. Lundberg (Psychologist)||07/01/2016||06/30/2020|
|Melissa Goates Jones, Ph.D. (Psychologist)||09/07/2017||06/30/2021|
|A. Glade Ellingson, Ph.D. (Psychologist)||07/01/2018||06/30/2022|
Upcoming Public Meetings
Past Public Meetings
- For general licensing questions call:
- (801) 530-6628
(866) 275-3675 Toll-Free in Utah
- Bureau Manager
- Jennifer Zaelit — firstname.lastname@example.org
- Board Secretary
- Jennifer Johnson — email@example.com
Are you a veteran in crisis or concerned about one?
Contact the Veteran Crisis Line
Members of the armed forces and their families are often more affected than other groups by licensing restrictions because of frequent relocations to fulfill orders. To ease this burden, the Utah Legislature has authorized certain fee waivers and license exemptions for qualifying military personnel and military spouses.
License Fee Waivers
DOPL requires a processing fee for initial license applications. This fee varies by profession. The Utah Legislature has authorized initial license fee waivers for qualifying military service members. Full-time active duty service members should submit the fee waiver request form with their initial license application. Download the fee waiver request form here.
Qualifying licensees, who wish to maintain their license but who are not currently practicing in the profession, can apply for inactive status. In some cases, changing a license to inactive status will remove certain CE requirements. The Utah Legislature has authorized fee waivers for qualifying military service members who change their license to inactive status or who renew an inactive license. Please note that not all professions have inactive status as an option. To check if your profession has inactive license status, refer to Utah Administrative Rule R156-1-305. Full-time active duty service members can download the fee waiver request form for inactive status here.
Licensing for Military Spouses
Spouses of military service members stationed in Utah are permitted to work in licensed professions without obtaining a Utah license as long as they possess an active license from another state or territory of the United States. Since this benefit for military spouses is relatively new, you may need to explain to employers or the public who ask that your out-of-state license is valid because you are a spouse of an active duty service member. To help you, the Division has created a verification letter which you can show your employer or the public that explains this exemption. Download the verification letter here.
Are you struggling with PTSD, depression, suicidal thoughts, or addiction?
The College of Social and Behavioral Science at the University of Utah provides free treatment for veterans, including: therapy sessions, workshops, and a two-week residential treatment program for veterans with PTSD in Park City. Learn more here.
The Utah Department of Veterans and Military Affairs (UDVMA) provides resources for veterans including education, employment, healthcare, and more. Learn more here.